We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the Visit!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel a la Grande Cloche to your Saves list
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
clwyd
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Worth the Visit!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is on the very very edge of what might be called the tourist area of central Brussels.
Clean, decent and well run with a wide selection fbroom types...tofitball budgets. No a/c which might not suite ourvAmerican friends but a large fan stand in each room.

Staff are good and you can leave your bags ... Excellent cafes nearby so you do not need to take their breakfast at almost 8 euros a perso

Room Tip: A room at the top is best and facing the back. Small working lift or narrow stairs though
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    251
    68
    10
    6
See reviews for
82
176
61
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We booked this for its low price and great location. We had no issues with safety. In fact, they lock the door from the outside (I believe after midnight) and they have someone to let you in all night. The location was amazing! We were able to walk every night to Grote Markt for our waffle cravings! It's your basic room, however we don't spend much time at the hotel. It's not glamorous but it is clean. It was everything you need, and we got a huge bathroom! Especially for Europe, it was a great size. They even still use real keys which was unique. Would love to come back and stay again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The people at the front desk were very nice and helpful and were able to provide us with a converter when the one we had brought with us didn't work. The rooms & bed were comfortable and the bathroom was huge, which was a plus from the tiny bathroom we had in Paris. We were facing out towards the traffic circle and had a nice view and a great breeze when we opened the window, but at night if it was too loud, closing the window did the trick. Would definitely recommend it, as the price was great for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in August 2012. The staff were all very helpful and made us feel welcome. The room was clean and tidy. Only a 15 min. Walk to Brussels Midi Railway Station which connects to all Europe. The Grand Place is only a ten minute walk away where there are many outdoor bars etc. Highly recommended and well priced.

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is adequate, nothing fancy but quite acceptable. The hotel is a little tired. The rooms are old fashioned but clean and in good condition. The beds are comfortable. We stayed on the 4th floor in 2 interleading rooms, each with it's own bathroom. Very convenient if you are travelling with children. Our bathroom was enormous, almost bigger than the bedroom and very, very old fashioned!

Breakfast was a buffet of cheese, cold meat, bread, crackers, preserves, fruit and yoghurt.
Parking is quite a problem. There are a few bays in the square outside but they are in great demand. WIFI was non existant in our rooms but we could pick up some signal in the corridor on the 2nd floor. There is a computer with internet access in the lobby.

There is a landromat across the street and a choice of bars and restaurants a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a 10 minute straight walk from the train station. The location was great. It was not in the middle of everything but not a far walk at all to some attractions. The room was clean. Oddly the bathroom was bigger than the rest of the room for no apparent reason. The fountain outside was beautiful. Easy check in and out. Very nice people. There is a great beer bar nearby for serious beer drinkers who enjoy guezes or lambics "Moeder Lambic".

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed there overnight recently having booked through booking.com at a special room rate. When we arrived the chap on reception told us he had "upgraded" us to a triple room and a double room (we had booked 2 twin rooms) We were on the 5th floor which seemed to be a converted attic area and yes one room did have a double bed and the other a double bed and single bed, the downside was both rooms shared a connecting bathroom, I assume the hotel owners presumed as we were aq family unit we would be happy with this but our kids are both the their 20s and the reason we book 2 rooms is specifically to have 2 bath or shower rooms and toilet. When I complained at reception to a different guy he simply shrugged his shoulders and said well that's what we paid for, I did leave a review on booking.com but frankly I don't think they're bothered. What it meant was that 4 adults were all trying to shower in the morning and every time you went to the loo you had to make sure both bathroom doors were locked!! As the room was away up at the top of the hotel it was extremely stuffy with no air conditioning, there were a couple of fans but you couldn't sleep with them on. I certainly wouldn't recommend ythis hotel and certainly wouldn't stay there again

Room Tip: LOL try a room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#18 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#23 Family Hotel in Brussels
#34 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a la Grande Cloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.