We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food, Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comics Cafe

Comics Cafe
Place du Grand Sablon, 8, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02 513 13 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #407 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Hamburgers, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Comics Cafe is an incredible 200 seats Brasserie-type restaurant where one can enjoy tasty Belgium and American Cuisine up to midnight. In a warm Comic-like atmosphere, you will discover the "COMICS Burger", the "CARBONNADE FLAMMANDE", the delicious strawberry Cheese cake and a lot more. Nice "Terrasse" on Grand Sablon, historic center of Brussel. Famous "TINTIN" statue at the entrance.
North Bay
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My son and I recently ate at the Comic Café in Brussels and had a marvelous time. The staff where friendly and the hamburgers delicious. The plate consisted of a side salad, a small bowl of coleslaw , fries and of course the hamburger. Prices are average for Brussels.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    169
    88
    51
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

I expected more from this place after seeing it in a best of book! The service wasn't great and the food wasn't brilliant though the chips were incredible. Nice surroundings but slightly lacking atmosphere and no tap water given. Is that too much to ask?!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
“really good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

it's such a nice brasserie i decided to write it on trip advisor. good grilled salmon. perfect cheese burger for my husband.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rochester NY
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Average touristy restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My kids did really enjoy this place because of the comics aspects. But the food and service are not that great. Slow to take our orders and slow to bring the food. It's worth a visit to the fantastic comic book store downstairs but save your time money for another dining establishment....there are so many to choose from in Bruxelles..

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadstairs, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere and food, if a little pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We came here specifically because it's the Comics Cafe and for the shop next-door. The staff were very friendly and we were served quickly.

The food was delicious however I found the pasta portion size to be a little on the small side considering the cost, maybe it could have come with a little salad as an extra touch? But, overall it was lovely and we would return again.

Also if you go, make sure to check out the shop next-door as that is the real attraction!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comics Cafe also viewed

Ixelles, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Comics Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comics Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.