We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Auwful” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Open

The Open
Boulevard Saint-Michel 17, Brussels 1040, Belgium
02/735.49.89
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,586 of 2,652 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: French, Asian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Auwful”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The service and the crew is H O R R I B L E. They are anti social by the way they speak and act. They first scream at you to take your order "TOI MANGER QUOI" (you eat what) in a tone that would make any child cry and don't let you the time you need to choose.
1 waitress served me an expired drink and didn't want to offer me anything in return (even not another drink), another waiter spilled the half of another and didn't bring another drink. When we called this ***** waiter, he said "but it's only a little, why would I" and we had to make a scene so that he does what he should have done since the beginning. And I 've never seen a smile on their face ! Run away from this place

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    18
    15
    15
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Rude staff”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

We went there twice. The place offers an ample choice of food. We ordered Thai food, which surprised us pleasantly. However the mood got spoiled by the service, which first time was unpleasant, the second time plainly rude. There won't be the third time then...

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Entirely satisfactory Thai cuisine in a brasserie setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The Open is something of a cross between a pub and a brasserie, with most of its area dedicated to dining. Although the restaurant also offers more international cuisine, its menu focuses on Thai dishes. Having never been to Thailand, I can't vouch for their authenticity, but the meals are at least as good as I have eaten in other Thai pubs around Europe.

Pleasant service too but a not inexpensive place for what it offers.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Good Thai beef curry”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Handy location for lunch and interesting menu - Asian/Belgian mix. The portions are very large and the Thai beef curry I had was very good. Quick service but quite rude - but that's normal for Belgium! Expect to spend upwards of €20 for lunch.

The restaurant is large and so you are not crammed in, which is more comfortable than other restaurants nearby.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalst, Belgium
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Quick and tasty food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

This restaurant is ideal if you don't have much time. The food is good and plenty with rates that are very good for Brussels. The staff can be a bit rude and sometimes you notice that not all the food is fresh but heated up.
I really like the duck they serve and some other dishes.
The decor is also very nice, but is starting to get a bit dated.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Open also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to The Open? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Open, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.