We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best museum! - dont miss it” 5 of 5 stars
Review of MIM - Musical Instruments Museum

MIM - Musical Instruments Museum
Rue Montagne de la Cour 2, Brussels 1000, Belgium
32 (02) 545-0130
Website
Improve this listing
Visit MIM - Musical Instruments Museum like an insider
Top Rated
$25*
and up
The Brussels Card
Ranked #6 of 334 things to do in Brussels
Activities: Dining, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: As soon as it opened at the end of the 19th century, the luxurious Old England department store earned an excellent reputation for its highly distinctive building. The entrance to the building is a jewel of the Art nouveau style while the rest is in perfect harmony with the neoclassical ensemble on the Place Royale, and just around the corner from the Grand Place and Central Station, no less! It's here in this architectural gem that the MIM took up residence in June 2000. The museum's reputation is mainly built on its extraordinary collections. With a wealth of some 7000 instruments, the MIM is currently an internationally renowned instrumental museum. Once inside, you'll embark on a true tour of the musical world. After your trip past the some 1500 pieces on exhibit, the instruments and their history will no longer hold any secrets: from viole da gamba from the Court of Brussels to the 20th century theremin, and even including the African kora! And be sure not to miss our area devoted to the instruments of Adolphe Sax. The MIM is nothing other than a place to experience music. An infrared headphone system allows each visitor to explore the thematic tours to the tune of the melodious sound of the instruments presented. Translation is no problem. Everyone knows that music is a universal language.
UK
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“the best museum! - dont miss it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

A really wonderful experience. Make it one of your priorities. There are 3 floors of mainstream to the most unusual instruments, from all over the world, and as you go round, your headsets (given as part of the tickets) play music with the instruments in the cupboards you are standing by. Dont move on too quickly, because there is often more than one musical excerpt for the cabinet. We spent hours here. The top floor has a great restaurant and tea room, so you can break your visit up with some refreshments. The building is worth seeing too.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    933
    504
    157
    34
    14
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Music, history and technology”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Its definitely worth a visit, where in under one roof one can see musical instruments from around the world, from different times in history.
The audio guide will automatically detect the instrument in front of which you are standing, show you a picture of the instrument and play its respective sound.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best things to visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I have personally not a strong relationship with playing music but i really enjoy listening to it and as far as i experienced from my visit to Brussels visiting MIM museum is definitely a nice way to start your day. The museum has mostly 4 floors with musical instruments with some of them able to hear via the headphones that are given to you at the entrance. We spend around 2 hours in it and i left because my friend was nagging.. It was so much enjoyable listening to all these different kinds of music. They also have some natural instruments from foreign civilizations. The ticket of the museum is also very cheap, especially in the case you are up to 25 year sold as we were! ;) Comparing the MIM with the Comics museum we also visited i would say that it much more worth the visit!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

This museum is good value for money and you can spend a good couple of hours just wandering around and listening to the different types of instruments. Highly recommend this museum.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Better than I'd expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

I've always avoided it but I was pleasantly surprisd. Great views from the top; headphone means yo can hear each of the instruments as you walk past them. I could have done witha bit ore information about some of the instruments. Great building.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed MIM - Musical Instruments Museum also viewed

 

Been to MIM - Musical Instruments Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage MIM - Musical Instruments Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.