We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holidays” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Exe Sablon

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Exe Sablon to your Saves list
Exe Sablon
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de la Paille, 2 - 8 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Eurostars Sablon)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #124 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
barcelona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“holidays”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

clean ,centric,very good value for price
roooms are big. breakfast very tastefull
clean ,centric,very good value for price
roooms are big. breakfast very tastefull

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    64
    58
    21
    8
See reviews for
13
66
15
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I just came back from a four night stay at the Eurostarts Sablon hotel. When I first arrived in the hotel, I was given a room on the fourth floor which had no electricity. I then asked at the front desk and they offered to change my room. The room I was offered was infinitely better (301) than the first room I had and had power.

The hotel really needs renovation and the air conditioning didn´t work particularly well so I had to open the windows allot.

The breakfast was ok with the usual selection of sausage, bacon and eggs. It´s in a really nice area of town and is close to a street which is full of restaurants. The bed was quite comfortable and the free internet worked great and was very fast.

I would say that for the money it wasn´t bad but I´m not sure if I´d go back there.

Room Tip: Room 301 was quite nice....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

Dirty cutlery and glasses at breakfast, wifi not working most of the evening, crabby bath/shower, no English channel on the TV, 10 minutes to check out! Handy position and cheap breakfast, but four star?

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

Had some trouble finding this hotel. It's down a back street off the Grand Sablon square, and looks pretty non-descript. The advantage of this location is that it's reasonably quiet outside, apart from the whirr of the air-con on the office building opposite. There's also a pedestrian tunnel (that we only noticed at the end of our holiday) that gives a quick cut-through towards the centre of town.

We had been allocated a room on the 3rd floor, which smelled a bit smokey on arrival but this cleared with the window open. Air-con was tried, but didn't really seem to make a difference to the temperature of the room. Sheets on the bed were OK, but had holes in some places and bed was rock-hard, which made falling asleep rather impossible!

However, staff were generally helpful. There's no kettle in the rooms, so we were shown the hot water machine in the breakfast room - better than no tea at all, but you're better off wandering up to one of the Cafe's on the square if you want a proper cuppa (we liked Le Pain Quotioden for breakfast, as we got up too late most days for the hotel breakfast).

A couple of days into the holiday, some people arrived in the room next door and unfortunately took to making a din and smoking some rather odd smelling substances. There's a connecting door between the two rooms, and the doors into the corridor aren't particularly tightly fitting, so we smelled everything! At this point, the hotel were commendably quick to move us to another, much nicer room on the 1st floor, where the air-con worked pretty well and - whilst the bed was still rock hard - we at least had an extra pillow in the cupboard!

If I could give this hotel a 'Good' rating (3.5 stars) I would, but - apart from the very responsive and helpful customer service staff - there's nothing really to recommend here, everything's just a little disappointing for something claiming to be a 4* hotel.

Room Tip: Floor 2 is Non-Smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This hotel is great....at first sight. We arrived and they were not ready to check us in, so they gave us free coffee and we had to wait 2 hours before checking in. Then when we got to our room it was not clean from the last person who used the room, dirty bed and bathroom. Our first night there the maids forgot to lock the windows and some burglar climbed up our window snuck in (while we were sleeping) and STOLE all our purses with cellphones, iPhones, cameras, money, wallets, train tickets, etc. The security here is LOUSY. The Eurostars Sablon was nice enough to refund us and moved us to the top floor suite with free food, wifi, and telephone use to make up for the burglary. Definitely recommend somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for three reasons. I wanted somewhere cheap, close to the Palais de Justice and with free wi-fi. In that sense, it was perfect. On the other hand, the criticisms made in other reviews (which I read before booking) are all true. On arrival, the room stank, although the smell eventually dissipated after leaving the window open for some time. The bathroom was dirty and there was mould on the curtains. Occasionally it was unbearably hot and there was no air conditioning only heating. The rooms were not sound-insulated, and, yes, the bin men in the morning were noisy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Exe Sablon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Exe Sablon

Address: Rue de la Paille, 2 - 8 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Eurostars Sablon)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Exe Sablon 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Exe Sablon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eurostars Sablon Brussels
Eurostars Sablon Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Exe Sablon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.