We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chatelain Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Le Chatelain Hotel to your Saves list
Le Chatelain Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Top Contributor
305 reviews 305 reviews
116 hotel reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and one of the reason has been its great location in the magnificent Chatelain and Ixelles area of Brussels. The Hotel parks car, it is a quite expensive service and you might be lucky to find a parking in the neighborhood depending on the time of day or day. The room has a great bed and the rooms are very quiet. Close to good bars, restaurant and trams to city center - so location is perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Chokk,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel and the marvelous surroundings of the establishment.

Concerning our Valet Parking Service, we would like to remind you that our indoor parking is a way to find easily a secured parking spot without worrying.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    32
    12
    5
See reviews for
19
69
18
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford,
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

The hotel is perfectly OK. I cannot comment about the food as I didn't eat here. The breakfast is far too expensive. I found the room rather cold - but then it took a while to figure out how the heating worked. They seem to think they are a 5-star hotel - but in my view this is not a 5-star hotel. The staff should try to be a bit more friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Professor Calculus,

First of all, I would like to thank you for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your visit in our hotel.

Regarding our quality breakfast buffet, it contains a wide variety of bread, pastries, cereals, fresh fruits, and cheese and charcuterie platter. In addition our Chef is always present for our guests for any cooked dishes. In order to get a good start in the morning our clients have the possibility to enjoy fresh homemade fruit and vegetable juices, coffee, tea or even sparkling wine.

Concerning the issue with the heating, our 24/7 reception team would have been glad to assist you.

Our staff offers a lot of personalized services to each of our guests if needed, such as shuttle service, room service, indoor parking, concierge service …

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels.

Best Regards

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was a birthday treat for my 40th birthday and being a 5 star I was looking forward to it. I have to say the small lobby looks good and the room, though not big was in good condition and nicely decorated. Point 1) the TV channels stopped working at midnight, but came back on in the morning? 2) The breakfast was quoted on our booking as 25 euros per person, but when we questioned why we were charged 29 per person, the hotel said it had nothing to do with them but the site we booked through! Surely they have the contract with the sites that offer their hotel? While the lady was processing our payment another member of staff took our booking to make a copy for their reference and when he came back he told her in French they should only charge us the 25 euros. Assuming we spoke no French (as we were speaking English together but I speak French too), she ignored him as they payment went through. When I questioned this, one of them said we'd get a free upgrade instead next time but gave us no written confirmation of this - so should I call next time and say I am the one you promised the upgrade to 6 months ago? It's not about the extra 8 euros, it's the principle and the 2 staff talking away in French assuming we were idiots who did not understand. Anyway, water under the bridge - the breakfast (with grey beans and curdled eggs), though very varied was not worth 25 or 28 euros per person and as for the upgrade, no matter we won't be staying there again but will go back to old favourites like the Conrad (now Steigenberger).

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear AmsterdamShamrock,

First of all, I would like to thank for your time and the comment you posted concerning your stay in the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are glad to read that you selected our hotel for your Birthday and that you enjoyed the room.
Concerning the issue you encountered at the reception, we would like to apologize and we are always taking into consideration your comment in order to satisfy our guest the best we can.

Our quality breakfast buffet contains a wide variety of bread, pastries, cereals and fresh fruit. In addition our Chef is always there for our guests for the cooked dishes. For your birthday, you could have had the pleasure to have breakfast in the room, thanks to our room service department.

We are looking forward to welcome you again during your next trip in Brussels and we will remember your free upgrade.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsteinvik, More og Romsdal, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here as attending a conference, clearly the hotel had escalated the prices for that specific week, 260 Euros per night for single person. Room was comfortable and clean, however cost increased by an extra 29 Euro for a standard hotel breakfast, nothing special. Recommend eating around the corner at the Irish Pub - Michael Collins, where you can get good food reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, Directeur général at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2014
Dear Craig U,

We would like to thank you for the time and your comments regarding your stay at the Châtelain Boutique Hotel

We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the comfort and cleanliness of your room.
Your encouraging comments about the kindness of our staff give us more motivation to maintain our efforts and improve our service in order to offer you the best stay possible.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back for your next trip in Brussels.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a long weekend in Oct. Great location (convenient transport), plenty of amenities nearby, good night's sleep.

The only downside was when we first arrived the receptionist was very snobby (I think her name was Margeaux, but I can't be sure), which made for a sour start to the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear skyblue32london,

We would like to thank you for sharing with us your comments about the Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are so pleased to read that you had a pleasant stay in our establishment, and that you enjoyed our location.

Your feedback is extremely important as it helps us to continually improve our services and provide our valued guest a memorable experience. Be assured that we have communicated your comments to the relevant departments so that it does not happen again.

We truly hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in Le Châtelain, for your next visit in Brussels.

Best Regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netanya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I just returned from a wonderful family visit to Brussels where I had six days of children and grandchildren. I chose Le Chatelain Hotel from a recommendation and was delighted with every aspect of it. The service was warm and friendly and I truly felt welcome there. Even though I knew that is their job they do it well. My room was more than fine with all the amenities that a hotel room should have. The bed was very comfortable with a choice of pillows. I will go back to Brussels again this year and will definitely return to the Le Chatelain Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2014
Dear Luggage Tag,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your first stay at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are happy to see that you have spent a pleasant stay with us for your business trip. It’s always a pleasure to read these words from our guests : “I’ll be back!”.

Your encouraging comments give us great motivation on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another Le Châtelain experience.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Was here on business trip, travelling solo. Place is really warm and welcoming. However I was left waiting a long time at the lobby before I could get my key - didn't really understand why. But room is impeccable. Lift is old and vintage, but works well. Breakfast is greaaaaat!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LeChatelainH, General Manager at Le Chatelain Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Dear Legalgenius,

We would like to thank you for your time and your comments regarding your first stay at Le Châtelain Boutique Hotel.

We are happy to see that you have spent a pleasant stay with us for your business trip. It’s always a pleasure to read these words from our guests : “Nice stay - great b’fast!”.

Your encouraging comments give us great motivation on maintaining our efforts to offer high quality service to our guests. We remain at your entire disposal for any kind of information that you may need and we hope your next visit will be more than excellent.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon for another Le Châtelain experience.

Best regards,

Victor Camhis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Chatelain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Chatelain Hotel

Address: Rue du Chatelain 17 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Chatelain Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Le Chatelain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chatelain Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.