We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, overpriced.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comics Cafe

Comics Cafe
Place du Grand Sablon, 8, Brussels 1000, Belgium
02 513 13 23
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #407 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $18 - $38
Cuisines: American, Belgian, Hamburgers, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Comics Cafe is an incredible 200 seats Brasserie-type restaurant where one can enjoy tasty Belgium and American Cuisine up to midnight. In a warm Comic-like atmosphere, you will discover the "COMICS Burger", the "CARBONNADE FLAMMANDE", the delicious strawberry Cheese cake and a lot more. Nice "Terrasse" on Grand Sablon, historic center of Brussel. Famous "TINTIN" statue at the entrance.
2 reviews
“Good food, overpriced.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Good food, great venue. Overpriced €16 for a veggie burger. Terrible service, very slow staff talking and not at all attentive, but friendly when they finally come over.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    169
    88
    51
    27
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

We fancied a burger when we visited Brussels - but not of the fast food variety so checked trip advisor, Comics Cafe had good reviews, sowe decided to go for it. If you like Tin Tin then you'll like the decor, service was alright, the staff seemed to be all over the place at times and repeating the work load, as in 1 member of staff noticed we had ran out of drinks so went to get more, whilst they were away, another member of staff came over asking if we wanted drinks, if each member of staff had their own section, then this could be avoided. If you get seat by the windows then it's a nice view outside, but the burger was not worth £16.00 and as it was quiet there was only one section open, which I found a bit cramped - I'm positive there will be cheaper/better options in Brussels. If I was in Brussels for the night again I'd head to the Hard Rock Cafe - which I'd probably give the same rating too but have more money in my pocket when I left.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing burgers - Awful Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The burgers were incredible - try the Obama Burger.
However service wasn't great at all.
We knew this before going so wasn't really shocked and probably would return as the food was really tasty!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average Burger, overpriced but great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

The restaurant itself was nice, especially at the windows with view over the streets. The burger however was only average...It was good no doubt...but nothing special. For 16.50€ for a double bacon cheeseburger I would expect more...something unusual like a great sauce or whatever...not just a regular burger that I could also make at home. Cheers

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great food and interesting atmosphere!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Went there for lunch with some friends and the food was very good. The service was terrible, I asked to change the onions and the answer was practically shouted to me "not possible".

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comics Cafe also viewed

Ixelles, Brussels
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Comics Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comics Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.