We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for a relaxing business stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Scandic Hotel Grand Place to your Saves list
Scandic Hotel Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #116 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place for a relaxing business stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent value for money!

Stayed for the entire week (plus bit of the weekend due of trouble getting xmas season flights) and it turned out to be a great choice for staying.

Internet wifi works great, reliably and fast (normal 1.4Mbps; worst I got was 25% of that in peak usage around dinner time, but it only happened 1 day). You do need to get a new login token (per device) from the reception every day, but they just hand them over promptly when you pass by coming from the office.

Rooms and facilities are very good and comfortable. Nothing luxurious, but very welcoming.

Dinner at the restaurant was fairly good, with enough choices to pick from for a few nights, but if you're staying longer you'd do better going outside where there is plenty of choice, given it's central location in Brussels.

The 5min walk from the central train station makes it perfect for the business traveller flying in and quickly dropping the luggage before moving on to work (and also great when you have a very early flight to catch).

After jumping around other hotels in Brussels, this one will now become my regular place to stay for the series of regular weekly travels I make to Brussels. Definitely a place to return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Hugo,

How lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
Feel free to ask for more than one wi-fi code when you check-in - that way you avoid having to come by the desk daily.
We have also re-vamped our restaurant menu, so you'll find some new options upon your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back many more times whenever you stay in Brussels!

Kind regards,

Eva De Waele
Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    228
    156
    63
    29
See reviews for
49
203
71
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed for one night in December. Good value hotel near the heart of Brussels.

The rooms are built around a central atrium and have an internal window which rather than facing outside, faces inwards overlooking the lobby and restaurant/bar below. Even though we were on the 4th floor it was very noisy when trying to sleep at night as noise from the ground floor traveled and echoed upwards through the open-plan layout.

Better than average breakfast with some cooked food.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed here for one night after a meeting which was also held at the hotel. My room was small, and had two pushed together single beds in it. The size of the room wasn't a problem for me - I was only there for one night and although there wasn't room to leave my medium sized suitcase on the floor, there was room for it in the bathroom and that was fine. My main problem was that the room had no external windows - the hotel has a central atrium and my room overlooked it. This made the room even more oppressive, dark and gloomy than it normally have been on a gloomy and overcast November day in Brussels. Despite the hotels 'green' claims, the room was extremely hot and although I switched the heating off, because the windows opened onto an internal atrium it was impossible to get any fresh air into it. Although I stayed in late November, the weather was mild and the heating doesnt seem to have been adjusted to take this into account.

I was also l bit surprised by the decor, I was expecting simple blond wood Scandinavian style furniture but it was actually had strangely ornate plasticky looking imitation wood furniture - very strange.

I did appreciate both the free internet connection and the free bottled water in the minibar. The slight drawback with the internet was that you needed a separate logon for each device which was a bit irritating, but having spent €20 per 24 hours on an internet connection in another Brussels hotel a few days before, I appreciated it despite the drawbacks.

The bed was really comfortable, although I would have preferred a double bed to the pushed together singles.

The corridor my room was on seemed to be very noisy, and the sound of doors slamming reverberated quite a lot both late at night and first thing in the morning. The bathroom was clean and comfortably sized and the room also had a good sized wardrobe.

Overall this is a very well priced hotel for this part of Brussels, but I would only stay here again if I could guarantee to get an exterior room as the lack of fresh air and natural light made my room really oppressive.

Room Tip: Get a room with external windows - not over the atrium
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
espoo
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I typical Scandic hotel at a very handy location right by Brussels Gallery shopping centre. Hotel is nothind special, but clean and quiet, which is all we need, as we tend to spend most our time exploring the city. Only minus goes to waiting staff at the breakfast who were annoyingly quick in picking up the dishes for the tables.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed here for three nights during Oct/Nov 2012. While it appears as a nice hotel from the outside and the lobby is pleasant enough, the rooms etc leave a lot to be desired. Our 'deluxe' room was very tiny and crammed although the king sized bed was very comfortable. When we returned for our day out, our bed clothes was thrown on the bed side tables in a heap, not even folded neatly. We had to remake the bed as the bottom sheet was not tucked in properly. Also the bottom sheet was full of tiny holes!
Breakfast, which was included in the cost of our 'deluxe' room was somewhat disappointing. There was a limited selection of meats and cheeses and the coffee was the worst I have ever had while travelling.
All in all not good value for money

