We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maxhotel

Save Saved
You added Maxhotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maxhotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Excellent hotel in a great location in Brussels. Self service so don't be expecting receptionists, concierge etc but the one member of staff that I did encounter was very helpful indeed with an issue with one of the vending machines.

Rooms are basic but very clean and modern, bathrooms also very clean. Free WiFi in the lobby areas - paid for in the room if you need it.

For the cost of the room I don't think you will do any better in any big city, superb.

One issue as mentioned by others was the checkin process as I had booked through Hotels.com I didn't have the booking reference i needed to use the automatic checkin so I had to ask the very helpful member of staff to help.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    172
    231
    52
    17
    12
See reviews for
19
216
66
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

For 8 lads on a stag do, this hotel was very good for the money.
Rooms were clean and comfortable, and the hotel location was excellent.
Very close to lots of bars and restaurants.

Definitely recommended if your just looking for a nice clean place to rest your head

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

This is a very small hotel, operated in a very 'self-service' manner. Very rarely will you see staff moving around in the hotel. Everything including checking in and check out are self-service. There is a machine at the entrance which can be used for check in and out. However, for those booked through booking sites, you'll need to call the solitary lady at the reception to give you a hotel confirmation number to enter on the machine.

The rooms though are very clean, spic-n-span and well-maintained. They are best suited to individual travellers and I would not recommend families with small children to book this hotel. The lounge on the first floor is excellent and has free wifi.

Location-wise, the hotel is about a km walk to the main square and its an enjoyable walk. In a nutshell, this hotel is value for money. Where do you get hotels for Euros 40-50 a night?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyvinkää
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a great budget hotel. Rooms were very clean, and had everything we needed. We purchased wifi for 5 euro, and initially had some problem with the connection, but after the lady from the front desk restarted the router, it worked perfectly after that.
The hotel is in a very convenient location, right in the center with lots of great cafe's and restaurants near by. I would definitely go there again.
Only one minus point: The self service check-in does not work. We noticed that several other guests had the same problem while checking in. The reservation number from hotels.com does not work for the self service check in, and we didn't realize that we should have contacted the hotel a few days before to get a check-in code. It's not a very convenient system, and it should not be too difficult to change it into a working system. Luckily for us, there was a member of the staff who helped us and the other guests with the check-in.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I had problems checking in but the member of staff helped me very quickly. The room was spacious and comfortable. It takes about 10 to get to the Grand Place and Nord station is only 6 or 7 minutes away. It was a very nice and quiet hotel which I can only recommend. Would come here again if I come back to Brussels. I paid 35 euro a night for 3 nights which is very good in an expensive city

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here last night 24th August. Fantastic for a budget hotel. Great location not too far from the old part of Brussels. Stick your credit card in the self check in. scan your passport and you are in. Spotless room, aircon, power shower and all this for under £40 quid. Beats loads of London 3 star hotels. Not sure I would want to stay a week but for a couple of nights this hotel is spot on

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel could show a lot of 3 star hotels in London how to operate. I arrived late and had an issue with the self-check-in machines. I only had the booking reference from the online travel agent, not the hotel reference. A member of staff was able to assist and check-in was completed in under five minutes. I was on the second floor in room 207 on the side of the hotel so didn't experience any street noise. The room, although small was adequate and the window was the entire length of the room. Private shower stall and toilet. All nice and clean. The bed was comfortable but I could have done with a second pillow. Location is great just 3 minutes from Rogier subway station about 15 mins to central station on foot. I will make a point of saying that the area is safe. Even big brand hotels have properties meters away from this hotel. I will return to this property next time I visit Brussells.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the side of the hotel to avoid traffic noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Maxhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhotel

Address: Blvd Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Maxhotel 1*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel housed in 9-story corner building in busy shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Maxhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxhotel Hotel Brussels
President Nord Brussels
Hotel President Nord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.