We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For one night ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg to your Saves list
NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue d'Assaut, 15 | City Center, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly NH Grand Place Arenberg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #66 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“For one night ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

During a business trip in january I stayed at the NH Grand Place Arenberg. The first negative thing was the parking garage. Any car bigger then a VW Golf has to be super careful not to hit the car. Exit from the garage is only possbile if you climb the ramp.
Check In was easy, but when I got to my room, my key didn't work and I had to go to the reception again. The staff was very friendly. WLAN is free. The rooms are small and quite cold. Heating didn't work. The shower was an adventure due to the fact that there was almost no water pressure and a plastic curtain (I spare you the details). Breakfast was ok, but Euro 21 is expensive.

The hotel for sure has seen already better times and a renovation would be good.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

975 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    476
    193
    79
    29
See reviews for
91
452
37
173
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vaxjo, Sweden
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very close to Brussels Centraal, the hotel is a bit decaying but still in acceptable shape.
Staff at the reception is very nice and helpful. The renovated rooms have good bathroom facilities. A special mention to the toilette articles which are very good.
The rooms towards the street are very noisy and the bus stop is just under the windows.
When I got into my room it was very cold and I had to turn on the heating myself to make it a bit more cozy.
The TV was "ancient" with some international channels.

Room Tip: If possible choose a room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel is ideally located for the tourist - a 5 minute walk from the Grand Place and from the Central station. It is a genuine 4 star hotel. The breakfast buffet is outstanding and the staff were very friendly and helpful.
The most amazing thing about our stay here was that I had booked it on the internet at a particular rate, and when I went to pay the bill at check-out, the supervisor told me that they had a better rate currently, and that he would give us that - 10 euros/night less!! Have never experienced this before!
We would definitley return to theis hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I'm a little surprised about the positive nature of previous reviews. The only positive I can think of is the location. It is very close to Grand Place so you can't get any better.
Negatives:
1. Overpowering cinnamon air fresher in the lobby. Are they trying to hide a foul smell?
2. I can't remember the last time I didn't have a flat screen tv in my hotel room. Or wait... I can ... in NH Grand Place
3. The size of the bath tub in our room was tailored to the size of an 8 year old. I have never seen such a tiny bath tub ... ever
4. The window frames also desperately need an upgrade. Our windows opened spontaneously on 2 occasions during our stay.
5. We were asked on check-out to pay an additional € 7.15/day 'city tax'. The girl at the reception told us we were not the only guests taken by surprise. Well, it might be a good idea then to inform guests on booking/check-in, right?
6. Lastly, our sheets were not even changed once during a stay of over 1 week.
Overall, very disappointing. We have been staying in Brussels many years over the Christmas period and won't be returning to this hotel. There are better deals out there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Hotel was booked by my employer for a one night stay. Nice loccation. Decor of hotel and rooms is nice, spacious bathroom. The room itself is rather small as the beds. Wide selection of food and beverages at breakfast buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My partner and I booked this in preference to other hotels due to its location close to the Grand Place. As we only had a couple of days, we didn't want to waste time moving to and from the hotel.

Reception very friendly and helpful and had arranged a car parking space as requested however it was almost a disaster with the car - It has an underground car park but be warned; in common with many European hotels, you may need to recce the car park beforehand to ensure you can actually get your vehicle in and out again without damage - the slope was extreme - so much so I feared for my clutch on the way up. There were also blind, tight corners to negotiate. In addition the ramp angle will preclude the use of anything even remotely sporty as you will get your front splitter smashed to pieces. Oh and do be careful opening a tailgate - low ceilings and sprinkler pipework everywhere!

The room was very nice - lots of sitting room and the bed was absolutely enormous - comically so and is probably the widest bed I've ever slept in! Storage space was plentiful and it had a very nice deep tub to relax in.....although not quite big enough for two though.... :-) Noise isolation was OK – not great but OK and the most noticable intrusion was traffic noise from Rue d´Assaut. but hey this is a hotel not your house. Linen was clean and fresh and overall the room had a high quality feel, as did the hotel in general.

Checkout was delayed due to issues with paperwork and checking out other reviews, this appears to be a common problem here.

If you are crafty about how and when you book, this hotel offers exceptional value. It's in an excellent location and close to Gare Central and Grand Place

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Depending on the rate you get, this hotel offers great value, in an excellent location. We take the train to Gare Central, and it is a very brief walk. The location was great for day trips by train, using the Meteo around the city or walking.
The room we had was renovated and new and modern. It was nicely done, with two exceptions other reviewers noted. First, our "double" was two twins pushed together, but they were on casters so even the slightest movement, caused them to roll apart. Second, the air conditioner was turned off, and the room has no other ventilation and with the windows closed, the room became quite clamy. You can see early signs of mould developing in the room, which is a shame for a newly remodeled property.
The reception staff were all very pleasant and willing to respond to all questions in a positive manner.
We would return and recommend the hotel, but would want to seem something done about the beds and the air circulation.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg

Address: Rue d'Assaut, 15 | City Center, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly NH Grand Place Arenberg)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg offers an ideal location in the historical and commercial center of Brussels. The famous Grand Place and the Central Station, with local and international lines, are within a five-minute walk from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, NHHotels, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Grand Place Arenberg Hotel Brussels
Nh Hotels Brussels
Nh Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Bruxelles Grand Place Arenberg, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.