We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, practical base” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Grand Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Exe Grand Place to your Saves list
Exe Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Anspach 159-163 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good, practical base”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

A sensible, straightforward hotel. No frills, no thrills. It's conveniently located for car (underground parking one block away), and public transport, with a bus stop directly outside. It's an easy walk from Grand Place (although don't be misled by the name, it's nowhere near being "on" the Grand Place). Also an easy walk to Place St Gery and Place Sainte Catherine. Even though Boulevard Anspach is a busy, main road, the rooms are quiet. And small. Well, the room I had was neat, but very small. I had the feeling that I was constantly stepping over things just to get around the bed.
Clean and well equipped; wifi worked well; well-stocked mini bar and professional desk staff. This is a good base for a short visit to Brussels. But not ideal for a "lounge around the hotel" visit.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    166
    129
    48
    26
See reviews for
51
168
29
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxon
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

I have just spent four nights at this hotel, it is quite easy to get to from the airport via the metro system and bus. Bourse is the nearest station on the 3 or 4 line then only a couple of minutes walk about 250 metres if that. The location is Ideal for sightseeing in Brussels and Grand Palace square is literally only a few minutes walk away once across the road along with some of the other attractions. On arrival we had a friendly greeting at check in the room was good and quite spacious and bed comfortable. Breakfast is a continental buffet meal and pretty good with the usual tea coffee and fruit juice. All in all a good location and a good hotel, and yes I would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

We stayed at the Grand Place for two nights, check in was quick and friendly. The room was on the fourth floor at the back of the hotel and had a view of a wall and the rooftop of the building next door, consequently the room was quite dark and we had to have the lights on all the time. However, the room, although on the small side was clean and modern and had a nice bathroom. But for a four star hotel the room was a bit rough around the edges, the wallpaper was peeling in some places and the grouting in the bathroom was a little worse for wear. The bed was very firm!
Also, on check out the hotel adds on a 'tax', so if you have paid up front and think you don't have to pay any more, be warned! It's around 7 euros per night...
The Grand Place is situated on a main road and isn't in a particularly nice area, the main doors have to be opened by the reception staff from the afternoon onwards. But it is very close to the main tourist sites, restaurants and bars. It is also only a 10 - 15 walk from the Midi Station, for the Eurostar.
We didn't have breakfast (13 euros, all you can eat buffet) instead we used the little bakery next door and had coffee and croissant deal for 2.60€.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 22:15 and were greeted by a very courteous and friendly receptionist called Luis, who promptly checked us in, showed us where the breakfast room was and then issued us with our keycards. The room was very spacious and well presented with air conditioning, excellent sound proofing, no noise from the main boulevard could be heard whatsoever and a TV with digital receiver showing English channels, also there were tea and coffee making facilities.The beds were much larger than standard single beds and very comfortable indeed. The bathroom was nice, bright and very clean with some good touches, hair dryer, shaving mirror on a wall expander, packets of gel, soap, comb and tissues. On opening the large, double wardrobe there was a safe, lots of hangers and a shoeshine kit.
The room was exceptionally warm when we arrived but after adjusting the air condtioning we managed to get it down to an acceptable level.
Breakfast was phenomenal with a choice of cereals, fruit, large selection of cold meats and cheeses, tomatoes, boiled eggs, scrambled eggs, hotdog type sausages, smoked streaky bacon, croissants, petit pain, sliced bread, baguettes, tea, coffee, fruit juices etc. it really filled you up for the day.
Check out is by 12 noon, as we had prepaid for the hotel, the only extra we had to pay was City tax at 7.58 Euros per room, per night and as we were not flying until the evening we asked if we could leave the luggage somewhere, the young lady behind the desk promptly produced labels very similar to hand baggage labels you receive at the airport, gave us a ticket with a number corresponding to our cases and put them in room behind reception.
We stayed at this hotel 10 years ago when it was The Royal Emabassy, since then the Spanish chain Exe have taken over and what a difference they have made, it was a very pleasant experience indeed and would definately stay there again.

