We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will make you appreciate Magritte on a whole new set of levels...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Magritte Museum

Magritte Museum
1 Place Royale, Brussels 1000 , Belgium
32 2 508 32 11
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 206 Attractions in Brussels
Type: Art Museums, Museums
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will make you appreciate Magritte on a whole new set of levels...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

...and not just because there are three levels of his work!

Make sure you get the audio guide especially if you don't speak French or Belgian as all the labels and signs are in these two languages only. There is a booklet of translations, but the guide really enhances the visit.

Note: most of the really famous pieces aren't here, but there is more than enough to make up for it. The levels are well thought out, I spent 2.5 hours here without even realising.

Gift shop is extensive but expensive, and the official guide to the museum was not available in English, which was a pity.

As a fan who didn't know much I came away feeling that I had gained a really good insight into Magritte's life and work. This and the Horta museum were the best places I visited, would definitely visit again!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    165
    69
    14
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
166 attraction reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Magritte Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

A bit disappointing. Not the best collection of Magritte's work. It's pretty dark inside and the lighting is not very good. No photography allowed.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Nice paintings, bad lighting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I was surprised at the bad lighting of this place. Most paintings had to be seen at a diagonal angle, because if seen at the front all that one would see would be a blur.
Meanwhile, the gift shop is very good, and you can probably see all the paintings there for free with better lighting.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
“Terrific Museum, Don't Miss Audio”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were surprised by how much we loved this museum. It gives visitors a full sense of Magritte the man as well as the philosophy and development of his art. They have some beautiful pieces as well as loads of original audio from Magritte and his contemporaries. BTW, the museum cafe was surprisingly good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Having grown up with paintings of Rene Magritte and other Surrealists, I was extremely disappointed with the collection. Hopefully, the more famous of his paintings will be added. The museum itself is beautiful. The location is great! Maybe others who are not as familiar with his work as I am will enjoy it he museum more. His most famous paintings are in The Museum of Modern Art in New York City. The Museum Shop is fun to wander through. However, most items are very expensive.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Magritte Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magritte Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.