We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adequate” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel a la Grande Cloche to your Saves list
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #54 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Cape Town, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Adequate”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The hotel is adequate, nothing fancy but quite acceptable. The hotel is a little tired. The rooms are old fashioned but clean and in good condition. The beds are comfortable. We stayed on the 4th floor in 2 interleading rooms, each with it's own bathroom. Very convenient if you are travelling with children. Our bathroom was enormous, almost bigger than the bedroom and very, very old fashioned!

Breakfast was a buffet of cheese, cold meat, bread, crackers, preserves, fruit and yoghurt.
Parking is quite a problem. There are a few bays in the square outside but they are in great demand. WIFI was non existant in our rooms but we could pick up some signal in the corridor on the 2nd floor. There is a computer with internet access in the lobby.

There is a landromat across the street and a choice of bars and restaurants a short walk away.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    251
    68
    10
    6
See reviews for
82
176
61
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was a 10 minute straight walk from the train station. The location was great. It was not in the middle of everything but not a far walk at all to some attractions. The room was clean. Oddly the bathroom was bigger than the rest of the room for no apparent reason. The fountain outside was beautiful. Easy check in and out. Very nice people. There is a great beer bar nearby for serious beer drinkers who enjoy guezes or lambics "Moeder Lambic".

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed there overnight recently having booked through booking.com at a special room rate. When we arrived the chap on reception told us he had "upgraded" us to a triple room and a double room (we had booked 2 twin rooms) We were on the 5th floor which seemed to be a converted attic area and yes one room did have a double bed and the other a double bed and single bed, the downside was both rooms shared a connecting bathroom, I assume the hotel owners presumed as we were aq family unit we would be happy with this but our kids are both the their 20s and the reason we book 2 rooms is specifically to have 2 bath or shower rooms and toilet. When I complained at reception to a different guy he simply shrugged his shoulders and said well that's what we paid for, I did leave a review on booking.com but frankly I don't think they're bothered. What it meant was that 4 adults were all trying to shower in the morning and every time you went to the loo you had to make sure both bathroom doors were locked!! As the room was away up at the top of the hotel it was extremely stuffy with no air conditioning, there were a couple of fans but you couldn't sleep with them on. I certainly wouldn't recommend ythis hotel and certainly wouldn't stay there again

Room Tip: LOL try a room in another hotel!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

The best part of the hotel room was its big bathroom. As well, the bed was comfy and cleaned well everyday. No complaints about the hotel whatsoever, and I'd probably stay there again if I were to return to Brussels. It's not very far from Bruxelles-Midi train station which is a huge bonus too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This hotel is between the Midi station and the area of the city near the Mannekin Pis, and one of the more reasonable hotels we found.

Our standard double room had a double bed and a single bed (both comfortable enough), a massive bathroom, TV, tea and coffee making facilities, and looked over the square.

A good choice if you want to be near the centre, easily get from Midi station, and don't want to spend loads.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast N ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

On a quiet square, though the first part of the walk from Midi station is worrying. Helpfull staff. good breakfast, small single rooms which were stuffy as it was hot. It was a 15 minute walk to Grand Place through a safe area, with a small diversion past Manniken pis. Internet is 1 Euro for 15 minutes. Very good value. Rooms were small but had everything needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Lots of places to walk to from this hotel, very close to Midi Train Station, and nice rooms with comfortable beds and clean bathrooms. Hard to ask for more, but there is more: the 8.00 Euro breakfast is DEFINITELY worth the price. You get all you want and can really load up there, which I did. The staff is very pleasant, and the wi-fi worked very well. Nothing but good things to say about Grande Cloche.

TIP: If you want to visit a NICE bar and restaurant with live music, check out the Midi bar, next to the train station. It's huge, modern, classy, and fun.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel a la Grande Cloche? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a la Grande Cloche

Address: Pl. Rouppe 10 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#17 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#23 Family Hotel in Brussels
#34 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel a la Grande Cloche 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel a la Grande Cloche reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Grande Cloche Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel a la Grande Cloche, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.