We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spotless B&B Central Brussels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of X2Brussels

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added X2Brussels to your Saves list
X2Brussels
Terre-Neuve 24, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 196 Brussels B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Spotless B&B Central Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

I chose this B&B because of the other great reviews on here and we weren't disappointed. The omens were good from the start as Xavier was friendly and helpful over emails. On our arrival we got a taxi from Midi Station because I didnt want to cart my case about but we could have walked.
The house is in a very quiet street but only 5 mins walk from the Manneken Pis and Grand Place. We found it an ideal base to explore and we could get to most places on foot.
Our room was huge and spotlessly clean. The decor very modern and there is wifi available.
Xavier sat us down with a large street map and highlighted all the places we wanted to see as well as recommendations of his own for various eateries. This proved invaluable and a really nice touch.
Breakfast is served til 10am but Xavier is flexible as I found out - I made a mistake with timings on the first morning and there was no fuss - we were simply accommodated.
I felt that nothing was too much trouble for Xavier and his equally charming girlfriend. I would definitely stay here again and woudl urge others to do so if wanting a central B&B.

Room Tip: If you have reduced mobility better to stay on the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Hi Anita, thank you so much for your kind review. We are really happy you had a good time here in Brussels and that our tips and advice could a little bit contribute to this experience. Another must for next time you come to Brussels : visit the Waterloo battlefield with your son… although that one is not at walking distance from X2Brussels ;) Best wishes to you two, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    18
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
25
157
16
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Tucked away in a small quiet street, X2Brussels B&B is an absolute find. The owner Xavier and his mother are charming and helpful. Our room was enormous, with a large and super comfortable bed and a similarly generous bathroom with tub. In the middle of one of the coldest springs in years, the heating was on to keep us warm. With absolutely no street noise, we slept like babies. Breakfast was excellent and included freshly squeezed orange juice, quality fresh breads and jams, ham, cheese and even eggs if we wanted them. It took us less then ten minutes to stroll up to Grand'Place and about half an hour to walk to the art gallery and the lovely park behind it. We caught a taxi from Brussels Midi station but it's a walkable distance provided bags are manageable. The only warning is that there are steep flights of stairs, but Xavier is happy to help with bags. I wouldn't bother looking any further for great accommodation in Brussels.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you so much for your taking the time to write this review. We are truly glad to read that you could enjoy your stay with undisturbed sleep after walking and visiting Brussels all day. Our flights of stairs are indeed not very engaging luggage-wise but I am happy to help anytime when I am the lucky one welcoming guests and when my mother does, we have always found so far suitable solutions. Thanks again and take care, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

When our taxi driver dropped us off, he told us to walk (with our luggage) into a quiet street. My first thought was that this B&B was so inaccessible that taxi drivers did not want to drive in. Luckily, we were VERY wrong. There's nothing wrong with the B&B's location. It was just THAT taxi driver who overcharged us (without switching on the meter) and gave us bad service. The B&B was wonderful! We stayed on the 2nd storey room that was very spacious and tastefully decorated. The location was fantastic too. Although it is located on a quiet street, it is just a few minutes walk to the famous peeing boy and the grand market square. The B&B's owner, Xavier and his helpers were very friendly and helpful too. And oh, their breakfast (freshly made french toast, eggs cooked to our liking, ham, cheese, bread basket etc.) was very satisfying too! Best breakfast we had in Europe! Defintely my choice accommodation in Brussels! A B&B that has character and totally value for money!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to sign up to TripAdvisor to review us, and for submitting it so quickly! It was really a pleasure to host you, and also to have the chance to see some of your design work. I have to say, it was a particularly nice atmosphere over breakfast with you and the other guests. Please do keep in touch... All the best, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

