We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location......but needs renovation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Grand Place to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Moss, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great central location......but needs renovation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

A very centrally located hotel just a very short way to the Grand Place. Being in the the middle of this hectic city there was a lot of traffic noise throughout the night. Also noisy from adjacent rooms.(This is of course part of the deal staying in the centre of town.) We booked a superior room but found it to be rather small and in dire need of renovation.Cannot understand that it has a 4 star rating as the reception area and hotel in general is also in need of a refreshing.Breakfast was good with a variety of different food choices.The reception staff were helpfull at all times.Will not return to this hotell next time I am in Brussels as it does not deserve more than a 2 star rating.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    205
    138
    57
    26
See reviews for
44
184
70
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Stayed at the Scandic Dec 30-Jan 2 booked via Eurostar.

Hotel is in a very good location, just 5 minutes walk to the Grand Place and shopping/ restaurants and 2 metro stops close by. It was very handy the hotel being a 10 minute walk away from where the fireworks were being done at Mont des Arts.

Our room (320) faced the rear and slept like a log every night. The room was small, but it was clean and good enough for a short stay. Loved the shower. Although there was free wifi, it was very slow in our room, but much better downstairs, and you need to obtain a new username/password every 24 hours. Breakfast was very adequate to start the day, hot and cold options.

Overall, a very pleasant stay at Scandic Grand Place and will definitely consider staying here again if I return to brussels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My Wife and I Stayed in the Scandic Grand Place Brussels from 12-12-2013 to 15-12-2013 total 3 nights on a B/B basis. after reading so many Different accounts about this hotel I was going to chance my Booking ,it is not our first nor second time in Brussels , I decided to give this hotel a chance and find out for myself if all what I read the hotel was true or if some people hade a gripe about something other than the hotel itself,
Flew into Brussels Airport Train to Central , Walked up to the Scandic approx. 7 Mins found hotel very handy could hardly miss all the Flags flying Outside ,Entrance into hotel Clean into reception time 11:00 AM We were offered a room on the 5 floor ( Superior room Booked ) I asked was their was a other room Available , Yes room 202 Street facing ,we took it,put the bags into the room, The Room was Clean no smell all seemed ok , went to have a look around the hotel to see for myself what all the bad reviews was about, hotel was Spotless -Corridor Carpets have seen better days and could do with a Upgrade -But were Clean- Room 202 Bed OK Bathroom Spotless no carpets in rooms ,timber floors , street noise was not too bad until 4:30 am when the Bin Collectors started work then the noise started woke me up, then I heard an almighty bang and Crash and what was that, Well what nobody has written about this hotel was the METRO runs under the Footpath out side the hotel and do the metro trains make noise they they do , Next morning changed rooms to a inside room and slept like a log for my remaining days in this hotel . ,Hotel Reception---Very Good, Breakfast ---Very Good, Rooms-facing to road Noisy Rooms -Facing inward very Clean and bed Good nights sleep ( Quite ) overall a very good hotel in the centre of all the Tourist Area ,We went there for the Christmas Markets,,John

Room Tip: Keep away from rooms facing the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

My moderate (normal Scandinavian Scandic hotels) to excellent (Grand Central Stockholm, Sanadome Nijmegen, Scandic Linköping and Nyköping) experiences disappear like snow in the sun when stepping into Scandic Brussels. The smell of sewage/toilet in the entrance hall is welcoming the visitors. The hotel is old and needs a revamp. The rooms are small and without any view, half of the rooms face the interior court, meaning that you get in no fresh air at all in the rooms.
We got a superior room, and booked them as Scandic bonus nights. I do not want to know how a standard room looks like, but the superior rooms look very standard and are small, very small !
The room rate for a room like ours is announced at 370 Euro/night + 5 Euro/person for breakfast, which also is just a standard buffet without anything special. For that price, I can assure there are better deals to make in this fantastisc city ...
The only advantage of this hotel is the location, close to the royal gallery and your entrance towards Grand Place. All the rest is not worth writing too much about.

Room Tip: Ask at least for a room with outside view, so you can open the window (slightly) to get in some fres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

As the name suggests, this hotel has Scandinavian décor. It is simple, clean and certainly unfussy. The whole ground floor incorporates the Reception area, a small shop and the main eating/seating area. It is perfectly satisfactory for business or short stay breaks.
Our party reserved 3 standard rooms, which although small, were well appointed and acceptable. Upgrades are available for 15 Euro a day.
Breakfast is very good with a choice of hot or cold food, which includes the finest scrambled eggs I have ever tasted, bacon, mushrooms and baked beans. Cold options included smoked mackerel, selection of cold meats and cheeses; Danish/French pastries and bread, cereals and a plentiful selection of preserves and fresh fruit. Hot drinks are dispensed via a machine.
Staff are very pleasant both in the restaurant and Reception. Scenic lifts take you to your rooms which are located over 5 floors. The 6th floor has saunas and a gym.
Our party found the hotel to be very hot, even though there is air on in all rooms. Our window opened slightly however it opened onto the interior of the hotel. We requested an electric fan from Reception which was duly provided.
The hotel's location is excellent. The train station was a mere 5 minute walk, which is great for day breaks. We visited Bruges and Ypres while there, which were both most worthwhile trips. The Grand Place is also very close. This is the old Brussels and with our visit being in December, we were fortunate enough to see the wonderful music and light show there. Check it out on You Tube. It's even more spectacular when you are there, with the winter's air nipping at your toes, surrounded with the most beautiful and amazing old architecture, and restaurants.
I read a review in which the writer stated that this was not a 4* hotel, however star ratings are also based on facilities, not just how fancy the hotel is. We all found the Scandic Grand Place to be absolutely fine and we would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: If, like us, you don't like the ambient temperature to be too warm, check that your room does no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The Scandic is not a flash hotel but the location and staff make a visit to Brussels a relaxing and enjoyable experience. The hotel is close to the 'Grand Place' and many other attractions in the old city. Transport is easily accessible but my overall lasting impression is the staff and their willingness to make your visit comfortable.

Room Tip: The rooms are reasonably large but a room facing the street will be noisy even though the windows ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damelevieres
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

the hotel is in the center ; we just have to walk to visit. The room was a bit small with a window opened to a central court (not vey luminous ; we had to switch the lights on)
The lunch was very good. The sauna and the fitness room were very pleasant.
People were available.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.