We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short visit to Brussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Hotel Charlemagne

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added New Hotel Charlemagne to your Saves list
New Hotel Charlemagne
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   25-27 Boulevard Charlemagne | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #111 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short visit to Brussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Excellent location adjacent to the Berlaymont. Metro 2 minutes or 25 minutes walk to Central Railway Station. Marvellous staff. Underground car park a bonus in an area where easy parking was not evident.

Room Tip: availability of extra pillows. Also arrived on the hottest day of the year, so air conditioning coul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Hetty H.
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review. I am pleased to hear that you appreciated our staff and the hotel amenities such as our underground parking. I will definitely share your nice comment with the staff. We hope to welcome you again very soon.
Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    71
    43
    26
    7
See reviews for
16
65
5
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Location is good for transport or walking to the center (and there is a Noctis passing nearby) but Internet is limited to one device and not usable (~10KB/s near the door, I couldn't load GMail or facebook).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Pterjan.
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to thank you for your positive comments about the location of the hotel. Concerning the internet connection, it is dedicated to surf the web at 128 Kbits/ second and to check emails. But some guests use it to download files or movies and this can slow down the WIFI network. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Have a nice day. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Stayed here in the Schman district of Brussels for 2 nights. Good location for the EU buildings and close to Schuman station if you want to get to more central Brussels.
Staff were generally polite and helpful.
Hotel rooms were clean with plenty of space.
Bathroom was average- sadly couldn't get the shower working so had to resort to a bath instead. We didn't report this as we were only there for 2 days but would have done so if there for longer.
Think the bathrooms could be updated a little as they seemed a but shabby....however it was
Purely cosmetic and I can't fault the cleanliness!
Satellite tv worked well and we were able t access several uk channels which was handy.

Not an overly central location for the tourist attractions but all in all a good stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Samzie24.
Thank you for the review you posted. I am happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us. Regarding your review I will share your kind words about the cleanliness of the guest rooms with the Housekeeping staff. The staff loves to hear such nice feedbacks and this certainly will make their day! I am sorry that you could not report the issue you had with the shower. We would have found a solution for you. We hope to welcome you in the near future when you will be back in town! Warm regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The hotel has a 'Boutique' feel to it, very comfortable surroundings and well appointed rooms (I had 807 on, yup, the 8th floor). Due to shortage of staff there was no food available in evening BUT there are plenty of pubs cafes and restaurants of all persuasions in close proximity (you are at the heart of EU Town!!!)

The room was serviced every day by very pleasant staff who did an impeccable job.

It is well placed being about 5 mins from the Metro but of the main road.

BIG TIP it's €25 for a taxi to the airport BUT if you take the metro 3 stops to Central and then the Airport train that stops INSIDE the airport it costs just under €10

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Stop32.
Thank you for providing comments on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel in the Heart of the EU Business Quarter as well as our guest rooms. We sincerely hope we will welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I had a confirmed reservation for two rooms on 14 May 2013. On arrival in the evening I was notified that the hotel was overbooked and no rooms were available. Although an alternative hotel was found in another part of the city, this was extemely annoying, shouldn't have happened, cost alot of extra time and stress and was very inconvenient.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Albert D.
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your experience. I understand that the mistake that the Reservation Department has made was annoying. We apologize for the inconvenience caused.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I just came back from this hotel and here are my impressions:

+ quite; staff was polite; rooms are big; good location (if you are hear for EU institutions)

- you only get one account for free wi-fi (if both of you want to use internet at the same time, you cannot unless you get additional password); there was dust on usual places; shower door was missing; one morning both elevators were not working

One tip for the end: do not pay for the breakfast, you can get cheaper ones in the cafes and shops nearby.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear ivanb22.
Thank you for providing nice comments on your recent stay at the Newhotel Charlemagne. Even though we are glad to hear that you enjoyed our staff, the hotel convenient location, we regret to hear of your dissatisfaction with our breakfast service. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced due to the dust you have found in your room and the missing shower door. Regarding the elevators it was a technical problem that we have solved directly. We hope sincerely to welcome you again soon.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longwy, France
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

very well placed in the EU institutions quarter.
very quiet, clean and spacious rooms.
nice service.
main items for the breakfast.
close to restaurants and bars.
metro and train stations are only 5mn walk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hans_Rientjes, Director at New Hotel Charlemagne, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Nani1176.
Thank you for the feedback concerning your recent stay in the Newhotel Charlemagne, Brussels. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location at the Heart of the EU Business Quarter, our guest rooms as well as our Breakfast Buffet.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to New Hotel Charlemagne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hotel Charlemagne

Address: 25-27 Boulevard Charlemagne | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#53 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — New Hotel Charlemagne 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Fastbooking and Tingo so you can book your New Hotel Charlemagne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Hotel Charlemagne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.