We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well located, good value and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Marmiton

Le Marmiton
Rue des Bouchers 43, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 511 79 10
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Le Marmiton is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #81 of 2,489 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $27 - $54
Cuisines: Belgian, French, Brasserie
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: In the heart of Brussels, a stone's throw from the Grand Place, come and discover the restaurant "Le Marmiton" in the wonderful setting of the 'Royal Saint-Hubert Galleries'. His owner Mr Toni Beja and his children Anthony, Sandra and Alexandre, all three graduated from the Hotel Management School of Namur, welcome with great pleasure the fans of Belgian specialities and products of the sea, and this since its opening in 1979.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Well located, good value and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Went with 20 colleagues from work for a set menu meal on a Wed evening. This is close to the Grand Place and down a small side street. We were seated upstairs in a private dining area. They offered us a set 3 course menu included two drinks for 30 EUR. I had a lovely duck, shrimp and cheese salad followed by lamb then cheese/bread. Very tasty food and the staff worked hard to serve such a large group. Would go back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    176
    38
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
225 reviews 225 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
“Very good service and atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

The service was excellent and we were made to feel welcome. The wine was good. We chose the Marmiton Menu, and although the food was a good standard we were disappointed not to find it exceptional as we had heard that Belgians are food lovers. It was probably more a misconception on our part than a fault of the restaurant as we have since discovered that Belgian food tends to be more simple and hearty than delicate flavours etc. We have also since discovered that eating in Bruxelles is expensive. In retrospect, the restaurant was a good choice. It is in the beautiful Galleries Royales St Hubert, and the decor inside the restaurant is aesthetically pleasing and tasteful. It is worth eating here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

My wife and I had dinner here this week and I have to say it was excellent. The food was very good and the service was exceptional. We'll definitely be returning.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

Really nice restaurant with friendly staff. Had mussels which were delicious and and a very large portion, couldn't finish! House wine was nice. Partner had prawn and chicken curry which was also very good. Would definitely visit again if returning to Brussels.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Just what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

With just a few hours available in the Capitol and all of us hungry for good food in a cozy place - we were pleasantly surprised that all our wishes came thru : good food, great and friendly service, multi-lingual customer service and cozy interior right very close to Grand Place in a beautiful shopping gallery

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Le Marmiton also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 
Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Marmiton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Marmiton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.