We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Save Saved
You added Novotel Brussels Grand Place to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 rue du Marche Aux Herbes | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #24 of 194 hotels in Brussels
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
352 reviews 352 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 118 cities Reviews in 118 cities
578 helpful votes 578 helpful votes
“Great central location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The novotel Grand Place was so well located for us. We got the train from the airport and it was just a short stroll from Brussels Central station to the hotel. Ideal when you have a 4 year old travelling with you. It is literally just a stones throw from the Grand Place and the start of the open top bus tours. It took no time at all to go to the old town of Brussels. There are plenty of restaurants in the local area to eat at too.

The hotel itself was nice and clean. The room wasn't huge, but having the sofa bed put up for our daughter didn't lose too much of the floor space, and being so central it meant there was ample opportunity to run around outside. I did find the room a bit on the warm side. The air con didn't really cool the room down at all, and as it was very warm when we visited opening the window didn't do much either. By contrast it then felt chilly in reception, making me wonder whether to get a cardigan, but on leaving the hotel it was actually warm outside!

We had breakfast in the hotel. There was plenty to eat and quite a good spread, but it does get very crowded at breakfast after 9am. It was confusing, as the booklet in the room advertised breakfast finishing at 9.30am but by the lift it stated 10.30. We only noticed the latter notice on our last day!!!

The free wifi was great as it enabled us to check the weather and details of attractions without having to find the tourist information centre, especially as we arrived after the tourist information centre had shut. It also meant our daughter could watch programmes she liked in the evening after the children's TV had finished in the room.

The children's activites consisted of some computer games. I don't know if there was any choice as I only ever saw the children using it playing a football game! There were also some children's books, but we'd brought our own anyway.

There was some sort of festival on in one of the squares near to the hotel, and the music was quite loud and went on quite late. It took awhile to setlle our daughter to sleep and then get to sleep ourselves (yes, our window was shut). It was the only time we heard any noise from the street with the exception of the occassional ambulance or police car rushing by.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear gecko77

I would like to thank you for staying at our hotel with your family and for taking the time to share your impression with other travelers.

I am sorry you had to wait for the breakfast.
Please be sure we are doing our best to reduce the wait for our guests.
During weekends & school holdiays we do extend our breakfast until 10h30, this is fixed in public area & inside our elevators.

We hope that this has not bothered you too much and that you will still consider our hotel for your next visit in Brussels.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    451
    654
    180
    28
    11
See reviews for
483
360
91
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

fantastic hotel , great bedrooms , friendly staff. located very close to everything in Brussels a ten min taxi ride from train station for the Eurostar. great restaurants around the corner specialising in seafood.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Wayne R

I thank you for your positive feedback !

We look forward to welcoming you back.


Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrenville
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The location of this hotel is great for a tourist to efficiently get a taste of Belgium. It is 2 short blocks from the beautiful Grand Place, and 1 block to the Central train station with convenient trains to the airport and elsewhere. Within 4 blocks were scores of restaurants.
This was a father/adult daughter leisure stay and we had a room with a pull out sofa bed. It was clean, comfortable and quiet, and we had a window looking out but we were on a low floor so there was just some trees. That was fine. The staff was efficient and quick and very helpful. Everything worked except the Internet for about 20 minutes. Internet was free and easy. The keycards always worked, which was important because they were needed for the elevator, stairs and in-room safe.
A few small problems. The toilet and sink had separate doors (some might prefer this, we didn't.) After two days, I still had no clue which light switch turned on or off which lights. This is a pet peeve in many modern hotels, but turning lights on and off was an experiment each time.
The shower stall was quite small, and it was difficult to tell which way was hot and cold, Thus if you guess wrong, you can't get out of the way. And the floor towel for outside the shower could be a bit bigger.

Room Tip: Look for specials on the L'Accor web sites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Sharon,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and I am pleased that you did not regret your decision to stay with us at The Novotel Brussels off Grand Place.
It was our great pleasure to look after all of you. We do pride ourselves on our high level of service and are very dedicated in making each and every guest stay as special as possible.
So sorry to hear that you felt the shower was small & the system for switching on the lights complicated, please do not hesitate to ask our hotel staff about any information that you should require during your stay. They are at your service!

I do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the not too distant future and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rio de janeiro
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

My husband and I stayed at this hotel the two times we visited Brussels - the location is perfect, right off Grand Place and a 10 minute walk from the train station, which made very easy to arrive in the city and visit the beautiful near cities. Several nice restaurants and shops close by, including the famous Delirium Cafe, a paradise for beer lovers like us! We were also able to visit all the museums and touristic places by foot. The hotel itself was good, and rooms were a bit small but well-fitted. Breakfast was nice and offered freshly-squeezed orange juice, which is very rare in European hotels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Alnasc

Thank you for your review and your continued support of The Novotel Brussels off Grand Place. We are thrilled that you came back a second time. It is of course our great pleasure to take care of you. We certainly don’t want you to stay anywhere else in Brussels and will continue to work hard to make sure that remains the case. I have passed your kind words to everyone in the team and we look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Situated close to the Central station, and on the Grass market just a stone throw from Grand Place you couldn't wish for a better tourist location. The great thing for us was that it was also quiet and peaceful whilst being right on the doorstep of the tourist area.
The rooms are small but comfortable. We had a double and a sofa bed but it was not too cramped. We didn't use any of the hotel facilities as there were cafes for breakfast and restaurants only a few yards away.
Only complaint was the slow internet, but at least it was free.

Room Tip: We had a rear room which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Jon b

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am grateful for your feedback about your stay.
I look forward to seeing you again at the Novotel Brussels off Grand Place.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Mixed feelings about this place. It is clean and it is a great location. Right at Brussels Central station and very near the Grand Place.

BUT it is more like an Ibis hotel. Everything is cheap...beds, pillows, towels and cups. I know this petty but paper cups for tea and coffee and next to no supply of them. Plastic drinking cups.

The idea of a brand is a stanard you can rely on. As an advantage plus member this is simpky not good enough.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe L, General Manager at Novotel Brussels Grand Place, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Gongboy53

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I am sorry to read that your experience with us was not the way you expected.
We do appreciate your feedback, as you know it is only through continuous response from our guests that we can continuously strive to meet and improve our guest expectations.
Please be assured that we are very keen on making it right for our guests.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Brussels Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Address: 120 rue du Marche Aux Herbes | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Brussels
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#31 Business Hotel in Brussels
#36 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Grand Place 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place is located right in the centre of Brussels, moments away from what is said to be the most beautiful town square in the world. Within easy reach of Central Station, this 138 room hotel combines comfort and innovation.The lobby and the Foodsquare bar brasserie share a warm and bright open space, a celebration of chic design. This 4 star hotel welcomes you in this historic area of Brussels for a weekend or short break with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Novotel Brussels Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Grand Place
Brussels Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Brussels Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.