We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning location and excellent service - GREAT ALL ROUND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amigo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Amigo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Amigo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de l'Amigo 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Summer Offer Inc Brkfst
Ranked #4 of 194 hotels in Brussels
uk
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Stunning location and excellent service - GREAT ALL ROUND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed 26 December for three nights and got a great rate. They offer a price match and 10% extra discount if they are not the cheapest, and they honoured this. So total was €562 for three nights inc all taxes, hi speed internet and full breakfast

Location is 25m (metres not miles!) from the Grand Place, and we came by train, which was a 3-4 minute walk from the Central Station. (I later walked to the Gare du Midi [south])and that was 20 minutes (with no baggage))

The roads round the hotel are tiny and one way, and whilst europeans with satnavs should cope, I can imagine Americans finding it tough! parking is available but looked pricey at €30 a day, and as the location is so good, most people will not need a car

Check-in was very swift, and although the room was not ready for 10 minutes, they gave us a drink and were very polite and helpful.

Room 205 looks out the back of the Hotel de Ville and the spire, and with windows closed was very very quiet. Bizzarely the heating seemed impossible to control, and they only seemed able to control it centrally. During the first night we became very hot, and it took me a while to realise I could turn the whole thing off, which solved the problem.

The room was a Deluxe King with a huge bed (probably 2m wide) and very comfortable. Bathroom immaculate and the whole set up very clean and spacious. Decor a little too "classic" for our taste, but not too Louis XIV as some of these places can be.

Breakfast was heaving, and frankly the room is not big enough for the weekend rush. But once seated (very polite and helpful service while waiting) the buffet choice was excellent and the custom items (waffles, eggs, porridge etc) excellent. Great real orange juice and lovely coffee and tea (not a given in hotels)

The room service breakfast was a bit of a let down. Not enough cold milk for both cereals and tea and coffee, and no butter. The porridge was also very solid compared with downstairs.

Although the demographic is posh middle aged (think cashmere coat and fur collars and the type of person who wears a tie on holiday) we were treated in a very friendly manner, and the door staff etc seemed to remember our names which was impressive. There were also quite a few families with small children that seemed to liven things up.

I lived in Brussels for many years, and this location cannot be beaten. Three evening meals at Le Pre Sale, Le Petit Boxeur and Bonsoir Clara (all about 5 minutes walk) were excellent quality and service, although eating out in Brussels is not cheap

All in all, very good quality hotel, and any minor quibbles (wait for room, wait for breakfast etc) were handled so graciously that they were not an issue.

The only thing that needs attention is the wifi. In 205 the signal varied from poor to non existent.

Room Tip: If wifi matters ask for one with better coverage
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much from all of our team members for having taken the dedication to share your impressions on your recent stay with us.

Indeed, it is a delight for us to learn that our hotel’s facilities, services and location were of your satisfaction.

While they did not detract from your memorable experience, I took good note of the minor inconveniences you encountered and rest assured they will be acted upon.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo Brussels in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    605
    279
    56
    26
    19
See reviews for
106
451
52
194
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014 via mobile

We spent three lovely days in Brussels over New Year staying at the Amigo, a stones throw from the Grand Place. The staff were friendly and helpful, the Bocconi restaurant was very good and the rooms were comfortable. Our only grumble was the dodgy wifi !! We've stayed in smarter / more modern Rocco Forte hotels (Prague) but the staff and location made this one really great and the bar lounge was very smart.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us.

While it is a pleasure to learn that you had an enjoyable time with us, I took good note of your comment regarding the Wi-Fi and I am pleased to inform that we are currently working at strengthening it.

All the Amigo Team is looking forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earth, Texas
Top Contributor
506 reviews 506 reviews
163 hotel reviews
Reviews in 180 cities Reviews in 180 cities
379 helpful votes 379 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

This is the Hotel you want to stay if you come to Brussels to enjoy the nightlife in the inner city /
just do not travel by car, as this is super complicated - and you need a bit of guidance via the phone... but do not be shy, the Concierge helps in an ever lasting manner.

Top job to the Amigo Team.
Thanks

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share on Tripadvisor your impressions on your recent visit with us.

We are thrilled to read that you had an overall pleasing stay and appreciated our staff members’ genuine service.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

we were in brussels for the christmas market the first week of december and we choose the amigo at the grand place wich is the heart of the city
we came for 4 nights ' we were greeting by a very friendly staff ' and we were surprised to get an up grade to a larger room . the hotel is very nice the room was very clean ' confortable .
the breakfast is absolutly delicious in a very design decoration
the concierge very helpfull with about what to do in the city and the location just great at the grand place but very quiet also
we did enjoy our staying at the hotel very chic and cosy

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your high praises in regards to your recent stay with us.

This testimony will be shared with our associated so they can appreciate their daily commitments bear fruit.

My colleagues and I look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Kind regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Enjoyable stay over Xmas with a few issues; no airport pick up, breakfast woefully slow and serving staff clumsy. However, this was offset by the general friendliness of staff (particularly the bar manager and concierge) and the hotel facilities. Location is unbeatable, although it can be a little noisy.

There is some additional effort required by the management team to bring this back into the "Leading Hotels of the World" category.

Room Tip: Be aware of noise for street facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Upon careful review of your feedback, I am saddened to read the lukewarm satisfaction about your stay -mainly due to the unsatisfactory experience at Breakfast-; please accept my most sincere apologies and rest assured that I am going to personally follow up on this shortcoming.

I would be honored to be your privileged contact person for a future reservation and my colleagues and I will ensure to do our utmost to recover your good will.

With kindest regards I remain,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

Unbeatable location just a block off the Grand Place. The service was highly attentive from the moment I left the taxi throughout my stay. The room was lovely with many amenities. The lounge seemed like an amiable place for a drink and the on-site Italian restaurant that also served breakfast was quite decent.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for your raving review.

What a genuine pleasure to learn that you had a memorable moment with us.

All the Amigo Team is looking forward to welcoming you back very soon and wish you a happy new year.

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We spend a weekend in Brüssels and stayed at the Amigo hotel. The location cannot be better, right behind the Grand Place, most is in walking distance. The rooms were fine, breakfast was good. Both the concierges we talked to were very helpful and friendly.
I will give 4 stars however because the service at the bar could be better. We were there twice, the first time before dinner to have a drink. The service was very very slow, it was quite astonishing actually as the bar was not totally full. The second time was when the breakfast room was too crowded so we were led to the bar where they had set up a breakfast place as well and served exactly the same. I must admit that I liked it much better in the bar because it was really less busy and loud, but here the service was really slow and bad. It took them ages to serve coffee tea etc. and when after 30 minutes the ordered eggs came, they were cold.
It's really a pity, if they just improved a bit on the service at the bar the hotel would be without competition in that area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

I am grateful that you took time to share your impressions in regards to your recent stay with us.

While I read that you had a pleasant moment with us and that you benefited from our Concierge bespoke service, I have duly noted your remark concerning the speed of service at the Bar; please accept our sincere apologies and this shall be included in our qualitative planning.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back at the Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo Brussels in the not too distant future.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#7 Business Hotel in Brussels
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#18 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, LHW, Booking.com, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.