We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Value for Lunch” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Drug Opera

Drug Opera
51 rue Gretry, Brussels 1000, Belgium
+32 2 229 16 66
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,028 of 2,652 Restaurants in Brussels
Price range: $11 - $34
Cuisines: Belgian, Pizza & Pasta, Ice Cream, Brasserie
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
barnstaple.uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Value for Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had one of the set 3 course lunches around midday. Soup, steak and choice of suit for under 14 euros. Soup cold have been hotter but the steak was excellent and a good size. The beer was excellent but don't expect to pay UK prices.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    243
    147
    76
    77
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“3.5 /5”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Good service. Pretty cool decoration resembling an old french bistro. The house red wine was a bordeaux for about 6 euros for a 1/4 liter (so pretty decent price for the quality of the wine).
I ordered an escalope for about 15 euros which was nice BUT i feel like i could have stayed at home and cooked the same plate myself. Its a just a bit overpriced in that sense. All in all, just a regular decent bistro.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
264 helpful votes 264 helpful votes
“First impression - appalling manners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Three of us popped in here for a light lunch. We were told on entry to the building that we could sit anywhere we wanted, so we sat downstairs. Yet when the waiter arrived (eventually) to take our order, he was quite put out and turned his nose up at us when he realised we were only looking for coffee and something light. He told us quite brusquely that we had to go upstairs as that's where the light meals were served. We were going to leave as he was so rude but we were tired having walked around all morning and really needed something to eat. Service was marginally better up there, but it was amusing to read on the menu that customers 'can sit anywhere they like'. Pity the staff aren't aware of this. Had delicious coffee, crepes and waffles but the rudeness of the snooty waiter who we first encountered will stay with us forever. Unfortunately bad service and appalling manners is something we encountered far too often in Brussels. This is another establishment that needs to send its staff on a customer care course.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raurimu, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A nice way to end a day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I'd been to Drug Opera on previous visits to Brussels but only later in the evening when it was operating more as a busy bar than restaurant so it was a pleasant change to go there for a quiet dinner after a long day.

We were seated right away and opted to sit outside - even though it was quiet a mild evening, the banks of gas heaters above the tables would keen dinners warm in the worst weather - at 9-30 in the evening, I was more than comfortable at our table in just jeans and a T-shirt. As one does, we started with a fine Belgian beer while we browsed the menu. I ordered a Flemish stew which came with the obligatory pomme frites and was amazed at just how quickly our mains arrived - not much more than five minutes after we placed out order. The fries were big and chunky but nothing special in the taste department but the stew was excellent: the sauce was rich and tasty and the chunks of beef soft and without any dodgy bits like gristle.

I opted for no dessert but there is a great selection on the menu.

I could quite happily eat here each night for good wholesome meals - and, of course, great local beers....

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellingborough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lunch at Drug Opera”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Superb! Great location, good food. The wait staff was very nice and very helpful. It is near the Grand Place and Manikin Pis.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drug Opera also viewed

 
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Drug Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drug Opera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.