We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average business hotel in the center of Europe” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Izan Avenue Louise

Save Saved
You added Izan Avenue Louise to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Izan Avenue Louise
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Blanche 4 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Average business hotel in the center of Europe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for 1 night during a business meeting in Brussels. I had to book a hotel at short notice so all of the major business hotels were very expensive. So, I found this nice hotel in the city. The hotel is located on Av. Louise, which is a major district in Brussels. However, it is not easy to walk around to find a good restaurant or any touristic places. It is also not located very close to the metro station.However, you can reach anywhere in Brussels via taxi for a good price.

The hotel has a classic western style decoration. The rooms and furnitures are in good condition. The bathroom is small but has quality materials. There is free wifi in the lobby. The breakfast is not the very best and offering many choices, but tasty.

If you need to book a hotel in Brussels and your favorite hotels are all full, you could go for this hotel at a reasonable price. But don't expect too much.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    109
    70
    28
    8
See reviews for
23
94
39
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Had a great stay at this hotel! Very easy check-in, had to wait a while for our room (i.e. 12pm) but as we arrived in the morning this was understandable, and a very early check-in availability in comparison to other hotels. The lift is small, would fit around 2 or 3 people, but is perfectly functional as it is a small hotel.
Room was excellent! Very spacious and clean. Beds were extremely comfortable and provided good linen and different blankets so we were never too warm or cold. Room had excellent cable TV service, with good range of English-speaking channels available. There was some noise from the street below during the night, but not terrible. The fan that was provided was very useful, on almost constantly while in the room.
The bathroom is a decent size, very clean. The only nuisance was that the shower door did not fully fit the bath, creating a gap for the water to leak out on the floor.
The breakfast was good, decent selection of bread and meat etc. but I feel that there should have been more fruit available.
The hotel is in a good location close to lots of shops and restaurants. The tourist areas, such as Grand-Place, are about a 30 min. walk from the hotel. Maps are available at reception.
By the way, the quality of the English of the Belgians is excellent and they are very helpful, so no need to be worried about the quality of your French!
Overall, excellent hotel with good location and good staff, would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The front rooms are slightly noisier, but appear to be significantly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed several time there as price quality ratio is eessential. At less than 90 Euros a night with breakfast a day when the EU has a full fledge meeting is a bargain not to be missed. Except for a safe which could not be fixed (despite prompt expert intervention), a shower glass screen which was gone and a tiny TV, it was still a bargain. Fortunately the room was on the ground floor, so, unlike the previous time I did not have to wait for the elevator/lift. Would be good if some renovation took place. Breakfast is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Our room was very shabby and really in need of a makeover, the wallpaper was stained and dirty,there were nails sticking out of the dado rail, stains on the carpet, and the curtains were coming off the pole. The room was at the back of the hotel so no view but it was very quiet and warm. We did not have breakfast but were offered it at 24 euro's each - so that would have been an extra 48 euro's a day.

The hotel expect you to leave a 50 euro deposit in case you use the mini bar - when we checked out we were asked if we had used it or used parking to which we answered No to both - and the receptionist said OK so that will just be the tourist tax you owe and duly charged us an extra 18euros for visiting their city!!! That was 4.50euro for every night of our stay. I know it is not a lot but it was on top of what we had already paid.

The lift is very old fashioned but i was ok with this and does not have an inner door. The staircases are spiral small and narrow and not very easy to carry cases up and down.

All in all the hotel is very tired and has a sad feel about the place - the once grand and decadent rooms need some TLC and a lot of money thrown at to restore it to its former glory.


Would we stay there again? No - not at the price they are asking

Room Tip: "Ask for rooms at the front of the hotel"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lubbock, Texas
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

Rooms are very small and things are a bit worn but the location is very good. Breakfast at the hotel is outrageously expensive for what you get. There are many cheaper eateries nearby.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

The room was great ! Enormous, freshly refurbished, the bathroom was new clean and very spacious. overall it was more like a suite and less than a standard hotel room. I guess I was lucky... It was a corner room on the 4th floor. The view was not nice but I did not care as I was away all day. The breakfast was fine the service was pretty awful. Impersonal manner, bored staff, impolite and arrogant. Had to get to a certain pub which is very well known in the area. W hen I asked for directions the receptionist told me that there are so many pubs in Brussels that he was in no position to give me directions! It turned out that google was my best pal and guided me to my destination which was 500 meters away . He was more than eager to guide other guests to certain restaurants in the area...very eagerly as well! The only polite person I met was the cleaner.....other than her the rest of the staff need a change of attitude! So much indifference and boredom I have never encountered anywhere else...and I do travel a lot.

Room Tip: Corner room go for 402 it is a suite view is not nice but room is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

Well, ok, it is true that in this hotel there is an air of old grandeur in its decadence. Marble bathrooms, outdated classical furniture etc. Having stayed in ex-Melia Louise in its top 00's era and also recently in Feb 12', I trully believe that if you don't care about a stain in the moquette, this hotel still offers a very good price/quality ratio. Especially if you are spending working days in Brussels, when most of the hotels ask for exorbitant prices. Moreover, I am a fan of the Louise quarter (shopping, good transportation, safety) and I would never opt for a hotel near the EU institutions...
p.s. Asking for a credit card number as a guarantee for eventual mini bar consumption is not a very kind hotel policy...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Izan Avenue Louise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Izan Avenue Louise

Address: Rue Blanche 4 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#45 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Izan Avenue Louise 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Otel and Venere so you can book your Izan Avenue Louise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise Hotel Brussels
Sercotel Izan Avenue Louise Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Izan Avenue Louise, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.