Room Tip: ask to check the room before you accept it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasov, Romania
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in the superior extra room, which promised extra good toiletries and access to hundreds of movies. Well the toiletries were the same as in the other rooms, they have a "FACE Stockholm" box but seem to fill them with the normal stuff. We also ran out of body lotion, the reception gave us two big containers of soap to refill the bodylotion box with(!). Also the movie selection was in reality three extra channels running the same childrensmovie all the time. There is a sauna and gym which are free and very good. The breakfast was rather bad, first the coffee was undrinkable, some nescafemixture, we complained and they offered real coffee for 2.5€ a cup instead, what a deal(!), in all other Scandic hotels they serve brewed coffee for breakfast. The scrambled eggs were not good and also the meats were rather cheap. The breadselection was very good aswell the cakes. The hotel has free internet which was of good speed.
Considering the price per night this hotel was not worth it, also the furniture in the room felt like bought from IKEAs second hand corner.
Also the walls are very thin, whenever your neighbour closes their door you think that the walls will fall down on you, also the view was rather disappointing, if you buy the most expensive category we were expecting some view outside instead of seeing into another guests room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

I am happy to read you appreciated our gym, sauna, free internet and the bread and cakes at breakfast, but very sorry to read you were so dissatisfied with the rest of your stay.

One of the perks of our Superior Extra Rooms is free access to our movie channels, with a couple of movies. We do NOT advertise 'hundreds of movies'.
Concerning the FACE STockholm products: we do NOT refill them with 'the normal stuff'. We do indeed use the original FACE Stockholm products. These however are not stocked at reception. Reception only stocks a couple of standard products in case of emergency, which is probabaly what you received.

Concerning the coffee and eggs during breakfast:
I believe you were offered some brewed coffee from the bar instead of our normal organic coffee. In general we have very few remarks on the quality of our coffee.
We are currently looking for another option for our scrambled eggs and hope to offer some 'eggs on request' in 2013.

For future stays, please feel free to contact our front office if you are in any way dissatisfied with your room. Normally - during the weekend - we always have some rooms available, so we could have offered you a room with street view, though these are a bit more noisy due to our central position and the traffic.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to a Scandic Hotel,

Kind regards,


Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Stayed here for some night for a business trip. The ONLY thing this hotel has going for it is the location(why I gave two instead of one).

We got a really small room and it took us about 5 minutes to turn on the lights. They just didn't respond and there was no place to put the key or anything. To be able to move around and get to our bed we put one suitcase on top of the desk and the other underneath, and the chair inside the closet. There was also a terrible smell from the sink, and it was really hot and humid in the room. The A/C barely worked, and every day when they cleaned our room they shut it off. The smell, the temperature and the noise(really thin walls) made it impossible to get a good night sleep.

The breakfast was nothing special, and the atmosphere in the breakfast area was unwelcoming. The hotel is in desperate need of a make-over. It seems old and dirty, especially in the hallways.

The staff was acceptable, neither friendly nor unfriendly.

Room Tip: Ask to see a room - some in our group got a bigger one, however it was a lot hotter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EvaDeWaele, Front Office Manager at Scandic Hotel Grand Place, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Scandic Grand Place for your visit to Brussels and for taking the time to give feedback about your stay in our hotel.

Our housekeeping team is instructed to turn of the A/C as we are an eco-friendly hotel chain and this fits in to our energy-saving policy.

Please contact me and let me know which room you stayed in, so I can take a look at all technical issues you mentioned (smell from the sink, A/C, lights).

Also, may I ask you whether you contacted our front desk about the unsatisfactory room?
I am quite amazed that you were not offered another room and would like to research this further.

Looking forward to welcoming you back in a Scandic Hotel,

Kind regards,


Eva De Waele

Front Office Supervisor

Scandic Grand Place
TVA BE 0462.318.529

Visit Rue d'Arenberg 18, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
Call +32 2 548 18 05
Fax +32 2 548 18 20
E-mail eva.dewaele@scandichotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Scandic Hotel Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scandic Hotel Grand Place

Address: Rue d'Arenberg 18 | Arenbergstraat, Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Scandic Hotel Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Scandic Hotel Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scandic Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scandic Hotel Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.