We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Amigo in Central Brussels - a wonderful visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Amigo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Amigo to your Saves list
Hotel Amigo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue de l'Amigo 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hotel Amigo in Central Brussels - a wonderful visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Hotel Amigo in Central Brussels is the best hotel I have stayed in. The service is fantastic, the food marvellous, altogether a wonderful 3-day stay. Is it expensive? Yes. But if you want to treat yourself to a special experience, where the staff provide you with European-style service that is unobtrusive yet satisfying, where your name is remembered, and where your likes and dislikes at breakfast are remembered, then this hotel is one you should visit. Hotel Amigo is 1/2 block away from the Grand Place so you can walk to the museums and art galleries.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the bar on the corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    740
    313
    66
    32
    19
See reviews for
152
528
59
230
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My children LOVED our rooms totally tricked out with Tintin artwork and figurines, and the hotel is ideally located, within walking distance of most tourist sites in Brussels. The Guest Relations staff - Caroline and Franza - are excellent. They were very professional, friendly and accommodating. When we were noticeably disappointed with our first rooms, they offered to upgrade us, and then when there was an out-of-their-control plumbing problem, they promptly moved all of us into a massive suite. The concierge desk is also extremely helpful and charming.

Having said all that, there is an inconsistency in their service. The Front Desk was not particularly welcoming and the service in the bar and restaurant is quite terrible. We had long wait times, felt ignored, and frankly, the food is really not very good. The valet staff often stood by and just watched us open their massive, heavy doors.

The rooms on street-side are brighter, but the street noise can be very disruptive at night. The rooms in the back of the hotel are very quiet, but can be dark and little gloomy. Ask for the Tintin rooms if you're a fan!

Room Tip: The rooms on street-side are brighter, but the street noise can be very disruptive at night. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with Hotel Amigo Brussels.

I am particularly happy to read that both Caroline and Francia were able to recover swiftly the situation about your room and that you and your family truly enjoyed our Tintin-themed rooms.

On a different note, I am saddened to see that the service in both the restaurant and the bar fell short of your expectations and ours and that the entrance door was not manned adequately. Please accept my sincere apologies and the relevant Managers have been made aware in order to prevent these pitfalls.

I look forward to welcoming you back at the Amigo Brussels.

Kindest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Another Rocco Forte hotel. This is our third time at this hotel but this time it didn't quite tick all the boxes: reception staff fumbled the booking a bit and didn't know that we had been to the hotel before. Really good hotels seem to pick this up from their system. Our executive room was large and very comfortable. Lovely colours and furnishings and a good bed. Room service food was very good but each time something was forgotten and had to be fetched. Our main complaint is that the lounge is smart but comfort has been sacrificed for design. Club sandwich in the lounge was very good but we just didn't feel relaxed and comfortable whilst eating it. By contrast, the Conrad has a lovely lounge that is all dark wood and leather and just oozes comfort. We do like RF hotels and have also been to Browns in London, The Lowry in Manchester, The Astoria in St Petersburg and The Balmoral in Edinburgh. We look forward to many more RF stays and will probably still do the Amigo again because it is just so well placed. Our only other comment - they should install a spa!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your loyalty to Rocco Forte Hotels and the Hotel Amigo.

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our Executive room and the prime location of the hotel.

I took good note of your comments regarding the lounge and, for future occasions, I invite you to try the tables near the Bar counter as they provide adjustable height to suit your requirements.

Indeed, the addition of a Spa to our property would be highly valuable and our Head Office has made aware of this feedback.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back at the Amigo Brussels.

Kind regards,

Eric Falcucci
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Its central location right off the Grand-Place, very helpful front desk and concierge staff, and lovely rooms are what made our one-night stay at the Amigo perfect. The decor of Tintin lithographs and other contemporary paintings, tapestries, and more give the hotel a fresh and "hip" feel. Our room was immaculate, the bed very comfortable, and the shower superb. I agree with other reviewers that the cost for the internet is much too expensive. (At the time of this writing, the option was 10 euros/hour or 20 euros/24 hours.) We did not have any meals in the hotel, but had an excellent meal close by at Aux Armes de Bruxelles and a lovely lunch further afield in the Ixelles section of Brussels at Belgo Belge.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

one of the best hotels i have ever been ...................................clean and comfortable very good rooms free water every day, great location ,great breakfast and helpful staff one thing bad no free wifi

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Excellent hotel located right in city centre with friendly and helpful staff. What is really good is the Italian restaurant which makes it pointless to go out and be harassed by the chuggers trying to sell poor quality food with equally poor service. The rooms are good size and very comfortable.wifi is not free however .

Room Tip: Choose facing town hall. Very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eric F, Manager at Hotel Amigo, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed our convenient location as well as bespoke service.

The whole Amigo team looks forward to welcoming you back!

Warmest regards,

Eric Falcucci
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Have been coming for 4 years on business trips to this little luxury hotel in Brussels - has never failed me - location in the middle of the centre close to grand place very convenient. Rooms are not big but you are not in Brussels to sit in your room. Service, concierge desk, bar and restaurant are very good - its for me home away from home but for tourists there is NO better spot in Brussels !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Amigo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Amigo

Address: Rue de l'Amigo 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium (Formerly Rocco Forte Hotel Amigo)
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Brussels
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#9 Business Hotel in Brussels
#20 Family Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Amigo 5*
Number of rooms: 174
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rocco Forte Hotels is delighted to introduce the Hotel Amigo, superbly located in the very heart of Brussels, adjacent to one of the most beautiful squares in Europe, Grand Place, close to Brussels' financial district and within easy walking distance of the antiques district of Le Sablon, Hotel Amigo provides a stylish and central base from which to explore the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Otel, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Amigo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocco Forte Amigo
Forte Hotel Brussels
Forte Brussels
Brussels Forte

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Amigo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.