We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our "let's celebrate" restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kabu - CLOSED

Kabu
Rue du Pepin, 48, Brussels, Belgium
+32 2 514 28 00
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bruxelles
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our "let's celebrate" restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011 via mobile

Kabu is from far our first choice when comes a special evening. This place is amazing : Green grass on the floor, black walls and the perfect lightning. The service is impeccable, the right timing between the courses, served in bento box. The food.... The more delicate and tasty japanese food that I know. My favorite is the eggplant and the cod. I can't recommend Kabu enough.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    5
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Modern relaxed place with innovative Japanese food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

This place is a wonderful contrast to the traditional Belgian offering in this part of Brussels. We were glad we booked since the place filled up quickly! The food is amazing; beautifully and delicately served Japanese dishes in small black bento boxes lined up on wire trays on your table. We chose three dishes each and then a dessert and each proved a real discovery. The sushi was very good with some of the best sushi rice we have tasted - and that includes our experience in Japan. The young staff provided excellent service as well as good clear explanations of the concepts behind the menu. We will definitely go back

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knokke-Heist, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“kabu please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Very good. I just missed a good old school japanese soup, but it was the best japanese I ate so far in brussels.
reasonable priced for japanese restaurant.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Simply perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

We had dinner in this restaurant conveniently located near Porte de Namur in Brussels. The atmosphere meets Japanese colors (black, natural wood) and contemporary taste (green floor). We were immediatly convinced by the menu : japanese-fusion. Our most wanted : the panfried foie gras and smoked eel. Do not miss the refined saké's. The service was young and full of attention. Reasonable pricing. Perfect for a romantic dinner. We will definitely come back.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen, Germany
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“stylish japanese restaurant - good sushi and other japanese delicacies served bento style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

we found this one on our first evening in a side street not far from our hotel. the restaurant was well filled with both locals and tourists, but as we were quite late we were lucky to find a table. when we sat down we were puzzled by two guys at the next table who addressed us saying we shouldn’t stay as the portions were too small and prices too high (they had the full menu). thankfully, we didn’t leave and had a really good meal at a reasonable price.

this is an upmarket japanese restaurant with a lot of emphasis on style, both with regards to their interior design and the presentation of food and and service - it is neither your standard sushi place nor a cheap Japanese eatery. so expect prices to be a little higher, but more than ok for what they offer.

we both had the ‘trio’, which is good value – you choose 3 different dishes out of different categories.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kabu also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kabu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.