We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and cheating” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Steigenberger Wiltcher's to your Saves list
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“dirty and cheating”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived for a group conference at this hotel. we stayed here some 7 years ago (hotel was named Conrad at this time). After this time everything has been ruined. The staff tries to cheat you on the credit card at the beginning charging first debit card and later they find an excuse to charge you on credit card again.
My room had no working heating! Is it african attitude in the middle of winter in europe?
Food is just tasteless.
Forget about the coffee after lunch- the waiters will do all possible to avoid the guests asking for coffee - rude and unprofessional!
Terrible dirty carpets in the rooms - probably not cleaned since Conrad...

Room Tip: a place to avaoid
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Jaroslaw S.,

Thank you for have taken the time to share your feedback with us. We are sorry to see that we haven’t live up to your expectations during your stay.

We would like to let you know that we take an authorization on guest’s credit cards upon check in, and payments upon check out, this might have cost the confusion by charging you twice. Also know that we are currently going through some renovations and by the end of the year, all our rooms will be done.

We hope to welcome you back soon at the Grandhotel Brussels.

Best regards,

Valerie Wieman
Guest Relations Agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    154
    67
    27
    17
See reviews for
67
201
10
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Beautiful grand hotel in the centre of brussels, top service only a bit formel. The Loui bar is excellent. A lot of nice shops in the surroundings. Offcourse this isn't a budget hotel. Thanks for having us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Very old room bathroom dirty and shower broken. Receptionist did not speak good English. Food overpriced. Bad smell in corridor. Next time I will stay at the Amigo.i do not recommend this property. Much better when it was Hilton behind.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Guest Relations Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Dear Desmet666,

First of all we would like to thank you for reviewing Steigenberger Grandhotel. We are sorry to hear that your stay was not as it have could been.

We have well noted your comments about the state of the room, and we will do our utmost best to improve all our rooms and suites. It may interest you that we now have completed the renovation of all the rooms situated on the second floor of the building. To accommodate our guests even better in near future we are planning to refurbish as well the lobby, bar and lounge.

We're sorry to hear that level of English at the front desk was not as good. As a solution we are constantly trying to improve the level of languages spoken at reception by offering languages courses to our front desk staff members.

We would like to offer you once more all our sincere apologies, but we are hoping seeing you again at Steigenberger Grandhotel in one of our renovated rooms. Please do not hesitate in contacting us again regarding any enquiry you might have.

Kind regards,

Karel Lemmens
Guest relations agent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira, Portugal
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My family and I stayed here when it was still The Conrad so this review will be focused around that, I'm sure some stuff will still be the same. The rooms are a little pricey but you get what you pay for! The rooms were huge, the bathrooms were very clean, and the service is fantastic. My favorite part of this hotel was the breakfast spread! There was a very extensive spread of cooked meats, eggs, cold cuts, cheeses, yogurt, cereals, pastries, and juices. The location was just outside of the main attractions but easily accessible. My family and I all enjoyed our time at this location and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for 5 star accommodation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The hotel recently changed ownership (formely Conrad) what you can see in the fresh up of the rooms. Formely more Louis IVX style is was now modernised in more modern style with purple color accents. Due to a technical problem I was upgraded to a more luxurious room without a problem. The hotel is located in one of the most important shopping streets of Brussels. Although centrally located it has a atmosphere of peace and quiet. There is a public parking located at 100 meter with direct access to the hotel. Beds were of good sleeping quality. The bathroom was luxurious and there was a nespresso machine in the room (also an iron and ironing board). Cupboards were of inferior quality (just a door opening with a rack to hang your cloths). The breakfast was of good quality with a large choice and good service.
So to conclude: good hotel with excellent location and good service

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

the hotel is a bit overpriced on food and drinks but the lounge and bar were awesome with great service. the room we stayed in was the largest on our entire trip. I would go back for sure as i cant think of anything i could have changed about it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandhotel B, Manager at Steigenberger Wiltcher's, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Dear nartx84,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on your stay at the Grandhotel, Brussels. We are delighted to read that your stay with us was up to your expectations.
We do hope in welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Kivanc Akil
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Upon arrival husband and I were received by polite and professional front desk staff. Room was gorgeous and had a lovely view of the central eating & sitting area enclosed in the building. Great selection of pillows for order by room service. Large plush bed. Impeccable bathroom with the exception of rusty water unexpectedly coming out from the bathtub (!!!). As husband was concerned about his health as a result of this, hotel staff managed to get him a doctor in under an hour. All in all, lovely hotel with impeccable service, but let the taps run first before you do anything.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Steigenberger Wiltcher's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steigenberger Wiltcher's

Address: Avenue Louise 71 | Ixelles, Brussels 1050, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#13 Business Hotel in Brussels
#25 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Steigenberger Wiltcher's 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grandhotel Brussels benefits from a strategic location on the Avenue Louise, being only 20 minute walk from the Palais Royal and Grand Place, 20 minute drive away from Brussels International Airport/Zaventem and 5 minutes from the Gare du Midi (Eurostar/Thalys terminal). In the heart of Brussels, the Grandhotel Brussels is also close to the European Quarter and the historical center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Steigenberger Wiltcher's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Conrad Brussels Hotel Brussels
Brussels Conrad

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Steigenberger Wiltcher's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.