We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe Leffe

Cafe Leffe
46, Place du Grand Sablon, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Improve this listing
Ranked #2,096 of 2,491 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
wiltshire
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Staff rather distracted even when not busy and food is industrial. There are better places to eat on and around the square

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    30
    43
    53
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Busy bar with not many staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stopped off for a beer here, waited ages for someone to take our order,waited ages for our drinks to arrive & waited even longer to pay our bill! Was very busy & not many staff working, was surprised to see dogs in there as they were serving food.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B 9031 GENT
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very bad experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I invited my brother's son for a shopping day in Brussels. After seeing the shops we hat a lunch in cafe leffe, with vol au vent and kidneys. The vol au vent was really tasting very bad and the kidneys were to cold , with a awful baconsauce. It is very sad that in a metropool like brussel it is possible that the foodcontrol, did not already close this restaurant, since the food was not fresh at all !!!!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, MD
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“STAY AWAY, Beware”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

Avoid at all costs. We stumbled in because it was raining. Food and service were disgusting. I ordered a Croque Monsieur and my husband ordered steak frittes. My croque was a cold old ham and cheese sandwich on Wonder bread and by husbands steak was like shoe leather and came with string beans and no fries. Sent mine back and it came out a second time exactly the same. What a shame because every other meal we've had in Brussels has been great! Paid 26 euro there and didn't eat anything. Disgraceful Tourist Trap.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice meal, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Came here for dinner, it is a short walk from the Palais de Justice and serves very good, typical food. I had the cabonarde (beef stew) and it was extremely delicious. The service was quick and the waiter was friendly. I would have gone back again but it was just that bit too far from my hotel for by well walked feet!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Leffe also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Leffe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe Leffe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.