We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent business hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Grand Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Exe Grand Place to your Saves list
Exe Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boulevard Anspach 159-163 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Tel Aviv
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Decent business hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

The Eurostarts Grand Place is the choice hotel for my colleagues in my company as we are very frequently in Brussels. This is the third hotel I have been in here and it is ranked as the middle of the three.

The hotel is well located near the grand place and close to the metro which is very convenient. The room was clean and tidy although on the small size. The room I got was one facing the inner foyer. I personally prefer having an outside facing window but given the circumstances (see next paragraph) it was acceptable.

I would like to positively note that when I arrived at the hotel at 6am I received my room very early (althgouh i was only booked for the next night). This was very good service as I needed to refresh after the flight and before my meetings.

The breakfast was good and had all basic continental elements you would expect. The service as mentioned was good. My room had a problem with the AC so it was very hot but I suppose that might be a personal thing.

It seems to me that next time I will try another hotel or go for the best option I had so far (look at my other reviews for comparison). But if I had to choose this hotel I wouldn't be bummed.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an outward facing window
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    166
    129
    47
    26
See reviews for
51
168
29
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

My family I and stayed at this hotel for couple of days last week. Not a bad facility or location, but the service is non-existent and unfriendly. Asked the front dest about ice, the response was a more or less shrug of the shoulders. I was told they didn't have any, and no further explanation of where to get any. I would not have minded paying as ice may not be a regular request in some european countries. No, nothing.... Also, to get into the hotel you must buzzed in, the door is locked. Good security feature, I guess...there is a person (robot) at the front desk 24/7, again you may say "hello", Bon Jour", "Guten Tag", "Buenas Dias" or any greeting that comes to mind at the time--95% of the time you are not going to get a response ! Peeked over the shoulder of one young lady at the desk and saw the culprit---Facebook .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel is in a very good position, close to the Grand Place & Bourse, and good value for money. Our room was a reasonable size, comfortable, clean with modern furnishings and double glazing. Coffee making facilities and a mini-bar were included, plus the free wi fi in the room was useful. Although the bathroom was clean and fully tiled, there was a chip in the bath and one of the tiles over the bath had not been fitted correctly. The lounge and non-existent bar were below expectation, so overall it seemed more like a 3 star hotel rather than a 4 star.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We booked this hotel as part of a Eurostar deal to visit the christmas markets. When we first arrived we were given room 304 which had a window that opened up into the lobby area. This meant that there was no fresh air and was very hot due to the fact the air conditioning doesn't work. Luckily we complained and got moved to a much larger room with an external window which we could open to cool the room down (This was in november!).

However the location was ideal and the rooms were kept clean.

Room Tip: Avoid staying in one of the "internal" rooms with no outside windows (304). The aircon doe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed at the Eurostars Grand Place hotel for the weekend in April following a business trip in Brussels and have to admit that I was massively unimpressed.

Pros:
* The hotel was nice and clean, the main foyer looks impressive and the marble flooring is a nice touch
* The hotel room was clean and the bathroom was spacious with nice facilities
* Location wise you can't go wrong, it is only two minutes walking distance from Grand Place and easily accessible from Bruxelle Midi and Central train stations.
* The staff were friendly and capable.

Cons:
* The rooms were incredibly uncomfortable. The bed was so hard it gave me backache for the two nights I slept there.
* Unfortunately the rooms pretty much all back onto one another or the main foyer so all noise penetrates through the walls. This is not great if you have noisy neighbours and forget about sleeping past 8am when breakfast starts.
* The price I was quoted was not the price I ended up paying as the hotel forget to tell me about the tax involved.
* Upon arrival, although I specifically booked for breakfast in the price, I was told it was not included and that it would cost another 13 Euros to eat at the hotel in the morning.

Summary:
All in all I don't regret staying here but to say it is a 4**** hotel is a bit of a stretch. The price I paid (80 Euros per night) was reasonable but the original price of 350 Euro per night would have left me feeling somewhat violated.

When I next stay in Brussels I would find a hotel in St Gery or Catherine to sample a better atmosphere. The surrounding area of Bvd Anspach is not somewhere I would want to take children after dark.

Room Tip: Find a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Trust me. I was mislead by the comments. I came here late at night, only wanting to sleep for a couple of hours.

There is no double glazing and there is a warehouse in front. From 5am there was cars going in. The toilet and sink are in two different rooms. The road makes so much noise as the cars pass.

I went to talk to the manager about the reviews and the noise. He simply said you don't expect me to put that on the website. He said there was a 'little' noise.

I will repeat do not stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

The Eurostars Grand Place hotel is a few minutes' walk from the Bourse and De Brouckère metro stops. On check-in I was given the password to access the hotel wi-fi free of charge. The reception staff was efficient and very helpful with administrative matters. My room was quiet, clean and spacious and it had coffee-making facilities. The only flaw I must report is that it was a bit cold.
As others have reported, breakfast at the hotel is quite expensive (13 EUR!) so I bought a banana and a packet of biscuits at a grocery store near the hotel (1.65 EUR!) and benefitted from the coffee-machine in my room.
On the whole I was satisfied with my stay and I'd definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Exe Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Grand Place

Address: Boulevard Anspach 159-163 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#54 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Exe Hotel Grand Place Hotel in Brussels is set in a 19th century, neo-classical style building with a handsome façade. The exterior classicism is contrasted with the modern, minimalist interior decoration, where the universal lounge allows one to absorb the different ambiances of the Brussels hotel. Undoubtedly, our ensign is the central atrium lined in beige marble with a skylight letting in the light. Our guests immediately take a liking to this rest area where the fireplace, the bar and the comfortable armchairs transmit a universe of tranquillity in the very centre of Brussels.Brussels may indeed be a rainy city, with grey skies or even, too much of an administrative world. Maybe. But nobody can deny that the European capital has the most beautiful urban epicentre on the whole continent, because, without any doubt, the Grand Place irradiates such force over the city making one forget any other detail. La Grand Place is a gift that history and aesthetics offer our eyes. That is why it is worth seeking accommodation in its wake: be intelligent and treat yourself to the pleasure of enjoying the Grand Place and one of the most dynamic historical centres on the continent. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Exe Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Grand Place Brussels
Eurostars Grand Place Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.