We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two night stay at a lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels to your Saves list
Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ave. Louise 71 | Elsene, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Kent
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Two night stay at a lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

This was a two night stay at the Steigenberger while we visited the city and Bruge from the UK (on Eurostar). Note - taxi cost to hotel about 12 euros from train station.The entrance and reception is excellent. Beautiful decor and definitely a hotel that has enjoyed prestigious status. Good service in reception and we were quickly taken to our room on the first floor. I found the landing on the first floor very drab and dull which did not compare to my initial observations on arrival.
Our room was the superier room and did not disappoint. Very clean bathroom with both bath and seperate shower room (powerful shower and lots of hot water). My wife said the hairdryer was very powerful which made a pleasant change. They also supplied an iron and ironing board. Free use of the safe and free adapter when we requested one from the conceirge. The room itself was very big with seperate desk area (ideal for the business person). Large flat screen television and iphone 4 music centre. A bit dated now everyone has moved to iphone 5 :) The bed was very comfortable, although I would have prefered a king size quilt instead of two singles which were on the king size bed. The concierge service was very good. I used them several times, asking for advice on places to visit and recommendation for a fine dining restaurant. Despite my late enquiry they rang around and found us a table. We paid for breakfast in advance and fully enjoyed it. Choice of cooked breakfast or continental. Excellent selection of breads, cheeses, cereals and pastries. Would I recommend this hotel? Absolutely and will definitely revisit the next time I am in Brussels.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Dear Providence01,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Steigenberger Grandhotel on Tripadvisor.

It is with pleasure to see that your stay at our property has met your expectations and it will be our pleasure to welcome you in Brussels again in the very near future.

Warm Regards,

Valerie Wieman
Guest Relations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    136
    56
    22
    14
See reviews for
57
171
9
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney,
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

The best thing was that we were able to book 3 nights at quite short notice but that may not be so surprising after all. The hotel is well located and looks good from the outside and entrance. Ground staff were helpful and attentive, reception did their job. After that it was rather disappointing.
Buffet breakfast at Euro25 per head was up unimaginative, hot food in Bain Marie's was lukewarm so we only went on the first morning - it was cheaper and better to eat in a local cafe. Two days out of three there was no hot water so a cold shower was not the best way to start the day. When I mentioned this to one of the reception staff while checking out, he simply asked if I had used the mini bar - no apology or comment about the water situation. Not a good way to say goodbye to a guest.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations clients at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear gadSydney_ ,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property here on Tripadvisor. Your opinion gives us the chance to always improve our services.

After reading your review carefully, we truly feel sorry about all the issues you experienced during your three-night stay with us. We totally agree that the hot buffet served at Café Wiltchers should be hot and not lukewarm. We informed already our F&B manager about this and know that this kind of situation will not happen anymore in the future. Our breakfast buffet will also undergo some huge changes this summer!

Saying goodbye is very important. Unfortunately there was some miscommunication at check-out. We would like to offer you our most sincere apologies that you had to leave the hotel with this impression. Know that we are training staff regularly this summer in order to react in the way to are supposed to in different situations to make sure this does not occur again.

I can only feel sorry about your stay, but we truly hope to welcome you back one day to prove our level of service that we want to be known for. Please do not hesitate to contact us again for any other enquiry you might have,

Warm regards,

Karel Lemmens
guestrelations.brussels@steigenberger.com
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

The price was not insignificant. However, they still dare to charge sth like 6 EUR for a 330 ml mineral water at mini bar. Moreover, at breakfast, they make you pay for hard boiled eggs. There is a fair selection of buffet breakfast items but there is also a quite costly a la carte breakfast menu, including American or Japaneese choices.
Apart from above comments, the room was spacious, elegant, we had a tiny balcony, a stylish bath. You would expect all this in a place like this one. We've been to many hotels in this class, and this one (somehow) made us feel not-so-very-welcome. There was no feeling of real hospitality, rather a well prospering money machine, able to extract even more euros from your pocket.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations clients at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear AgataStar,

Thank you for reviewing our property here on Tripadvisor after staying with us.

We are happy to read that you enjoyed our rooms with their decorations and the bathroom with their amenities.

Unfortunately, your stay was not completely up to your expectations. Know that we are truly sorry for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay here with us. Therefore we offer you our most sincere apologies. Regarding the minibar prices I am happy to inform you that we are working on roomrates that include the entire minibar.

Please do contact us again regarding the feeling you had while staying with us. Your opinion is very important to us in order to always maintain our high standards. You can contact me personally on guestrelations.brussels@steigenberger.com with any other remark or question.

