We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good convenient option, near the Nord station” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maxhotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maxhotel to your Saves list
Maxhotel
1.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #53 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
NJ
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Good convenient option, near the Nord station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

You should know that this is “self-service” hotel, meaning there is a not a large staff that is around to check you in etc. There is no front desk. You are expected to check in via the touch screen computer in the hallway, which will dispense your room number and key after you do a few things (be sure to have your confirmation number). This is a place for people to be independent. If you are someone who finds themselves calling, complaining, and/or relying on hotel staff regularly, then you should probably find somewhere else. However, if something goes wrong, they do have (at least) one person available (at all times). Actually I had someone help me check in both times I attempted to do so (first I had a problem with my confirmation number during early check in, then she just came over to assist me when I was doing the full check in later), and easily found someone downstairs when I wanted to buy Internet access. I also saw the person helping other people when I was entering or leaving the lobby (so you are not completely on your own).

Checkin is at 3pm, checkout by 11am

If you arrive early or need to hang around the city after checkout, this hotel has its own private lockers (costs 2 euros). I used one of the larger sized lockers, as they have varying sizes, and it could fit my suitcase, backpack, and laptop bag in it. So that is convenient. I also prefer to be able to lock my stuff away rather than have my bags thrown into some random room with everybody elses bags and not knowing how secure the room really is.

Room was small, but I expected that, but nice, modern and clean.

Internet costs extra – 5 euros for 24 hours. Not bad, except it did disconnect me repeatedly. Then you would have to reconnect. This was annoying, but the signal was strong when you were connected, and I was on the 6th floor.

There is also a lounge area with vending machines, places to sit, bathrooms and showers. Nice touch for when you no longer have access to your room but have not left to your next destination yet.

Location is fine and very convenient – there are a couple of seedy stores a block away, but in general it is a main street with regular stores just a block away. It is right across from the Metro Rogiers station, and a short walk from Brussels-Nord station.

Towels are provided – but bring your own soap and shampoo.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    261
    61
    20
    11
See reviews for
24
260
74
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

I stayed at Maxhotel for a long weekend in Brussels, paying about €55 per night, which I consider to be great value considering the convenient, central location of the hotel and its high room standards.

The automated check-in was fairly straightforward, although at the end of a long day it might seem like hard work to have to enter all of your details. There was a member of staff near the entrance at all times during my stay. Beware of allowing friends to visit your room, as this may prompt unsavory accusations!

As has been mentioned in other reviews, you have to pay for cleaning, TV, Internet, etc. but I did not need any of these and I was very pleased with the room itself, in particular the toilet and shower which were significantly nicer than what you would expect to find in an Ibis or similar. The climate control unit in the room was quite sophisticated and I found it easy to use. The room was too hot for me upon arrival but I was able to adjust the level of ventilation as well as the temperature, which was nice.

The items available from the vending machines at the hotel did not seem outrageously priced like others have suggested, but obviously they are more expensive than the local convenience store. There are a couple of fast food places near the hotel but nothing especially inspiring, with the possible exception of Belgian chain Exki, which sells predominantly vegetarian soups, salads and quiches etc.

I can see why some people might feel slightly intimidated walking along the nearby streets at night, however I did not personally feel unsafe walking in the vicinity of the hotel. There was the occasional beggar and as with any city centre it is important to be vigilant and keep a low profile.

Room Tip: The corner rooms allegedly have the best views. You can request such a room in the comments section...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The bathroom was very clean but lacked any amenities. No soaps, shampoo, etc. No shelf for bath items.

All "extras" are more. Much more. Wifi, television, crazy prices for drinks and food from vending machines.

The room was dismal, much like the weather and people and area. Gray, black and white. No art on the wall, no color. Sterile. However, a perfect match for this city.

Do NOT walk the Boulevard Adolphe Max Laan alone. Frightening and depressing. Exit the hotel and make three quick right turns to another street that will take you to the Grand Place, about a 15 minute walk from this hotel.

If you don't speak French, you will be snubbed in most places. Quite comical.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

I've stayed 2 days in this hotel an d I really loved it!
Everything is automatic, and you have to use machines even for check-in, but it is so easy and at least funny. The location is perfect, very close to the metro and just a few minutes walking from Grand Place. My bed was soooo comfortable, and the shower was perfect. Much better than others I've stayed in hole Europe. I had a great time there.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Well enjoyed my stay at Max Hotel, to start with it was well located 10 mins walk from central through some beautiful streets, if you are not up for walking get into metro 5 mins you are there at Hotel. check in process was quite simple no need to wait for some once attention, fully automated 2 mins you are done with keys in your hand. clean, modern and attractive, best part is the lounge where you can play, chat, eat etc (allowed to take food from out side). great locality with many fast food takeaways (McDonalds, Pizza Hut, wagamama etc). this place doesn't disappoint shoppers, right behind a very big shopping mall City 2 for shopping. finally check out process is very simple 30 secs done. Overall 3 star service hotel at budget price very satisfied and enjoyed my stay.
little tip: book directly on max hotel website to get cheaper advanced booking roomsand to save couple of quid on city taxes.

Room Tip: am sure all the rooms have got good city view beacause the way it built.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As you may know, Brussels is quite expensive and unless you're travelling in a bigger group and you can afford an apartment, hotels are problematic.
However, MaxHotel proved to be a great choice. Excellent location, only a 10 minutes walk to the Bourse and Grand Place and if you're not that into walking Rogier station is only 2 minutes away. The mall is right behind the hotel and the shopping street starts in the same place and ends at the Bourse.
The room was bigger than we expected, much like a regular hotel. Very clean and tidy, minimal furniture which isn't a problem if you're staying for a short time. The cleaning service changed the towels and soap daily.
The self check-in is a great idea. The machines work perfectly and accept all credit cards. You instantly get the room key and can ask for another one. Although it's not necessary, there's always someone at the reception in case you need something.
On level 1 you'll find a large hangout place with vending machines for tea, coffee, food, juice, alcohol and cleaning supplies. There's also a computer with internet access. Plus safe lockers and bathrooms.
Overall it's a great affordable stay for anyone on a budget but who also cares about cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Loved the self service checkin! As well as the checkout...everything worked out perfectly...arrived at 11 am and the machine had no problems in giving me an early checkin! ... The room was perfect as well; clean, neat and very modern. I had no problems with the tv as I speak Spanish, and all of the Spanish channels were free! However if you want English ones you have to pay. There's internet you can buy, however it was quite annoying as it kept disconnecting....wouldn't get it next time. There's also a good public area on level 1 with tables and vending machines (selling food, drink and amenities).

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maxhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maxhotel

Address: Blvd Adolphe Max 107, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Maxhotel 1*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Contemporary Hotel housed in 9-story corner building in busy shopping & business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Maxhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maxhotel Hotel Brussels
President Nord Brussels
Hotel President Nord

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maxhotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.