We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reminds me of another era” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Wiltcher's to your Saves list
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Reminds me of another era”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I enjoyed this hotel, the staff and the location. This reminded me of a 70s/80s large hotel with very good service. We felt like we were in a different era. We walked everywhere from the hotel and it is in a good location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Seth K,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
Your positive comments are much appreciated and we will make sure to share them with our teams!
We hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels.
Sincerely,
Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    154
    67
    27
    17
See reviews for
67
201
10
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bali
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

The hotel is very nice, it's located on quiet upper-town close to chic shops. You can walk down to Grand Palace which will take around 20min, but to go back you need more time and effort as the road is going up. It has castle style, with beautiful lobby. The bed is very comfortable, and the bathroom is spacious with old style bathtub and also modern shower. TV in our room didn't work, and the nice receptionist tried to unplug and restart it with no result, and suggested us to move to another room, but since our suitcases were already opened we decided to stay. There is Wifi but not free. The breakfast was quite with several choices. We didn't see many people, although this hotel has many rooms, it looked very quiet. The staff are very friendly and ready to give you information you need.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear tungting,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor following your stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed our prime location and most importantly our staff readiness to help! We will let them know about your appreciation for sure!

We are looking forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brussels,
Sincerely,
Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here after booking a non refundable special rate with the hotel that included breakfast, wifi and a welcome drink. The main reason for booking here was size of rooms. The hotel is renovating the older rooms and we requested a renovated one which we got. The hotel also accommodated our smoking request. We had the upgraded room facing the courtyard which was nice and quiet. Staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. This hotel is about a 20 minute walk to Grand Place and is located in a more expensive shopping area. After visiting Grand Place and the hoardes of tourists we were so glad we booked this hotel to be away from that. The only issue with the hotel was inconsistent turn down service and poor water pressure in the shower. The staff helped us to choose where to eat that we're local restaurants that were non touristy and local. This made our stay much more authentic and enjoyable. We walked in the Ixelles neighbourhood and found many nice areas where there restaurants, bars and shops. For dinner try La Quincaillerie, Les Chou des Bruxelles for the best mussels and choice of preparation. We also ate at Le Clan des Belges.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Randall_from_Toronto,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay at the Grandhotel Brussels.
It gives us great pleasure and pride to read that you enjoyed our colleague’s help and we will make sure that they know that their restaurant suggestions were appreciated.
Your comment about the inconsistent turn down service has not gone unnoticed. We are currently training our chambermaids to deliver the consistent service we are thriving for all our departments and we would like to apologize if you have note received it during your stay.
We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back so that you can experience the outstanding level of service you deserve.
Kindest regards,
Kivanc Akil,
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I love the most is the bed. Super comfy! Great location, in the middle of everything. Food was ok. Super clean hotel. Like the door man so much, help me a lot to find/ get things. Need free wifi for the guests.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Riezka,

We are delighted to read that you had a comfortable stay at the Grandhotel Brussels and that our doormen were able to show you the level of service we are constantly aiming to achieve. We hope to welcome you back very soon and suggest you reserve your room with us directly so you can benefit from our complimentary internet.

Best regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My wife and I plus another couple stayed in this hotel 16-19 August. What a fabulous hotel and wonderful staff. Beware of prices, we booked through expedia and they got us a fantastic rate. The Hotel is handily situated on one o the main tramlines also it is not to fard to walk to the Grand Place.

Room Tip: Rooms facing into the Courtyard are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Jimbo190947,

Thank you very much for your great feedback. We look forward to welcoming you and your wife back at the Grandhotel Brussels very soon!

Best regards,
Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed at this wonderful hotel with my wife for a week in August, and would surely stay again if we ever go to Brussels once more.

The location was ideal,the room was very clean and breakfast was beautiful.However,what impressed us most was the welcoming and comforting attitude of the staff.It was evident,they all knew that the best thing one can wear is a smile.Furthermore, they were really very helpful and considerate.Our demands were met instantly.For instance,although they did not serve lactose free milk at breakfast,it was made available at my wife's request.

In short,if you are not concerned with insignificant details and you don't have much on your mind to nick pick,this is the right place.We must not forget that nobody is perfect and no place is perfect either.

I would like to thank the general manager,Blanche Van Berckel for creating such an adorable environment and the quality manager,Kıvanc Akil who constantly checked if everything was all right.And of course our special thanks to all the staff,you are brilliant people.

Cemal Önem

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr. Önem,

Thank you for your kind comments which I will make sure to share with all our staff! It was a pleasure having you and your wife staf with us and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,
Kivanc Akil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We love this hotel, especially when it was the Conrad, but fortunately they have kept many of the staff. My husband has been staying here for many years and I only recently over the past 4 years. I love the location of this hotel and the staff. The concierge, Stephan is brilliant, polite and extremely helpful in getting anything you want. We were, through him, able to play tennis at a club where you did not need a membership, he found us a place where we could rent the best bicycles for the day and cycled around the bois de Soigne and a reservation at the Chalet de la Foret which has 2 Michelin stars all at short notice. The Concierge makes a hotel and this is why we return to this one.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong here with a room, all the ones we have stayed in have been extremely comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel_Brussels, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear crocnaz,

Thank you and your husband for the confidence you have shown to our property and most importantly, stafff over the years!
It is wonderful to read that Stephane is able to provide you the exceptional service you expect and I will personally make sure he sees your comments.
We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kind regards,
Kivanc Akil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Wiltcher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Address: Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Wiltcher's 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brussels benefits from a strategic location on the Avenue Louise, being only 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place, 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Gare du Midi (Eurostar/Thalys terminal). In the heart of Brussels, the Grandhotel Brussels is also close to the European Quarter and the historical center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Steigenberger Wiltcher's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Wiltcher's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.