We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falling stars and daylight robbery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Stanhope Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Stanhope Hotel to your Saves list
Stanhope Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, Rue du Commerce, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Falling stars and daylight robbery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Sadly, we have discovered that this hotel does not deserve its five-star rating. The staff are pleasant, but there are not enough of them, and throughout there are signs of management cost-cutting with bad effects. Not only did I have a Murphy bed (one that pulls down from the wall, with a thin mattress) rather than a real bed, but money was stolen from a sealed envelope under papers and personal items in a drawer in my bedroom (ie someone went looking to steal) and the manager "investigated" this to then respond that he did not find anything suspicious, therefore suggesting that I must be hallucinating. I then discovered the hotel has had several incidents of theft from locked rooms PLUS there were even police in the lobby on the day we left investigating yet another burglary incident.

There is no doorman to help you with your bags as he is also the errand boy, tea boy, and room service delivery man, so rarely at the right place at the right time. The breakfast - which costs 29 Euros - is a self-service affair of still-frozen loaves of bread, coffee that you have to make yourself (when the coffee machine has water and milk, that is), pastries and cooked food that are of the same standard as a gas station in the middle of a motorway in the middle of the night, and let's not mention the room service menu of congealed "club sandwiches" made with leftover ham from breakfast and goodness knows what else. Plus, the cleaners do not clean more than emptying a bin or providing a fresh towel - probably because they are not given enough time by the management - and there are all sorts of ruses to oblige you to ask for help and continually tip staff - only one pillow is given, so you have to tip to be brought another, no kettle or cups are provided so you have to tip to have one brought to you, and when it is, your cups are not washed.

All signs of a team being squeezed from the top, and to not have thefts taken seriously is the worst insult of all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Mrs H.

I truly apologize for all the inconvenience that you had during your stay with us.
I understand your position about the inconvenience that you went through
Our Main priority are our customers, go above and beyond to reach our goals as team and also reach our customers expectations,
this kind of situation really matters to us because our main support are our customers, they are the reason of this business . I do understand that everything goes black while having this experience.

Whoever some situations totally goes out of our hands, our empathy is with you and we will find a way to stop this kind of issues in our hotel.

I thank you again for having seen and personnally written about all efforts made to help the police to resolve your case.

Please accept our apologies and I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    341
    272
    86
    38
    28
See reviews for
76
351
50
172
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We got a deal from a website which included breakfest, free wifi, late check out and 2 drinks from the bar.
Overall the furnishing of the hotel was lovely, although the room wasn't really as amazing as on the pictures, the service was splendid.
Although tea and coffee making facilities were not in the room, but if you ask, they will provide a not just all you need for coffee or tea but also some Belgium waffle to indulge with your tea/coffee. And all this is for free!
A large variety of choices was available in the buffet breakfast. Lobby was nicely decorated and very comfortable if you just wanted a peaceful moment or small chat with friends with some drinks.
Location is super good as it's 3 mins from metro station and the metro is just 5 stops without transfer from Gare du Midi. Area is pretty good as it's right next to the palace with a supermarket close by the hotel (even opened on easter sunday).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience and for the nice comments on our property.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the offered services, the location, comfort and peaceful of the hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brussels
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

We chose the Stanhope to host a surprise birthday buffet lunch for 120 guests, some of whom stayed at the hotel. Although somewhat apprehensive before booking about service and overcharging, our experience was nothing short of perfect. Quotes were simple and clear, prices reasonable and no hidden costs. Staff were attentive, helpful and accommodating throughout.

The hotel is beautifully quaint and with a small garden in the middle of the premises. Its central location ideal for a weekend event as parking is easy and free in most of the near by streets. The Balmoral itself could do with a once over but the space is tastefully decorated and neutral enough to add your own touches. Inge is a terrific planner who made organising a breeze. With nothing to worry about we were able to relax and focus on the day at hand. Feedback about accommodation was unanimously positive and more than two months on we are still receiving mails about how incredible and unforgettable a day it was. Big thanks to the whole team, especially Alain, for making sure it all went smoothly. It would not have been quite so memorable without them.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank very much for your trust and for having taken the time to give such a nice comment about your experience in our property.

We are delighted to learn that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel and our services were up to your expectations.

As we are currently working to keep up the high standard of services, it is always our pleasure to share reviews like yours with our staff members.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyneham, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We booked this hotel for a three night break through BA. Could not fault the hotel building and room - beautifully appointed and very clean. Efficient check-in and shown to our room and all well. As expected, this is not a cheap hotel and we did not take the breakfast (even with a discount it would have been over 20 euros each!) or use the bar. Disappointing that we even had to pay almost 6 euros a day for wifi...

But, the hotel is well located between the old city and the European Quarter and it was an easy walk to all attractions. If it had been raining, there are many and frequent buses.

Would recommend as a good base and there are several good bars and restaurants close by at reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your experience in our property and for the nice comments on the location, the check-in service and your room.

