We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's an "OK" hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Maxhotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maxhotel to your Saves list
Maxhotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“It's an "OK" hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

It is quite far from where the cultural attractions are but very close to the Metro and shopping center. If you are very budget concern, this maybe a place for you but if not please go somewhere else.

You have to do every check in and check out your self, there is only 1 staff who would help you, I found that they are very helpful.

It is located in the red light district so if you are a woman traveling alone, it is not a safe location, if you traveling with friends, it's good.

Should I would come back to Brussels, I would pick another hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    261
    61
    20
    11
See reviews for
24
260
74
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Caceres, Spain
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked this hotel due to its attractive price: pretty much half the price of most hotels in Brussels, if not less. However, obviously, it lacks some commodities to offer this price.

+ Positive:

It's relatively central. Within walking distance to the historic centre of the city.
It's cheap, compared to the rest of hotels in Brussels or Belgium in general.
Rooms are spacious and furniture looks pretty new.

The street next to the one of the hotel is full of shops and clothing stores, as well as a mall with many places to eat and shop.

It is in front of a metro station that connects very well with the rest of the city.

- Negative:

You have to wait in a very small space to do the check-in through a machine, since you can't physically enter the hotel until you have a key; this is pretty annoying if you arrive tired after a long journey, which is quite likely. Also, you can't do the check-in until 15:00, even if your room is already made, as the machine won't let you do so until that hour.

Even though it was past 15:00, we still had to wait in that little space for our room to be ready, we were exhausted and we just wanted to leave our things.

You can't open the windows of the room, not even a little bit and our room had a lot of flies as it seemed to have been made in a rush after we arrived...

We refused the only cleaning we had (in our 2nd day) by mistake but I don't know how intensive is their cleaning since we found a flashlight under one of our beds in our last day, I guess it belonged to the previous guest. Do they really clean under the beds?

The hotel isn't necessarily in a bad neighborhood I suppose, but it is certainly surrounded by sex-shops and certain types of "clubs"..., this attracted very creepy and strange people to the area. I don't know if I'd be comfortable walking around if I was travelling alone.

Doors are pretty noisy in the sense that when a gust closes one it will make a lot of noise, which is inconvenient at night.

Beds were fine but the pillow... WORST PILLOW I've ever rest my head on. Seriously, I could feel all the chunks of foam inside the fabric. Absolute nightmare of a pillow, please, if anyone from the hotel is reading this: CHANGE THEM as soon as you can.

They don't offer the possibility of breakfast, they just have vending machines, which is fine I guess but coffee was very watery and a little overpriced.

Beware, they don't offer any shower gel or shampoo, so bring your own or you'll have to pay for it at the hotel. Also, the shower didn't have any shelf to put your sponge or shower gel which made shower uncomfortable.

Summing up, it does the job as a place to sleep but some of the things it lacks can make your stay a little less comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Levis, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I have spent two nights in a twin bed room with a friend. The room was clean and modern. It was quiet in the hotel. We used the staff services for some troubles with the self-service machines. In general, the staff was kind. The location is okay, not far from the "Grand Place" and we (2 girls) had no problem walking on the street where is located the hotel at night. This is a place I could recommand if you don't look for a great atmosphere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
101 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We liked the idea of the Maxhotel -- very simple but in a good location, price is a good deal because the hotel doesn't have a lobby or staff, just automated check in and lots of self-serve. For example, to get internet, you buy a card from a vending machine that also sells toiletries and extra bedding! If you arrive before check in, you use a (coin operated) locker for your left luggage. Check in is from a vending machine.

In practice, didn't work so well...one of the check in machines was broken and the other one didn't work very well, ended up a staff person had to come down and help everyone check in, and it took a very long time (during which there was no where to sit because no lobby!).

The room was very basic, but clean and comfortable. Internet worked fine (once you paid for it). There's no early check in, so if you're on the morning train you'll have to spring for a locker and kill a couple of hours (I think the locker was like EUR2 or 3).

