We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wowwwwwwww” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Grand-Place

Grand-Place
Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
00 32 (0)2 279 43 65
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$155*
and up
Private Tour: Brussels City Sightseeing Tour
Ranked #1 of 206 Attractions in Brussels
Type: Historic Sites, Other, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Considered one of the most beautiful medieval squares in Europe, the ornate Grand Place is the center of Brussels, where many historic buildings dating from the 17th century are located.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Wowwwwwwww”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Light show around Christmas was amazing! gothic, dramatic buildings wonderful! Really kick started our Christmas. Very festive and easy to find well sign posted and very central.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

9,221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6,559
    2,250
    358
    33
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Worths a visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

The Grand Place is probably the most famous square in Brussels. It is combined by a few old buildings that state the architecture of the country. It is definitely worth a visit and you probably will as it is the center of the city and most of the people even unintentionally pass from there. The manneken pis is about two blocks away.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Christmas light show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

fantastic light and sound display in the evening time. take the horse and carridge ride during the day for a fun and informative bit of history

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Impressive and lively”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Very Christmassy,. I loved the tree decorations and the very large nativity setting. I went at night and could only imagine the scale. The architecture is very, very impressive and spacious. Just off the Grand Place there are many shops open till late and some good restaurants. If you like chocolate then go here.

I would go again, preferably in a warmer time

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver USA
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“The Grote Markt is a Woman”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

The Grote Markt. It seemed in my winter wanderings through the heart of Brussels, I always returned there. As if all roads eventually curved back around and lost themselves in alleys ringing with her siren song, only to open again to her. And she has a gravity; a pull, a psychic magnetism that keeps you coming back. Or maybe it is the crazy street plan…

A woman? Oh, yes, the Grote Markt is a woman – expansive and welcoming, clean and tall, and about five hundred years old. Oh, you want to buy her a drink, don’t you. But she has drunk more than you possibly could, and somehow she keeps her perfect composure. And you want to take her back to your room, but she is not interested, and anyway you could not fit her through the door. Just try to take her whole picture without a wide-angle lens hopelessly distorting reality. Sure, maybe an aerial image would capture her in full, but you would feel petty and small just thinking of looking Down on Her.

And in those wintry days I could not imagine her defiled by the vomit and stale beer and shady pickpockets that mar so many other great squares. I could almost imagine buying a coffee without being completely ripped off, but did not tempt that fate.

So around I went, from wafflery to chocolatier to beer house, and always back to the Grote Markt. Her grand steeple and veritable army of statuary saints and warriors and kings facing down the brave, gray Brussels Museum, while merchant houses crowd around wearing their finest façades. Once the centers of world trade, now politely waiting -- waiting for the next century, or the one after. Eventually I would tear myself away, and once I was clear of the city, I thought of her. Return to her? Sure. But she doesn’t care if I do or not.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grand-Place also viewed

 

Been to Grand-Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand-Place, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.