We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Windsor Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Windsor Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5 Rue Duquesnoy, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #62 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at this hotel. The position of it is superb just off the Grand Place. The staff were excellent - very courteous & every request dealt with promptly and with no fuss. We had asked for a quiet room which we got - on a high floor at the back of the hotel but it was still noisy on the Saturday night. The breakfast was very expensive but we were given vouchers for buy one get one half price so tried it one morning & it was excellent.
One slight negative - the room was a bit too warm.

Room Tip: Rooms at back & on higher floors are quieter. We had tea & coffee, free wifi & a safe i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Elliotsmum,

We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time to share your experiences at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

It was a pleasure to read your impressions regarding our property and its central location. Your satisfaction regarding the staffs’ service’s affability is most important for us, and I will be happy to share your comments with all of them.

We are also pleased to read that you enjoyed our special offer regarding our buffet Breakfast.

Please rest assured we have taken good note of your remarks in relation to the air-conditioning and the necessary actions have been taken in order to avoid reoccurrence.

We look very much forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

Yours sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    542
    290
    116
    75
See reviews for
127
580
103
294
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Spring
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed one very expensive night at Royal Windsor Hotel. It was great to just roll our luggage the short distance from the train station. And the Grand Place and many other areas were quite accessible. Unfortunately, we stayed during a huge seafood convention so the rates were crazy.

The bed was comfortable and we had no road noise. The room is quite dark and since our room opened onto the ceiling of the building with no view, it really did seem dark. The weather was pretty and cool, but the hotel was overheated, in my opinion. The concierge and the staff in the bar were all pleasant.

We did not eat in the hotel, but went to a tiny cafe directly across the street with an outgoing and friendly proprietor who served fresh squeezed orange juice and croissants at a modest price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear janefromtexas,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post this nice feedback about your recent stay with us.

We were truly delighted to read how much you enjoyed the services of our concierge and our staff at the Waterloo Bar, your calm room as well as the central location of the hotel.

Rest assured I have taken good note of your different remarks.

We look forward to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place.

With my best regards,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at the Royal Windsor and were given a beautiful, recently refurbished room that was bigger than my London flat! There was no street noise despite being on the street side, the Bulgari toiletries were a lovely touch and the bed was huge and comfortable.

Location is absolutely ideal for Grand Place and Central station, you are 2 minutes from both (at an amble).

The staff were what made this trip memorable, though, we were treated with consummate courtesy. We couldn't get the safe to work and 2 minutes after calling reception someone was at our door to fix it. The housekeeping mistook us for a newlywed couple due to stay in that room and left us a bottle of complimentary wine. After we corrected them and tried to give it back they wouldn't hear of it and insisted we keep it. It seems like a small thing but at the time was much appreciated.

Every member of staff we met was friendly and helpful and extremely professional. I won't be staying anywhere else in future trips to Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear Elissa R,

I thank you for sharing your feedback on Tripadvisor and I am very pleased to learn that you had an overall satisfactory experience and that you enjoyed our very central location as well as the exceptional service of our staff.

My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place for your next stay in Brussels.

Yours truly,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of the place is perfect . Few steps from the train station and the Grand Place . The rooms are however pretty worn down , and even though the hotel looks pretty classy , it's glory days passed some years ago . With a refurbishment this hotel would be perfect . But still , perfect location , clean , helpfull staff so overall good , but not 5*

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear JeanJ1311,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and we were pleased to read you enjoyed our central location as well as your room.

Looking forward to your next visit to Brussels or within other Warwick Hotels

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of the Royal Windsor Hotel is great. Really within walking distance of the Grand Place. The hotel is good. Not outstanding, not average, not very good, but just good. The rooms are clean, the beds are good. One thing: if you are over 1,95cm the ceiling of the bathroom, when standing in the bath, is rather low.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Dear JeanJ1311,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback with us and we were pleased to read you enjoyed our central location as well as your room.

