We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location comfortable room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Grand Place

Save Saved
You added Exe Grand Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Exe Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Anspach 159-163 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #117 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Hampshire, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good location comfortable room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

Stayed here from 1st to 5th August 2013. It was very hot during the stay but fortunately the air con was effective and the room was cool enough. There's no bar to speak of but there's a good few in easy walking distance. Breakfast was OK, nothing special and probably a bit over priced at €13. The location of the hotel is it's best feature and is in very easy walking distance of the Grand Place and plenty of restaurants. The hotel is not easy to spot when you first arrive because the frontage is small and the sign is partially covered by a tree but if you have arrived on Eurostar it's on the same Metro line as the station (Brussels Midi) and only 2 stops away. Get off at Asseessens and then walk to the steps out in the same direction as the train is going and take the exit to the left. The Hotel entrance is no more than 100 yards further along the road

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    150
    107
    46
    25
See reviews for
35
129
26
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Location was great- Easy walk to Grand Place, restaurants, bars, chocolate & linen stores.
Staff helpful, but not overly engaged. No restaurant or bar on site (bar is really not s bar, as it is a pull down shelf in the lobby, exposing a few bottles of beer and liquour. Biggest negative is that hotel is hard to find as it's on a street that changes name several times and is not easily spotted, especially at night. Also, it's in a very high danger area for muggings and pick pockets. Some hotels including the nearby Marriott & the tourist information office, had signs posted to be aware of this danger. We were stalked the first night of our arrival, but after several anxious stops along the streets hunting Exe Grand, we confronted the persons(2) and they abruptly left.
Room and bath overly large, no view on 4th floor and window looked out on side of building. Book 4th floor (has 6) as this is where the breakfast room is located - breakfast very good. Again, location great, but be extra aware on the streets and areas close to the Grand Place.

Room Tip: Again, Breakfast room is on 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

The hotel was okay at best and should be rated 3-star. The beds were a bit hard, but the room was larger than we expected. We enjoyed opening the balcony for fresh air although it could get a little loud from the street noise, but since we were on a higher floor it was okay. The staff wasn't that helpful and didn't go out of their way to be nice or friendly. The breakfast was small and decent. Nothing fancy. The location was near the Grand Place, but a busy street separated it from the Grand Palace and the neighborhood wasn't the best. Although there was some updated part, it could use some painting and newer and softer beds. The rooms were clean and the cleaning staff did an excellent job. The cleanliness of the hotel was great. We didn't spend a lot of time in the room as we were out and about enjoying Brussels. This hotel is close to a lot of things, but I wouldn't venture on this busy and not so safe street at night as its in a questionable neighborhood. Had a good stay, but nothing exceptional.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Room was clean & functional, we only used the room for sleeping & showering! It was last refurbished in 2004, so really due another refurb. We had a top floor room facing out to the street, with a view. The staff were lovely, really helpful & pleasant. We did not have breakfast, which is charged at 13 euros, there are loads of places to eat and drink. Buses, trams & metro is virtually on the doorstep. The area is not the best, bit shabby, but it is ok. I would stay there again, as location and staff are spot on. Booked this trip through Eurostar, was a package deal.

Room Tip: Try to get rooms with outside windows, just to get some fresh air if needed and a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Loved the location. No fuss hotel but very strategic. Everything was within minutes of walking from train stations to pubs, restaurants, museums, Grand Place. Not an upmarket area but very central. The staff were great especially ilham. She's lovely. She gave me a room which was at the front of the building so I got a little view and she was very, very helpful and patient with my many, many questions about the city. I got what I paid for and I'm happy. I didn't get the breakfast (additional charge) but there's a little cafe next door that opens quiet early. A simpler and cheaper breakfast option. I'd stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can get noisy but nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed here three times already, and all because good desk personnel.

The structure per se is nothing extraordinary and could use some refurbishment, especially a repainting, however the rooms are acceptable and quiet with comfortable beds. Bathrooms are clean, but varies, some seem to have been redone, some show the age.

The strong point here is the location, which is VERY strategic: close to the tram line that connects to the gare du nord and, from there, to the airpot, to the brouckere metro station, on the line to the Eu quartier and 5 minutes walking from the grand place or sainte catherine square.

Wi-fi is reliable, breakfast not exceptional, but satisfying.

However, the strongest point, at least for me, was the desk personnel: the first time I visited, for maybe the first and only time ever, I needed a Tv set and the one in my room was not working: despite the late hour, 5 minutes later I was in a different (and, actually, larger) room. As I needed a restaurant I was presented with a dozen options depending my cousine inclinationfor the moment and so on.

Despite objectively not the best hotel in absolute, this has been the first hotel I've checked for availabilities ever since.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krefeld
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The location is central but not very convenient - especially for a woman. The hotel is in an old building. While the first impression (lobby, floors) was ok, the room as horrible. It was very small and everything was worn. Worse: the wallpapers came down und there were black stains below. I assume it was fungi. Also in the small bathroom were large black fungi-stains in the seams. The price was 240€!
I will definitely never stay there again

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Exe Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Grand Place

Address: Boulevard Anspach 159-163 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Grand Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Hotel Grand Place Hotel in Brussels is set in a 19th century, neo-classical style building with a handsome façade. The exterior classicism is contrasted with the modern, minimalist interior decoration, where the universal lounge allows one to absorb the different ambiances of the Brussels hotel. Undoubtedly, our ensign is the central atrium lined in beige marble with a skylight letting in the light. Our guests immediately take a liking to this rest area where the fireplace, the bar and the comfortable armchairs transmit a universe of tranquillity in the very centre of Brussels.Brussels may indeed be a rainy city, with grey skies or even, too much of an administrative world. Maybe. But nobody can deny that the European capital has the most beautiful urban epicentre on the whole continent, because, without any doubt, the Grand Place irradiates such force over the city making one forget any other detail. La Grand Place is a gift that history and aesthetics offer our eyes. That is why it is worth seeking accommodation in its wake: be intelligent and treat yourself to the pleasure of enjoying the Grand Place and one of the most dynamic historical centres on the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Priceline, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Exe Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Place Brussels
Eurostars Grand Place Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.