We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, nice clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Brussels Grand Place to your Saves list
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 rue du Marche Aux Herbes | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #30 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great location, nice clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This hotel has a great location in the center of brussels.
We had a Executive room , what is a bit overpriced but it sure are nice rooms :)
With a great bathroom and nice beds.
The breakfast is also very good.
This is a hotel you sure come back to.


Only points are that their administration could go better.
They booked the hotel under my friends name, even though i payed and booked it.
so it was difficult to find it back and gave me a bit stress before departure :)

And that the wifi connection wasn't that good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, Directeur général at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Mortier_Sofie,

Many thanks for posting a review and for the positive feedback!

It is great to read how much you have appreciated the location, facilities, service and breakfast at the hotel.

Thank you also for your remarks with things to improve.

We certainly hope to welcome you again at Novotel Brussels Off Grand’Place.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    522
    770
    207
    32
    15
See reviews for
585
432
98
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

You couldn't be more centrally located than here - at the heart of the city with easy access to all other areas, including the EU institutions, shopping and the sights.
The rooms are comfortable enough but this is not luxury - it is basic comfort and you get what you pay for. Breakfast was, in my case, an additional charge. My advice is to avoid it and go to one of the myriad options locally for a really good breakfast with decent coffee!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, Directeur général at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear LiberaceLondon,

Thank you for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor and for sharing details about our central location in Brussels to other guests.

Concerning Breakfast, many rates including it are indeed available booking through our websites : Novotel.com and accorhotels.com ; reduced price of breakfast is also available booking in advance via the same websites.

We certainly hope to welcome you again at Novotel Brussels Off Grand’Place.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Great location, at the heart of the city, several restaurants and attractions, very close to grand central station. Good hotel, decent room, clean. The room is not great but you can stay comfortably. Funny thing is that the toilet was on a different space than the bathroom and you do not have a sink to wash your hands there. So, once you go to the toilet you need to go to the bathroom to wash your hands. Not an issue for us but it was curious. Efficient staff (not incredible friendly but they do what they are supposed to do and solve you problems/attend your requests). I would stay there again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, Directeur général at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, November 16, 2014
Dear Slemian,

Thank you for your feedback, I'm glad you had a nice stay in Brussel and appreciated our location and rooms which are indeed perfect for families and business trips. We are indeed Ideally located.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Novotel Brussels Off Grand'Place for your next stay in Brussels.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Arrived at 8 AM for a *very* early check-in, and amazingly enough, a room was just made available! If this was not enough, it was an upgrade from my original booking! This allowed me to freshen up before an important meeting. Big thanks to David (the receptionist) for an amazingly prompt and friendly service!

A welcome gift and a letter from the hotel manager were later placed on my desk (probably due to my status with Accor Club...).

The room was comfortable, new and clean. Nothing too exciting in terms of design or comfort, but it struck me as a very quiet place (I was on the fourth floor) considering the fact that the hotel is located right in the hears of the old town and next to the central train station. Location a big winner!

Overall a good business hotel, worth a visit if location is important

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, Directeur général at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Melafafon,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place during your stay in Brussels and for sharing your impressions with us.

I am really glad to read you enjoyed our quality of services and our central location in Brussels.

We thank you to be faithful to the Accor group, and look forward to welcoming you again in Brussels very soon.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West London/Surrey
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
248 helpful votes 248 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

You will be fine at the Novotel Grand Place, just don't expect anything too special.

Location is excellent, you are a couple of minutes walk from the Grand Place, and an abundance of shops and restaurants are very close by. Central Station is virtually next door.

I liked the room, it was a nice size and was clean and in good condition. The toilet is seperate from the main bathroom, which had a bath and a shower. Good aircon. There was free tea and coffee, but two small bottles of water in the mini bar/fridge with a note 'Please Enjoy these for 3.50 Euro" !! , If they are saying 'Please enjoy....' , I was expecting it to say they were complimentary, who would pay 3.50 for a bottle of water they can get for a quarter of the price in the supermarket?!

17 Euro for breakfast was way too much, you can get much better breakfast for half that in many places outside the hotel, and have a more calming experience. Most of the clientele in this hotel seem to be tourists, and the breakfast area was chaotic. It also somehow had a cheap feel to it, I'm not sure exactly why, maybe it was the tables and chairs or how the buffet was laid out, but I have eaten breakfast in dozens of hotels, and this one just felt cheap, which at 17 Euro it was not!

To summarise, nothing majorly wrong with this hotel, you will be ok staying here, and location cannot be beaten in Brussels.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, Directeur général at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear AFCW,

I would like to thank you for choosing the Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place during your stay in Brussels and for sharing your impressions with us.

I am really glad to read you enjoyed our central location in Brussels but I am sorry that on this occasion you were not completely satisfied with your stay with us.

I appreciate your feedback, and I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future and provide you with a genuine hassle-free experience

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Great location in the heart of Brussels. Staff were very accommodating. We had to stay an extra night due to a rail strike in Belgium -- no problem! Rooms were very nice, modern and clean. Lobby was very modern and inviting. Would definitely stay there again. Prices were great value!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, Directeur général at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Dear Gary L,

Many thanks for posting a review and for the positive feedback!

It is great to read how much you have appreciated the location and facilities at the hotel.

We certainly hope to welcome you again at Novotel Brussels Off Grand’Place.

Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Brussels Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Address: 120 rue du Marche Aux Herbes | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Brussels
#10 Green Hotel in Brussels
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#31 Business Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place is located right in the centre of Brussels, moments away from what is said to be the most beautiful town square in the world. Within easy reach of Central Station, this 138 room hotel combines comfort and innovation.The lobby and the Foodsquare bar brasserie share a warm and bright open space, a celebration of chic design. This 4 star hotel welcomes you in this historic area of Brussels for a weekend or short break with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Brussels Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Grand Place
Brussels Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Brussels Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.