Looking forward to your next visit to Brussels or within other Warwick Hotels

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
240 helpful votes 240 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location is perfect, you are in within a block ½ of the Central Train Station which is perfect and just a couple of blocks in any direction for all the tourist spots. The room was a bit on the small side, and the bathtub was as well only that it seemed narrow to me because the shower curtain was fabric and needed to be put on the inside of the tub and it kept sticking to us, but water pressure and hot water was good. The windows opened up for some fresh air which I appreciated and there were slippers for two, bathrobe for one (?) the TV never worked very well, it kept resetting itself, not that we were there to watch TV but being a little over a week in Morocco with no TV or news, wanted to catch up at night on what was going on in the world. We called downstairs and were promised that it would be fixed the next day but it wasn’t. We had also purchased a bottle of wine to have one evening, and called down to get a wine bottle opener, there was a knock on the door a few minutes later and when we took the wine opener, the person said that we couldn’t keep it as it was the only one the hotel had (?What?) too funny!

On one occasion, we stepped into the hotel from shopping to ask where the nearest ATM was, the front desk attendant acted like we had the plague and with a disapproving snare he reluctantly gave us directions, we then headed to the elevator to drop off some packages and when we got back down he was all smiles and fumbling over himself to be helpful and nice….yea, whatever. Then, later that night, we were packing for an early flight out and the lights in the hotel kept going off for at least 15-20 min. at a time and this happened about 3-4 times. Never was there a call, explanation or an apology and when we checked out the next morning and mentioned it, it was just “oh yes, I heard about that”. The bed to us was comfortable enough and the room and bathroom were clean. The only reason I would stay here again would be for the location, this is not a 5 star hotel or service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear boo2U,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us and I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your room and our central location.

Obviously, I was really sorry to hear about some of the issues you encountered; especially the way your room was prepared (one bathrobe instead of two) as well as the service provided.
Let me apologies for the inconveniences caused to you stay regarding the relevant points in your feedback.

My colleagues and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand’ Place – Brussels. Please fell free to contact me in order to oversee your next stay with us. jvitu@warwickhotels.com

Yours truly,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager – Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patchogue, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Situated in the heart of the old city, right near all the beer, waffles and Frites you could ever want.

Safe location, wonderful lobby and the bellman was very attentive to our needs. This was our first time in Brussels and we were looking for a little more for the money, however the room was clean (Except for the glassware) The bed and shower were big enough for a 6 foot 3 inch american to feel comfortable.

We don't have any complaints other than the pricing of food at this well appointed hotel.

We stayed in the Business Primer room which gave us an updated and well furnished, although small room that was comfortable for our needs.

The bed was the only soar spot. Worn and mushy this needs to be addressed as both my wife and I were not able to sleep comfortably due to the mattress.

One NOTE for housekeeping - Check the glassware for stains and be more attentive when you open and close the cabinets in the hallway during your morning rounds. We heard the housekeeping personnel open and close (slam) the hallway storage closets 20 times over the course of the two hours we tried to sleep.

Room Tip: Business Premier room was new and well appointed for a longer stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques V, Directeur général at Royal Windsor Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear dan z,

I would like to thank you for this comment about our hotel and I’m pleased to read you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, its central location and the friendliness of our bellman.

Obviously, we sincerely regret the inconvenience caused due to the noise of our housekeeping on the early morning. Rest assured this situation is most unusual and does not reflect our usual standard of service. In order to avoid such inconvenience in the future, I have shared your review with our Housekeeping Manager.

We would very much like to recreate your faith into our service, to that effect please do not hesitate to announce your forthcoming so that I can oversee your stay personally. jvitu@warwickhotels.com

With my repeated apologies for this unusual situation.

Sincerely,

Jacques Vitu
Regional General Manager - Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Windsor Hotel

Address: 5 Rue Duquesnoy, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Royal Windsor Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 267
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant and sophisticated, the Royal Windsor Hotel Grand Place Brussels boasts the best location in Brussels. Just off the world-famous Grand Place and only 150 meters from the “Square” congress centre, this Brussels hotel is within walking distance from Brussels' Central Station, the Antique Market on the Sablon, the Royal Covered Galleries and Brussels' Royal Palace Gardens. Brussels' Zaventem Airport is only a 20-minute journey away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Royal Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Windsor Brussels
Hotel Royal Windsor

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.