We have taken carefully note of your comment regarding the Breakfast price and although it might seem expensive, we can assure you that it is completely in line with the prices of the Hotels of the same category in Brussels. We have indeed special breakfast conditions during the weekend to allow our guests to enjoy the breakfast buffet composed out of local and high quality products.

We regret to hear your disappointment about the Wifi conditions and we would like to inform you that WIFI in the rooms is included when making a reservation directly at the Thon Hotels reservations desk. Free WIFI is also available for all at the Guest’s computer desk in the lobby.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I was guest in Brussels, one night in prepaid room (March 22th, room 321), but hotel charged my credit card 168 euros (room + deposit + tax) and I still have not that money back on my account, even I urge them to do that three days after that.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your stay in Brussels.

We regret to hear that a problem occurred with the release of the pre authorisation amount and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this.

As from the moment we received the Tripadvisor review, we forwarded it to the Front Office Manager for verification. Meanwhile, the necessary actions have been taken to help you out with this unusual issue and the problem has been resolved.

Please feel free to contact the Management department so we can reserve you a warm welcome on your next stay.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at the Stanhope Hotel, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We took a chance with this hotel and whilst its further walk away from the centre attractions, but its weekend rate was better than the other hotels. Its only 10 minutes extra walk and a nice walk through cobbled streets once you cross the main road.

The hotel is clean, tidy and better quality to some of the closer hotels for the price. I would stay here again, my only note is you have to pay extra for the WIFI and breakfast and that does then take the weekend rate up thats not quite worth the walk. However the choice of cafes in Brussels is huge, so its nice to have the option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen our Hotel for your stay in the Belgian Capital and for your feedback we received trough the Tripadvisor website.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel and that our services met your expectations.

We have taken carefully note of your remarks concerning the breakfast & WIFI and we would like to inform you that we propose special attractive breakfast conditions to our weekend guests when reserving at the moment of check-in at the Hotel.
The WIFI is also available free of charge at the Guest’s computer desk in the lobby and in the rooms when making a reservation directly trough the Thon Hotels reservations department.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next trip to Brussels, we remain,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Since the check-in until check-out, I hardly find a positive point for my last stay... The hotel used to be excellent. The staff was not too bad, just unprofessional, I didn't received any warm greeting at the check-in, and it was quick like I was bothering the reception. Receptionist is required to be friendly, smiling and provide great service to the guest.

I got a duplex room, size was good but the bathroom is downstairs, without safety box, cleanliness look great but please don't touch the dusty staircases. When I asked for the Internet, it's not free any more(Only one hour non-stop for free), I dislike this kind of changing to scam hotel guest. I kept going back to the same hotel because I had a good experience. I'm not going to pay the internet to find out where to go for partying, eating out or visiting.

The next morning at the breakfast, they served us some scramble eggs just the same as porridge, too much liquid and some eggshells in it. It was disgusting just to look at it. Other than that, the bacon was good and French pastries were not too bad.

Before check-out, I spoke to the reception to have a late check-out before I couldn't rest with some other guests who keep slamming the door during the night, so the receptionist was nice to allow me a late check-out. At 12.15 pm, someone called to disturb my rest to ask me when am I going to quit the room !! I expected 5-stars service like the hotel, if not I could stay at 3-stars with better service.

Highly not recommend this hotel !! Except if you want to pay for 5-stars and enjoy like 2/3 stars quality. Good Luck !

Room Tip: Pick a Duplex room with bathroom upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The_Management_Team, General Manager at Stanhope Hotel, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your fidelity towards the Stanhope Hotel and for having taken the time to inform us of your recent experience in our property.

We sincerely regret that the hotel facilities did not completely meet your expectations and we hope you will accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by this.

We can assure you that your comments have been forwarded to the Managers of the concerning departments and the necessary actions have been taken to avoid reoccurrence in the future.

Although your disappointment, we do hope you will give us the chance to show you that comments of our guests are taken seriously.

Please feel free to contact the Management department for any information required and so we can reserve you a warm welcome on your next stay.

Looking forward to welcome you back at the Stanhope Hotel,

Yours sincerely,

The Stanhope Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stanhope Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanhope Hotel

Address: 9, Rue du Commerce, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stanhope Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a luxurious escape from your daily life, Stanhope Hotel is situated in the European Quarter, near the historical centre of Brussels and close to the famous Sablon Antique Square.This fabulous boutique hotel is a peaceful heaven in a prestigious turn-of-the-century Brussels residence. In 1991, Stanhope Hotel, located in the centre of Brussels, was inaugurated first 5-Star hotel in Belgium. From the delightful bright lounge, with its Library Bar, over the Brighton restaurant to the picturesque interior garden with ivy-clad walls, everything is breathing elegance and charm. After 12 years, an extensive renovation and enlargment of the property has been established, counting today 125 Standard or Classic and Superior rooms, Suites and Apartments, as well as extensive conference facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stanhope Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stanhope Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.