I truly hope that we can convince you in the very near future of our passion for luxury, service and guest satisfaction.

Kindest regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

My sixth stay at this hotel this year. Quiet , steady improvement with each visit . The hotel still hasn't found its past glory when it was called the Conrad Hilton. The new owners while spending some money in renovating the rooms , seem to have opted for a good 4 and a half rather than five star hotel. Very comfortable but cold rooms with bare walls ( seem to have run out of budget for art works) and dreary , empty lobby with a poor pianist trying to entertain the arriving tour groups of Chinese tourists. The popular and good Wiltchers cafe has been shuttered and no restaurant available in the hotel . Excellent location and friendly staff make up for a totally unimaginative manager.

Room Tip: Ask for inner courtyard room to avoid very noisy back street where the passing trams create a rumble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations clients at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Claurisam,

Thank you for reviewing Steigenberger Grandhotel here on Tripadvisor.

We are happy to see that you are staying regularly with Steigenberger in Brussels. We have well noted your remarks about the guestrooms, and we would like to inform your opinion is very important for us. Currently we are renovating about 100 bedrooms during the summer period. This includes painting, decorating,... to make our guests feel at ease in their rooms.

We truly hope to see you again very soon here with us!

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next stay,

Kind regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Nice big clean rooms and comfortable beds. Very small balcony and no view. Bad wifi, awkwardly placed TV with bad reception, poor selection in mini-bar, broken jacuzzi in spa, room door key did not work, closed restaurant and errors on the invoice. Ordered Champaign which we never got. Not worth the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations clients at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your stay with us here on Tripadvisor.
Feedback is very important for us in order to always improve our services.

We are happy to see that you have enjoyed the spaciousness and cleanliness of our guestrooms.
Unfortunately we have read that there were a few points that were not up to your expectations and we would like to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused during your stay.

We can already inform you that we are planning to change our complete minibar system. We will integrate a complimentary minibar in the future. The items that are not available in the minibar, can always be ordered with our in-room dining department 24 hours.

The Aspria Spa situated on level -0, is unfortunately a private club. As this is a private spa, we can only inform them about this matter. We will forward your review to Aspria.

We truly apologize once more for the inconveniences that have made your stay less pleasant. We would be pleased to contact you via email or telephone in order to have more details about your stay.

We truly hope that we may welcome you back one day to prove the level of service that we are known for!

Please do not hesitate to contact us via email or telephone,

Warm regards,

Karel Lemmens
guestrelations.brussels@steigenberger.com
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Concierge advisors are excellent. they can perfectly help guests to find best locations around for enjoying Bruessel. The hotel has everything you need for feeling pampered. Steigenberger is a high end hotel making customers feel very special.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations clients at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear MichaelDana,

First of all I would like to thank you for reviewing Steigenberger Grandhotel here on Tripadvisor.
Your opinion is very important to us in order to always improve.

We are happy that you had an overall good experience here at Steigenberger Grandhotel.
Thank you for your lovely words about our concierge team. We will certainly inform them about these compliments.

We hope to welcome you again very soon!

Kind regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

This was clearly once a tip top hotel but I don't think they are keeping it up to their old standards. Luckily I traveled for business and wasn't paying full price- I think anyone who paid full price would be a bit disappointed with some small things that needed to be fixed in the room (like the faucet) and just weren't being kept in tip top shape. That being said it is an incredible hotel, very grand, magnificent even. Lots of great restaurants nearby but in a commercial district with lots of office buildings, not ideal for sightseeing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Responsable relations clients at Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, responded to this review, July 4, 2014
Dear Lyra-Belaqua,

Thank you for taking the time to write your thoughts about your stay here on Tripadvisor.
Know that your opinion is very important for us.

We are sorry to read that your room was not up to your expectations. I would like to inform you that we are currently renovating all 269 bedrooms in the hotel. Now we are finishing all rooms on the fourth and the fifth floor in order to maintain the high standards that we want to be known for. Our renovations include the bedrooms, but as well the bathrooms with faucets and shower.

I really hope to meet you again upon your next businesstrip to Brussels. Please let us know upon check-in if you would like to try our renovated rooms.

Please do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next booking,

Warm regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
guestrelations.brussels@steigenberger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels

Address: Ave. Louise 71 | Elsene, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brussels benefits from a strategic location on the Avenue Louise, being only 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place, 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Gare du Midi (Eurostar/Thalys terminal). In the heart of Brussels, the Grandhotel Brussels is also close to the European Quarter and the historical center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Grandhotel Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.