We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, just that...” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Public Aquarium of Brussels

Public Aquarium of Brussels
Av. E. Bossaert, 27, Brussels 1081, Belgium
0 32 (0)2 414 02 09
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 206 Attractions in Brussels
Attraction details
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Ok, just that...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

It's ok, but not much! Specially if you've been to other bigger aquariums...the fish are beautiful and everything but it's not so big and with an amazing infra structure as I thought it would be...actually I only went because it was close to some other I was going and it was included in the Brussels card I had bought!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    10
    6
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Nice birthday party”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This was nice idea of one of my daugher's friends for a birthday party. To be recommended. Etienne. .

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles, Belgique
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“For the fish fans”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

I am living in Brussels and did not know about that aquarium. It was really worth visiting it.There were about 50 different aquariums with different fish species from the world. It's situated a bit outside of the center of the city but easy to access by public transportation. I spend about two hours to look at all. Really recommended.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Interesting but overpriced, especially for the youngest”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

There are some very good things about this aquarium. The audio guide provided many interesting details about the species in each tank. It's also kind of cool that the aquarium focuses on freshwater fish. It seems like most aquariums are more into saltwater fish. However, because they charge for even very young children if they are slightly tall (they don't just go by the age of the child, but by height, and our average-sized four year old was 5 cm too tall to get in free), I felt that the euro-value was low. Very little of the exhibit was enjoyable for her, and in fact the people who worked there gave her something to draw with during her visit...which means that they expected that it wouldn't be engaging for her.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Somewhat of a dissapointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Having visited more than a couple of aquariums this, one doesn't really have much to show. Its smaller than the London aquarium, a lot smaller than the one in Creta, Greece, it's entrance fee of €8 is too much for the show. We we handed a portable devise that served as a guide and went ahead the small, confined place. The whole tour should never take more than an hour unless you're taking your sweet time with it, however there isn't really anything extraordinary about the speciments. Small fish mainly, a couple of tanks with frogs and that's it really. The place is not easy to find either and given the tendency of gps's to get crazy in Brussels this is one trip that can end up to frustrate rather than entertain. There are other lot more interesting attractions in Brussels.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Public Aquarium of Brussels also viewed

 

Been to Public Aquarium of Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Public Aquarium of Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.