We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“awfull” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Bouchery

Bouchery
Chaussee d'Alsemberg, 812A, Brussels B-1180, Belgium
+32 (0) 2 332 37 74
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with
Bouchery is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #109 of 2,576 Restaurants in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $0 - $113
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
bologna
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“awfull”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

waitin too much time, very noisy. waiters are very busy and really dobn't take care of you. restaurant in a place where there is nothing to do after. impossible to find a cab in the street. meat was well done i ordered rear... it arrived after hours and cold ! and it s a very expensive place... i won't return in such a place and i am surprised that it's the first place of tripadvisor.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franck D, Gérant at Bouchery, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Hi,

When a restaurant is busy, the staff is busy normal no? Sorry.

Why the restaurant is responsible if there's no cab in the street??
Why the restaurant is responsible if there's nothing to do after dinning in our restaurant?
Where is the link between your comment and the restaurant?

We 're a gastronomic restaurant. We never asked for the meat cooking. Just impossible that you ordered rare and you received it well done. Cooking take time. More time if the restaurant is busy sorry for delays

Why 're you going in this restaurant if it's too expensive for you?

I think you just write this comment to be nasty and you never came in our place.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    20
    15
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good but not as tasty as I hoped for.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

First positive point is the pure interior that doesn't draw away the attention from your plate. The service is professional and friendly, but slightly distant. I gave in to the temptation by choosing the 75euro tasting menu. The ingredients are of good quality, prepared in a fine way, and beautifully presented. This chef definitely has skills, though personally I was not overwhelmed by the taste of everything that was in the menu, which I do expect at this price level. I will remember the "Noix de Coquilles Saint Jacques" and the "Wagyu beef" as well as the little warm grape packed in nuts next to the cheese, but in the general the experience didn't knock my socks off. Knowing that taste is a very personal matter, try it because maybe you'll love it?

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsegundo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Averge French par service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2011

Fantastic presentation, But lacking the substance, Minute details like the soup being luke warm, meat not done to perfection with michelin praises our expectations was high otherwise a descent French affair

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Did not live up to expectations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2011

Night out with 4 women friends - booked well in advance for a Thursday evening at 8pm. Arrived to find a fairly empty restaurant but we were put right by the door in the outer part of the restaurant. We asked to move as it was draughty and were offered another table in the same section a bit further from the door. Only one or two of the other tables ever did fill up.

Service was polite but we all felt rather patronising. The food was tasty but the presentation left a bit to be desired - the purple potato puree tasted great - though it looked like a cow pat on the plate. There are better restaurants in Brussels!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Great notion of service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Service is great since the moment we arrive. Sercice is great during all the meal.
So, we are always open to taste and enjoy everything that is served.
We choosed the "surprise menu" of the day ans we asked the sommelier tp choose the wine.
Everything was perfect. All senses were touched.
This is a fantastic restaurant in any part of the world.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bouchery also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Bouchery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bouchery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.