If you are on a budget, just down the road, heading towards La Bourse and just before you get to O'Reillys Irish bar, is the Chaochow Palace Chinese restaurant, they have Plat du Jour (menu of the day) and a Plat du Soir (menu of the evening) and they are very plentiful.There's usually 2 main choices and a very large bowl of steamed rice. One night i ordered Sweet and Sour Chicken and when it arrived there were at least a dozen pieces of chicken on the plate, the following night, Char Siu pork was ordered and there must have been at least 15 slices, very generous portions. The place doesn't look much from the front but the food is good.

If you like your fries, chips, call them what you want, then Belgium is the place to be, never have i tasted them as good as here and the nearest Fritterie, to the hotel, is down the right hand street, next to the Bourse as you look at it, it's called Fritland and the chips and chicken are amazing, try the Samurai chilli mayo,it has a good kick to it.

Opposite the Bourse behind O'Reillys is the St Gery area with some outstanding bars, our favourite is the Mappa Mundo which is a great place to chill and watch the world go by.

Just off the Grand Place is a quaint and quirky little bar, called Au Brasseur run by very friendly Dimitri and and his staff, with lots of chairs and tables ouside and an extensive range of draught and bottled beers, try the Delirium it's really something.

If, after a night out at Au Brasseur you have an appetite, right opposite is what we have nicknamed Greek street where there's approximately a dozen Greek restaurants serving a great range of good food, i especially like the Gyros pitta, lamb and salad in a half pitta bread for 3.50 Euros.

Room Tip: Do not worry if you are allocated a room on the front, the double glazing/sound proofing does it'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Top Contributor
313 reviews 313 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
362 helpful votes 362 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The location of the hotel is quite nice. Nearest metro station is Bourse. Bus 95 start/ends its route in front of the hotel. This bus service takes you to Luxembourg where you'll find the airport express bus.
The hotel is located in a busy street with some noise, as expected in a large city.
Stayed in room 403 for three nights. Was given room 101 at check in, but asked if it was possible to change room as it was on the second floor, which was no problem.
The room had an old TV, which I haven't seen for years. No flat screen here. The beds were really hard, and a bit uncomfy in my opinion. The room had no safe. The AC made some extra noise when running "full speed". There was wooden floor in the room, but the hallway had wall to wall carpets.
We opted for the breakfast when booking the room which proved to be a success. The breakfast was very nice.

From what I read at Tripadvisor there has been some different reviews when it come to the staff. We found the staff to be polite and helpful. The check in/out went smoothly and they always said "hello" to us. The breakfast staff was busy, but polite.

We would like to come back, and hopefully they have changed the beds to a bit more comfortable standard by then.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Staff is extremely unhelpful and many would call it rude( particularly Vanessa at the front desk) I have stayed in hotels for business all over the world and this is one of the worst. They are changing their name to exe hotel. Don't let it fool you. Still rude and unprofessional. The facility is typical for a boutique european hotel, small rooms no amenities the restaraunt is open only sporadically. All that is expected. The attitude isn't.

The only way they stay in business is their location.

Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, Essex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Clean place with old style tv with a good selection of channels. No real bar or restarant for evening meals, no gym or pool so not sure if it deserves a 4* rating.

Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exe Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Grand Place

Address: Boulevard Anspach 159-163 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Hotel Grand Place Hotel in Brussels is set in a 19th century, neo-classical style building with a handsome façade. The exterior classicism is contrasted with the modern, minimalist interior decoration, where the universal lounge allows one to absorb the different ambiances of the Brussels hotel. Undoubtedly, our ensign is the central atrium lined in beige marble with a skylight letting in the light. Our guests immediately take a liking to this rest area where the fireplace, the bar and the comfortable armchairs transmit a universe of tranquillity in the very centre of Brussels.Brussels may indeed be a rainy city, with grey skies or even, too much of an administrative world. Maybe. But nobody can deny that the European capital has the most beautiful urban epicentre on the whole continent, because, without any doubt, the Grand Place irradiates such force over the city making one forget any other detail. La Grand Place is a gift that history and aesthetics offer our eyes. That is why it is worth seeking accommodation in its wake: be intelligent and treat yourself to the pleasure of enjoying the Grand Place and one of the most dynamic historical centres on the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Exe Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Place Brussels
Eurostars Grand Place Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.