We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like beer, you need to find this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Moeder Lambic Fontainas

Moeder Lambic Fontainas
8 place Fontainas, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 503 60 68
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 2,570 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If you like beer, you need to find this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My daughter and I were passing through Brussels on the way to Amsterdam. I found the reviews and said "this is the place for me." Great helpful service - selecting a delicious beer here is easy but finding the one for you is greatly simplified by the excellent servers. A wide range of interesting beers, mostly from Belgium. Fantastic raw milk cheese plate for a snack. Definitely off the beaten tourist path, unless those tourists are beer lovers! We were so glad we made the effort to find this place. Too bad Brussels is so far away from my hometown.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    311
    148
    23
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
1 review
“A Must”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

As a beer lover, I go there on a regular basis, even though it's not in my home town. Choice there is incredible with 46 craft beers on tap, with some " guests beers " changing regularly. Staff is very friendly and passionate. It doesn't matter if you're a beer connaisseur or just someone who wants to discover what craft beer is about, this place is a must go if you are in Brussels. Alltogether, all my vists there were fantastic, for the ambiance you can find there and the quality of the service provided.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A Favorite”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Moeder Lambic have two bars in Brussels, this is their second one.It's much larger than the original and more accessible for tourists because it's in the middle of town.
Really great place to go with a group because they have big tables and high ceilings.
At the moment on Saturdays from 4pm they have BBQ.

If you don't know what to order, ask the staff for help. They will probably ask you what you prefer, ie : dark/blond , how strong, bitter/sweet etc. and will try to bring you something you'll like.
The more info you give them, the better they can choose for you. Sometimes I just say, "surprise me, not too bitter". They also have guest beers on the wall which are always worth a try. Normally, the staff are also able to explain to you the flavors of the guest beers.

If you are too nervous to ask, just pick something from the small menu on the table, it is organised into different categories and tells you the strength.

Moeder Lambic is really worth a visit, it's classy but casual with a great range of beers and excellent atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very nice place with a great beer selection”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012 via mobile

This place was recommended to me by a friend prior to heading to Brussels. The beer selection was really good. With so many bars/chafes with a good beer selection in Brussels, this place stands out because of their atmosphere, music selection (RJD2!), and the free wifi at the bar. I can't comment on the food, as I only had beers there. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Large and diverse selection of Belgian beers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

Moeder Lambic was recommended to me by a Brussels colleague. Walking there from Ixelles (about 25-30 minute walk), through the Grand Place and Mannekin Pis, I was initially concerned that Moeder Lambic would be touristique. Indeed, not two blocks away are several bars that were crowded with young and noisy tourists. But, Moeder is an oasis, both of calm and for local beers. And, further, plays good music, not the insipid pop that seems to permeate many EU cities.

Moeder has about three dozen beers on tap, and many dozens (if not a couple hundred) more in bottles. Several guest taps also rotate. The beer menu is well divided by style (mild, dark, bitter or not) so one can easily choose depending on your preference.

Eat first, or come to Moeder after dinner, as the food selection is limited.

There is another branch of Moeder at rue de savoie 67, which my colleague tells me is more intimate. Given the excellent selection at the Place Fontainas location, the Savoie location is likely well worth a visit too.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Moeder Lambic Fontainas also viewed

 

Been to Moeder Lambic Fontainas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moeder Lambic Fontainas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.