We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine to your Saves list
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Joseph Plateau 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #77 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good value hotel, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Good hotel, good value, great location.
There was renovation work ongoing in the lobby, so the elevator-area was crowded.
Small room, but ok. Small bathroom, only one towel/person.
Clean room.
Service was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenCar, Responsable commercial at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Me and the team are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    858
    472
    95
    36
See reviews for
158
752
218
334
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here on business. Located within easy walking distance from De Brouckere and St Catherine metro stations. Renovations were being undertaken on reception during our stay, but this did not cause a problem.

Check in polite and efficient. Room small (especially shower room), but comfortable, clean and appeared recently refurbished. TV with good range of international channels, including several BBC channels. Free wifi in room which was helpful. Bed very very comfortable. Quiet despite hotel being very busy. Air con controls in room.

Breakfast - good range of choice, hot & cold buffet.

Checkout - remember to factor in city tax. Staff happy to keep our bags behind as we were travelling late.

Very good budget hotel in good central location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIbisBXLcity, Responsable commercial at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to submit a review on Tripadvisor after your stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that your experience has left a lasting positive impression.

My team and I look forward to having the pleasure in welcoming you back for a return visit!

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
156 helpful votes 156 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel is overpriced and well below expectations. The rooms are unbelievably small, it’s kind of hard to imagine what the designers were thinking. And when I say small, I mean small. The room, including bathroom, is literally about 3m by 6m – it’s unbearably claustrophobic at times. Two people cannot stand in the “bathroom” (more of a closet with a sink) without becoming “familiar” with each other, and the “wardrobe” is just a 15cm rail. The beds are small and on movable wheels, so you spend most of the night sliding about the room like a carnival attraction. I felt sorry for the staff, they seem dead inside, you’ll be lucky to get a smile out of one of them. And if you’re on the 7th floor, as we were, the lift only goes to the 6th floor. Again, I think the designers of this hotel were drunk when they envisioned this place. You have to haul your bags up a flight of stairs to get the last floor, so if you find yourself staying here, insist on a room other than the 7th floor. There is no minibar or kettle in the room, and the bathroom is only minimally equipped. There is an air conditioner, but as mentioned in some other comments, it’s has a pre-set range and resets itself if you try to change this, which defeats the purpose of an air conditioner, rendering it utterly useless.

Having said that, the location is quite good, about 5 minutes’ walk to the Grand Place (Grote Markt), with plenty of café’s and restaurants nearby. The hotel provides free wifi although the quality can be quite poor at times, as well as a decent range of English TV channels. But these are the only positives.

This hotel is the bare functional minimum, and is insultingly over priced for what you get given the rooms are the size of prison cells and a little bit dingy to be honest. Location is the only real reason to choose it. I would prefer not stay here again, and the quality and feel is more like a hostel. It might suffice if you had only one night to stay and couldn’t find anything else, but don’t stay here for a romantic break.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIbisBXLcity, Responsable commercial at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at the Ibis Centre Ste Catherine Brussels on Tripadvisor.

I was incredibly disappointed to read your review and would like to apologize personally for the problems encountered during your recent stay.

I would be very interested in talking to you directly regarding your stay and to investigate if there is anything I can do to put this right as your experience has clearly left you with a negative impression of our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Bernardo Do Campo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This is the cheaper chain hotel in Brussels. The location is outatanding, nearby Grand Place and main attractions, but in a residential neighborhood. Nice bar and people at hotel. Very very small rooms can be a problem if you are not alone.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIbisBXLcity, Responsable commercial at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time for your nice feedback on your recent stay trough the Tripadvisor website .

We are pleased to hear that you appreciated our hotel.

Looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back at our hotel on your next stay in Brussels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine is a non-surprising lower middle-class hotel. If you know ibis already, you also know this hotel. The rooms and especially the bathrooms are quite small but the rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. If you don't need a fitness center or a swimming pool, because you spend the whole day visiting the city, you should choose this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIbisBXLcity, Responsable commercial at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for taking your time to share your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor.

Me and the team are looking forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Grad Sofiya, Bulgaria
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

The hotel is absolutely casual. The rooms are small, and the price don't meet the quality. The location is very well (two minutes walk to metro station and 5-10 minutes walk to city center. I'm not fascinated from the service, we have some problems and the receptionist was not enough friendly and polite. Sleep quality was nice knowing the central location of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMIbisBXLcity, Responsable commercial at Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all I would like to thank you for writing about our hotel. Your comments help us in our efforts to improve our services.

I am sorry to learn that your experience has not been fully satisfactory.

We have taken your comments seriously and measures have been taken to improve…

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back to the hotel and demonstrate the improvements that have been made thanks to your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine

Address: Rue Joseph Plateau 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine 3*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine is located in the centre of Brussels, close to the Grand Place, 5 minutes from the metro and the railway station. The shopping centre and cultural district are a just few minutes walk away. Book one of our 236 modern and comfortable airconditioned rooms and benefit from use of our amenities, 2 meeting rooms, public pay parking, a snack bar open 24 hours and, as business guests will appreciate, WiFi Internet access. Restaurants are available nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Centre Ste Catherine

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ibis Brussels Centre Sainte Catherine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.