We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in the new NEXT rooms @ Novotel Brussels Grand Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Brussels Grand Place to your Saves list
Novotel Brussels Grand Place
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   120 rue du Marche Aux Herbes | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #28 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“First time in the new NEXT rooms @ Novotel Brussels Grand Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Our room was absoluuuutely lovely! The bathroom was hyper modern, the bed extremely comfortable, we had a lovely view over Brussels' city center and I could play my own music because there was a Bose-iPhone dock!
We also had a delicious Belgian dinner there and the breakfast buffet was diversified!
LOVELY stay!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    503
    749
    200
    28
    14
See reviews for
565
416
96
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Novotel as part of our anniversary weekend in Bruge and Brussels. We have stopped here before, both before it was renovated and after. This hotel is in a perfect location for the attractions of Brussels and for travellers arriving at the Central Station, as it is just a few minutes walk down the hill. As you would expect the hotel is ultra modern, with all the facilities you would expect and is very clean. On this occasion we had a huge room (just a pity we were there for only 1 night!) which overlooked the market place in front but wasnt noisy at all. We had a deal with breakfast included (23 euros each otherwise which sounds a bit steep but there is a huge choice of food available, all fresh, both hot and cold, and it is restocked regularly). One issue we had was with the bathroom in our room - again ultra modern but didnt have a proper shower, just a shower head attachment over the bath, which we found a little surprising as usually in modern hotels, there is always a shower but not necessarily a bath.
I think this was the 4th time we have stayed here and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012 via mobile

We had one night stay at the hotel.
The hotel was next to the central station and on the central square.
The room was very nice. Clean , comfortable with a modern touch.
Large lcd screen , nespresso coffee machine, radio and multimedia deck.
The stuff at the reception was very helpfull and polite.
If visited again Brussels , i will stay there for sure again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel fell substantially short of expectations. The room (321) has a very uncomfortable bed (with annoying, inappropriate square pillows that take up too much space) and when I asked reception for an alternative room they said all other rooms were the same. The room layout was very poor (a tiny separate toilet room, the shower too small, the bathroom only accessible by leave the door wide open as the bed is immediately adjacent). The toilet door handle is loose, as was the shower fittings. The TV was too small for a business hotel.

The fitness centre is one weights machine, a treadmill and a cycling machine. Not exactly comprehensive.

I did make these points in my feedback to Novotel (practically word for word) but their very short reply was that I should have stayed in a sister, five-star hotel. I don’t think a comfortable bed is a five-star request, nor is a room where I can get to the bathroom sink without contorting myself by the bedside.

I had stayed in the outstanding, nearby Amigo over the previous weekend. I booked both hotels at roughly the same rate so definitely go with the Amigo if you can. From the Novotel to the Square conference centre is about 3-5 minutes, from the Amigo add two minutes.
If travelling by Eurostar you can get the train (free with a valid Eurostar connecting ticket) from Gare du Midi (which is attached to Gare du Sud, the names can be seen interchangeably) to Gare Centralle in a couple of minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel location is unbeateable just 50 metres away from the Grand Place and besides the Central train station, which makes it perfect not only for visiting the tourist spots in Brussels but also for daily train trips to other Belgian cities. The hotel is modern, clean and comfortable as Novotel premises use to be, the rooms big enough and well isolated from the outside noise. The breakfast buffet is a bit pricey at 23€ for what they provide. Free wi-fi in the rooms. A good quality-price relation. Reccomended.

Room Tip: The backside rooms are quieter because they front a nice pedestrian square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Brussels Grand Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brussels Grand Place

Address: 120 rue du Marche Aux Herbes | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Brussels
#10 Green Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#31 Business Hotel in Brussels
#35 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brussels Grand Place 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Brussels Off Grand Place is located right in the centre of Brussels, moments away from what is said to be the most beautiful town square in the world. Within easy reach of Central Station, this 138 room hotel combines comfort and innovation.The lobby and the Foodsquare bar brasserie share a warm and bright open space, a celebration of chic design. This 4 star hotel welcomes you in this historic area of Brussels for a weekend or short break with your partner or family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Brussels Grand Place reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brussels Grand Place Hotel Brussels
Accor Brussels Grand Place
Brussels Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Brussels Grand Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.