We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel in Excellent Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Grand Place to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Saint Marys, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good Hotel in Excellent Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Small but nice room with modern amenities. Free wi-fi and small refrigerator. Great breakfast with numerous options and beverages. We especially wish to thank Yaroslav Soroko, one of the breakfast attendants, for his exceptional service and friendly attitude. He made sure all of our needs were met. The hotel's location is within a short walking distance to the Grand Place, to Brussels Central Station, and to most attractions. The city is extremely safe to walk in, even after midnight. Our 9-day visit was even more pleasurable than we could have imagined.

Room Tip: Make sure to specify whether you want a double bed or two twin beds when making your reservation. Yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    205
    138
    57
    26
See reviews for
44
184
70
130
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The hotel was good, not great. The breakfast was excellent. I stayed in a Scandic in Finland which had a great breakfast. The rooms were a little old with the bed a little soft. The carpets in the hallways were dirty. The was a computer for use.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Nice hotel in the heart of Brussels. Walking distance from all attractions. Decent breakfast. Vey fast WiFi. Not a 4 star hotel, in my opinion, but a good 3 star. The carpets need to be changed and the whole image will be improved. Definetely value of money hiotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Europe
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have chosen this hotel for its location. The hotel is situated by the Central Station and that was what we needed.We wanted to travel to other Belgian cities by train.Breakfast was good. The room was also ok and clean. The staff was helpful and gave us some useful suggestions.
The weather was very hot and we were glad to have an air condition in our room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I was looking for a Hotel in Brussels with a good central Location and good reviews.
I've found this hotel in Booking.com and since it was August it was with a very good price including breakfast.
The Hotel is old and Outdated and the beds are not comfortable.
The Wi-fi works well (better in the Lobby) and the breakfast is decent.
Overall is a well located hotel, but more a 3 stars than a 4 stars. I believe there are better options around the same price in Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The Scandic Grand Place in Brussels is easy to miss. It is off the Grand Place on Arenbergstraat with a simple facade disguising a hotel that is comfortable, clean, friendly with a fantastic buffet breakfast. It is a very reasonably priced hotel, close to the Central Station and dozens of good restaurants and bars.

I had walked past it a dozen times over the past 20 years and never gave it a second look. However, I will be staying there again - great value for a comfortable, pleasant stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff were accommodating of our needs. The hotel (exc lobby) was a little tired etc compared to other Scandics, but there was no carpets in the room so that was great. The little fridge was great. We had trouble finding it on foot, at night, but once we did we realised it was in a great location! The breakfast here was really nice and had lots of fresh ingredients and great coffee. Checkout was slow.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#56 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.