We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Reception Area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Le Plaza

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Le Plaza to your Saves list
Hotel Le Plaza
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Blvd Adolphe Maxlaan, 118 - 126 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Reception Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel doesn't look appealing from the outside but once you enter the reception you soon change your mind. We stayed over the New Year and the whole of the reception was full of ponsietta plants - they were beautiful! The reception area had various sofas and chairs with regularly plumped cushions set all around. The ceilings were very ornate and the place had a very welcoming feel. The reception staff were very courteous, welcoming, knowledgeable and spoke good English. Our room was very large with a big bathroom and separate toilet. We didnt eat in the hotel but there are a number of restaurants locally. There is a large shopping area and mall over the road from the hotel that contained various cafes to suit all tastes. Its about a 15 minute walk to The Grand Place with lots of shops/restaurants along the way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear Madam,

I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza and the Christmas decoration as well!

Be sure that I will pass your congratulation to the receptionists and our decoration team.

The staff of the hotel Le Plaza hopes to see you again in our establishment.

Laurent de Kerf
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    382
    400
    112
    41
    15
See reviews for
100
434
42
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for a four night stay after Christmas 2012. It's location is great, two blocks away from Care de Nord (Brussels midi 8 mins, Bruges 62 mins), or 30 seconds from Rogier metro station. On arrival we were greeted by a huge, beautifully decorated tree with a stair case lined with poinsettias. The foyer was grand, arranged with comfortable sofas and even more poinsettias. Check in was painless, although the €400 security deposit for the four rooms was a bit scary. It looked like some people had been waiting a bit for their rooms but both ours were ready. We had not been able to arrange adjacent rooms in advance but they had thought we'd want that anyway and arranged it. They had even placed a cot in one for our youngest.

The rooms were spotless, huge and comfortable. They included everything you'd expect in a 5 star, including robes, slippers, nice toiletries and a huge TV. Anything we used was replaced daily! Each evening someone brought chocolates and the weather forecast for the next day - a nice touch. Wireless reception was excellent and free to guests. The mini bar was a bit eye watering in price, but as not on a sensor system was usable to chill own drinks. The only room complaint we had was a lack of tea and coffee making facilities. These would have made the rooms really comfy.

The hotel breakfast is €29 PER PERSON which meant €150 a day for us. However there's a McDonald's opposite and lots of cafes and restaurants a block or so away (recommend Exki half way along the shopping street opposite). The breakfast seemed popular despite the price, but I think it was hugely overpriced. The location of the hotel was perfect for us, despite the slightly dodgy shops over the road - interesting due to our five year old hitting the stage where she reads out everything she sees...

Pros: Clean, comfortable an luxurious feeling hotel. Great location. Friendly staff. Free wireless.

Cons: No tea or coffee available in rooms, breakfast overpriced, sex shops and dodgy cinema right over the road.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir, Dear Madam,

I would like first to thank you for leaving a review on trip advisor

According to our check-in standards, the deposit amount of 50€ per night and per room is to guarantee the payment of any extras like minibar, restaurant visits, laundry or other extra services. When checking out, the pre-authorisation is automatically cancelled.

As you mentioned as well our breakfast is indeed at the competitive charge of 29 Euros per person. For this price we offer a full American buffet breakfast. However for a light breakfast we highly recommend to fill in the Breakfast form that can be found in our rooms, on this card guests can select a range of items up to their liking.

For what the coffee and tea facilities are concerned, I took note of your request and pass this information to the person in charge of our F&B department.

Nevertheless, you appreciate the room and its equipment, our Turn-Down service which prepare the room for the night.

You also talk about the hotel location and decoration – which is particular for Christmas - and I was more than happy to read that you appreciate them.

The entire staff and I hope to see you soon at Le Plaza !

Laurent De Kerf,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My family stayed for two nights immediately after Christmas, 2012. The hotel is perfectly located just a blocks away from the Christmas markets. The hotel is also located a couple of blocks from Gare Nord (the northern train station) which provides easy access to Bruge. We were able to obtain a wonderful rate of only EUR 110 per night per room, which is incredible for what is billed as a five star hotel. The hotel and rooms, while very nice looked a bit weathered with the fabric on the chairs in our room slightly worn with other features also worn. The rooms were large by European city standards. We did not have the breakfast which is EUR 30 per person, which seems excessive, especially when converted to USD. Overall the hotel was a good hotel and a great value for what we paid.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L-Dekerf, General Manager at Hotel Le Plaza, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Sir,

You appreciate your stay with your family at Le Plaza and I like to thank you for sharing your experience.

I was happy to read that the room and the hotel fit with your expectations.

The staff and I hope to see you and your family soon again.

Laurent De Kerf,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

The hotel was very easy to get to, just a stones throw away from the Rogier metro station. When we entered we were greeted with a big lobby with Xmas trees and decorations. Upon entering our room we were pleasantly surprised at the size of the room. The hotel itself was just a short ten minute walk from Grand Place and the Christmas markets at St Catherine's. I would definitely recommend it to anyone and had a very enjoyable time.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

I travelled to Bruxelles for pediatic meeting for the second time. This year found the congress venue hotel - Metropol - a bit expensive, did a search and booked for a very friendly price at Le Plaza Hotel.

When arrived to Rogier, have had to walk a bit to found the beautifully decorated entrance. Inside, separated from outer noises, came across with a silent, familiar, elegant interior, stylish Xmas tree and many poinsettias all around. I immediately felt in comfort to sit down near to the Xmas tree for a serious talk.

The room and other services all reflected the same elegance. Next Year, after really hope to get survived from Maya calendar's prophecy - will come back for EAP winter meeting, and Le Plaza is my offer for other attendants .

Room Tip: Book online @ booking.com for excellent price!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I have just returned from an excellent trip to Brussels and stayed at the Plaza.
I was there with a friend and we were given a free upgrade on arrival as they had space which was a great start to the weekend! The room was comfortable with huge TV and the bathroom was really clean and modern with one of the best showers I have ever experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for the hotel to do and we had an amazing time.
The hotel is very reasonable and good value. It is centrally located just off one of the main shopping streets and a few minutes walk from the Grand Place.
I will definitely use it if I go again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungarvan, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Stayed here recently with a friend for a few days. We booked two singles and had a very comfortable stay in interconnecting rooms. The decor is a little dated but fits in with the rest of the hotel which has a tradional air in general. The location is good as it is directly opposite a main shopping street and is a short walk to the Grand Place, Restaurants etc. On the negative side though is the over priced dinner menu, which is served in the bar and is certainly not value for money. Overall we enjoyed our stay and top marks to the staff, who were always pleasant and efficient.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with children or like interconnecting rooms, rooms 121 and 122 are spacious wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Le Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Le Plaza

Address: Blvd Adolphe Maxlaan, 118 - 126 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Brussels
#13 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#36 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Le Plaza 4*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Le Plaza reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Plaza Brussels
Le Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Le Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.