Location is good. 10-min walk from the North Train Station. The area around the North Station is kind of a red light district, which extends all the way to the hotel, so your initial impression will likely not be positive, but actually from the hotel south towards the historic center of Brussels, the walk is very nice. The hotel is maybe 15-min walk from the main square, which is great, and also is adjacent to a subway stop on the line that goes to the South station, so the location is pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

ARRIVAL:
Arrived at the hotel and checked in with no hassle on the self-service machines, all with clear instructions in English. A member of staff was round the corner in case there was a technical error. Very technology based hotel with vending machines to provide you extra pillows/duvets etc at a cost and of course the check-in/out was all done yourself, so no communication with staff necessary.

ROOM:
I found the pillows extremely lumpy and soft so didn't sleep fantastically but the room and bathroom was spotless with an excellently powered shower, although the shower curtain was a nuisance and kept clinging on to you! :)
We were on a floor with some ridiculously behaved 'men' who came in at 4am shouting and singing the odds until around 9/10am! No staff seemed to intervene until it was time for the cleaners, so unfortunately noisy neighbours made sleeping pretty poor.

There was a slight lack of storage but we only stayed 2 nights so kept clothing in the case and used the 2 hangers wisely which were on a makeshift style wardrobe.
The view was of the corner street below so wasn't noisy and we were 4 flights up, however we got a fantastic sighting of people shopping in and living above the shop named 'Bimbo'.

ATTRACTIONS:
We got a 48 metro ticket to save money as you could jump on and off whenever and wherever you liked over 2 days! Perfect for the spontaneous trips! The hotel is pretty close to the centre by walking (15 min I'd say) but the metro is super easy-peasy and quicker.
Would recommend a visit to the Atomium. Very interesting building and fun for an hour or so. Another attraction is the Cantillon brewery - again, interesting but the taste of their beers is most different and the staff were very friendly and spoke fab English.

Overall a good, basic budget hotel which was super clean!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed for two nights at the Maxhotel with my sister, in between passing through other countries. Although this property is rated as a "one-star" hotel, the pictures and reviews sold me--and I wasn't disappointed. For less than $100 USD a night (which is a steal), the room is quite spacious, very clean, modern, and the bathroom has an excellent rain shower. Although this hotel is boasted as "self-service," I did use the help of the attendant on duty several times--from checking in (apparently, a new system in Europe requires many people to have a "chip" on their credit card for self-service machines...something that Americans do not have), to getting directions, maps and booking an early morning cab. If I had to point out a negative, while the area that the Maxhotel is located in is bustling with a mall behind it, several nearby metro stops and a few restaurants, it is slightly out of the old-town/where-you-want-to-go in Brussels (about a 15 minute walk). Other than that small detail, I can't speak highly enough of this hotel.

Room Tip: Both Wifi and TV are available for a charge (5/10 euros a night).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I did a day trip to Brussels en route from Paris to Amsterdam.

Pros: (1) Cheap! We were very surprised that this was a "one star" hotel. We were fortunate enough to get a corner bedroom with a wrap-around window, so I assume we had it better than most. (2) Check-in and check-out were a breeze, and although there's no formal front desk, there is always an English speaking staff member in the back office to assist you, if needed. (3) The room was clean, modern, and minimalistic. It had everything we needed for a one night stay, including towels. We travel with our own amenities, so the lack of soap and shampoo was not an issue for us. (4) The room was the largest room we stayed in during our 4 country treck through Europe, equipped with a flat screen TV! Imagine our surprise! (5) Walking distance to the main tourist attraction: The Palace! (6) There is a very clean common area where vending machines house any last minute amenities you may need, including WiFi passwords for a fee. (7) The electricity in the room is generated when your key card is placed in the designated slot inside of your room... this is such a great concept in that it keeps their overhead costs down for electricity, making it more affordable to charge lower rates per night.

Cons: (1) The surrounding area "seemed" sketchy. There are numerous adult stores nearby, which always makes a place seem dodgy. (2) The front doors close after a certain hour, so you must make it back from the bars by a certain time. (3) Not a good place to stay with children.

Verdict:
Would I stay here again? Yes, however, Belgium was once in a lifetime for us.
Would I recommend this place to a friend? Yes, if they can reserve a corner room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhotel

Address: Blvd Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Maxhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel housed in 9-story corner building in busy shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maxhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxhotel Hotel Brussels
President Nord Brussels
Hotel President Nord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.