We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service for a large group” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comics Cafe

Comics Cafe
Place du Grand Sablon, 8, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02 513 13 23
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Save up to 30% when you reserve online *
Comics Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #888 of 2,576 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Hamburgers, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: The Comics Cafe is an incredible 200 seats Brasserie-type restaurant where one can enjoy tasty Belgium and American Cuisine up to midnight. In a warm Comic-like atmosphere, you will discover the "COMICS Burger", the "CARBONNADE FLAMMANDE", the delicious strawberry Cheese cake and a lot more. Nice "Terrasse" on Grand Sablon, historic center of Brussel. Famous "TINTIN" statue at the entrance.
Stafford, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great service for a large group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Most of our group ordered hamburgers and food came out of the kitchen in a timely manner. I think this is more for the younger crowd or locals. If you have just a short visit to Brussels there are many more authentic places to enjoy

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    131
    88
    42
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Relies an awful lot on the comic theme...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

There are so many restaurants around Brussels' centre that they need something to set them apart from each other: this one has chosen 'comics' as a bit of a theme. There are a few scenes from Tintin and others up on the wall - a big mural of the spaceship from 'Tintin on the Moon' is interesting to see - but really a restaurant lives or dies by the food it serves and the quality of the service. This one does burgers and pasta and the service is rough.
The waitress was obviously trying to develop her mind-reading stage act by using the customers' orders as some sort of memory exercise - at which she is still learning the basics. Or else management just won't stretch to giving her a notepad and pencil. The wrong food arrived - intended for the next table along - the wrong wine arrived - the table across got this - and then the wrong bill arrived - yes, it was ours but with additional items!
And after all that I've given this place 'average' because, well, the food wasn't bad, the service made us laugh and we did have a good time. Just make sure you check your bill.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Yum- Comics Cafe!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

A great place if you like the casual dining experience. Lots of different types of burgers to feast your eyes on and the fries are to die for. Its a great place to eat and relax and to enjoy a little of what you fancy to eat. I got my burger with lots of extra cheese and had some wonderful dips, though I wish I could remember the names of the dips, but they were truely brill! I would eat the fries and burgers again in a heartbeat. Oh , take me back to Brussels!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Worst service ever”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I have been recently there with a couple of friends in brussels for a week end. I chose the place as it is nicely decorated and in one of the best place in brussels. We kindly told them we were in a hurry but after 1 hour we did not get anything. We have asked more than once info on our order and none replied. Drinks have been served after 45 minutes. Of course we left withouth waiting for the food to catch the plane. I saw many better pure belgian places able to manage so many orders. They simply do not know hoow to do that and they basically do not care as they will keep working well even with this poor service thanks to the big amount of tourists

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerCC, Propriétaire at Comics Cafe, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
We are really sorry. This week end, the computers suddenly went out. We had more than one hundred people in the restaurant and all the orders were erased...
I hope to see you another time, and we'll do our best.
Francis Slomka
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a great restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

In Brussels, at Place de Sablons, I found amazing restaurant Comics Café. On the menu: burgers and.. comics! The burgers are unforgettable and the Brussels waffles are delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comics Cafe also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Comics Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comics Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.