On our arrival, Xavier's charming mother marked up our map with the best places to visit, shop & eat so we were able to make the most of our short stay in Brussels. Our 'penthouse' room (5 flights, 61 steps!) was beautiful with a spacious modern bathroom... everything was spotless. After eating our way through Brussels, we were grateful for the additional exercise, however, it may be too much for some travelers. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance of the Grand Place, & in a lovely neighborhood that has been regentrified, so they need to update the Google street view. The breakfast was wonderful. Xavier & his mother are warm, accommodating hosts. We would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: One must be able to climb steps, as there is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Many thanks for your positive review – it means a lot to us, especially from experienced reviewers like yourselves :) It was great chatting with you at the B&B. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip across Europe. Many thanks also for your kind email after your stay – we really enjoyed having you here at X2Brussels. All the best, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MV
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was a great stay. Better than staying at a hotel. The owners are so very nice. We loved the breakfast served here. The rooms are large, and the bathroom huge. All super clean and pretty new looking. I think we were more impressed with this hotel than Brussels. Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Many thanks for your kind review - as a B&B, although we can't offer as comprehensive a service as a hotel, we do try to take care of all the little personal details that make your stay special. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed it. And we're always ready to help next time if you need some advice on making the most of the city! All the best, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California, USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We had a totally delightful stay. Our host Xavier and his Mom, Monique were gracious, attentive and super helpful with suggestions. The recently remodeled town home, with its luxury bed and bath had the perfect atmosphere and location for a "city" experience. Yet in just a few min walk, you were in the famed world heritage site of old town of Brussels, or could be tasting great beers at the local pub. Breakfasts were fresh and made to order. They even helped celebrate a special birthday with extra treats. This is a great place for a couple (romance) or friends or a single. The atmosphere is young and fresh and fun even for us retired folks. Make sure you have directions to the B&B to help out your taxi driver from the train station since it is located on a small, tucked away street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review - it means a lot to us. For the birthday treats, it's our pleasure to play a small part in making your day special - it's fun for us too, :)
You're right that sometimes the taxi drivers struggle to get to our place - there's a one-way system and at the moment there are construction works nearby, blocking from time to time the street. It's great advice to print out the directions that we send earlier the arrival by mail, as you say, just to be on the safe side! Very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. All the best, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

I booked well in advance to get a room here and am so glad I did! Xavier was so helpful with suggestions via e-mail for things to do and places to visit that catered to my interests. Then his mom and friend Daniel (who was helping out one weekend) showed me all the places on a map so I could find my way. Get the room on the top floor if available -- enormous and open, with great views! Breakfast was superb -- fresh squeezed OJ, wonderful coffee and cooked-to-order eggs, meats, cheeses, breads and amazing French toast. Plenty to keep you going all day.

Location is excellent -- you can visit one part of the city, come back and rest up, then head out to another area. You're just a few-minutes walk from everything, but the place is very quiet.

While this B&B is very deluxe and private, let me add that I always felt at home. Whether it was providing me with a needle and thread or arranging a cab to the airport, Xavier and his mom were happy to help. They are sincerely committed to making sure their guests feel cared for and comfortable. I highly recommend this excellent B&B. It was the perfect "home base" for my four days of exploring Brussels.

Room Tip: Get the top room for skylight windows and great views. The eight flights of stairs were totally wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
X2Brussels, Propriétaire at X2Brussels, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Many thanks Michele for your kind words. It's always interesting to get to know our guests, and we always hope that they are satisfied, within the limits of what we can offer here at X2Brussels, and we are just happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. It was great to share in your passion for all things Art Nouveau - we hope your vase survived the trip home, :)
Thanks for bringing some Californian sunshine to Brussels.
It was your review that has pushed us up to the number 1 spot in the B&B rankings for Brussels on Tripadvisor - for how long, we don't know - but in any case, thanks again! With my best wishes, Xavier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to X2Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about X2Brussels

Address: Terre-Neuve 24, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 196 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet street in the very heart of Brussels city centre and at close proximity of the grand place, this newly renovated Bed and Breakfast offers an intimate court yard, a chic dining area and 3 stylish rooms, perfect for business and leisure travellers alike . Each room is bathed in natural light with its own bathroom, Flat screen with satellite, WiFi and workspace, as well as all the small details to ensure your comfort and make your stay unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your X2Brussels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
x2brussels Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage X2Brussels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.