We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre to your Saves list
Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Parochiaansstraat 15-27, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
New York City, New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Very nice, central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed here for one night before leaving Brussels. I wouldn't call this a 4 star hotel by any stretch of the imagination. Then again, I also didn't pay 4 star prices either, so it all balances out. Perhaps 3 stars is probably more accurate.

This hotel is conveniently right near Central Station and very close to the city center. The location can't be beat. That being said, I had a little trouble finding the hotel. It's in one of the side streets and there's a fair amount of construction going on next to the hotel, so the entrance is obscured by a fenced off area and a large dumpster.

My room was clean and neat and HUGE by European standards. There were some scuff marks near the door and luggage rack, they should paint that over. The bathroom was also really big and modern and had nice toiletries. I found the room well-appointed. There was a desk, a fridge, a safe, extra pillows and blankets in the wardrobe. The room is a little dark, but if you put all the lights on it's fine (I usually don't). The cathedral bells are a little annoying, but they do stop ringing in the evening. I also couldn't figure out the heat controls of the room, but it wasn't a big deal.

Of the places I stayed during my trip, this was by far the nicest hotel and was super convenient when I needed to catch the train the next morning (Not something to be taken lightly! There were massive delays on every train in Central Station and I needed every minute to get to the airport on time!).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    202
    110
    41
    24
See reviews for
50
206
22
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cork
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The hotel is right in the centre of Brussels, near the main train station: less than 5 minutes from the Conference Center and 3 minutes walk from la Grand Place. The breakfast is poor: coffee is horrible. The room I had (206) was right in front of another building (the street is very small) and I could not keep the curtains open. the light in the room is poor, TV has very few useless channels. Bathroom is ok. Very nice service.
Also the hotel is near one of the main cathedrals so bells ringing all day ( very pleasant I must say...)

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a work agreement with this hotel for a year and have now cancelled it.

We were given a dirty and used room (slept-in and unmade bed, used bathroom, etc.) then offered another used and dirty room, both without great shame or apology, then transferred to a separate hotel with only the offer of free breakfast as compensation. We have been given other rooms that already had other sleeping guests in them. We have rented the meeting room with no clear answers on questions regarding what would be available in the room (i.e. white screen for projection, etc.) and upon arrival on the day of the meeting not only was that item missing but the reception staff was completely unaware that we had even rented the meeting room to begin with! Despite the relatively nice appearance of the lobby, many bedrooms are run down, with some torn curtains, some old carpets, sometimes smelly bathrooms and dark rooms due to dimmed lighting. The lighting is green/red mood lighting and it is impossible to have normal, bright light for working in between meetings, in the mornings or at night. There is no room service, no coffee/tea-making facilities, no bottled water in the room, they sometimes forget wake-up calls and if a light bulb breaks they won’t replace it until their housekeeping staff comes back on duty. One of our VIPs also had an incidence with stolen credit card information. To be fair, as soon as he warned the hotel about it, he got a personal call from the apologetic manager and was told that they had arrested the person responsible. However, it is the first instance of credit card fraud that our well-traveled VIP had encountered internationally in his 50+ years.

In summary, this venue has some much-needed improvements to make internally if it wants to call itself a reputable business hotel. It does not provide four-star service (more like two-or at best three stars) and is not a serious venue for hosting business travel or holding meetings. The reception and housekeeping staff in particular were unprofessional and sorely incompetent. The restaurant staff were not much better except for one waiter who works in the mornings. This hotel is currently better suited to backpackers and low-budget tourists looking only for a comfortable mattress and central location and who are generally unfussed about everything else.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed for two nights. Oct 2013. 3rd floor, facing the road. Bathroom had seriously bad drain smell in both mine (302) and a colleague's (310) rooms. Told reception, who didn't seem overly surprised, but said they would get maintenance to look at it. It didn't get fixed. The worst bit was the laundry lorry, which parked outside between 00.30 and 01.30 each morning and systematically loaded and unloaded about 8 large metal trollies of laundry on the rear lift of the lorry. Very noisy. Would not stay here again or recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I had the impression that it is a nice hotel at a central location. The location is good indeed, but the quality of the room is poor. Initially I got a room that from the first moment I entered it was stinking. Fortunately the reception personnel was quite polite and offered to change my room. The now one was better, but the walls were dirty as in the first room and in general the atmosphere is not similar to a 4 star hotel. The pictures create different impression.
The worst experience was the toilet that was not properly cleaned and this was disgusting...
Internet connection very slow... Impossible to work.
Will not stay here again. Novotel is much better.

Room Tip: It is a solution only if the rooms are super cheap and there is no other hotel available. Novotel a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Nice enough room and clean. Bit dark even with all lights on. Plug missing from sink. Elevator door slammed into my Mums arm injuring her. Wifi kept disconnecting

PROS
- comfy beds
- nice shower
- quiet
- close to Grand Place
- free wifi (albeit kept disconnecting)

CONS
- no fridge/minibar in room
- no room service
- no tea/coffee making facilities in room
- staff happiness/ politeness a bit hit n miss
- not really worth price IMHO

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

May be considered a superior 3 star by world standards, ? 4star by Europe. No tea/coffee in room. No mini-bar though I didn't miss this. However they have a cooler which is very handy for things you may need to store. Wardrobe very small, specially for 2 persons and if you are staying a bit longer and don't like to live from your suitcase. TV channels poor but at least there are news channels. One real downside is no complimentary water. I thought this is a very petty practice as this is hardly a luxury item. Those of us who travel on long plane journeys are waiting to refresh ourselves with at least some water. Luckily I noted this from previous reviews and brought my complimentary water from the flight. On the up-side relatively large, clean and quiet room. And at last an European hotel with free Wi-Fi. Though rather slow, connecting was easy and no interruptions unlike mentioned by some others. May be being on the 2nd floor helped. Being able to access email and Skype from my room without crowding with a dozen others in a corner of the lobby was great. Reception very helpful, even walked out of the hotel to point out a mini mart where I could get some essentials, 2 minutes walk just opposite Central station. Hotel very centrally located, walking distance to the Cube (conference center), Grand place and other sites. Unlike a lot of other European cities felt quite safe in this part of Brussels. Breakfast, thought not extensive, had a good variety and was excellent. Again I must comment on excellent staff. Overall a very good hotel to stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre

Address: Parochiaansstraat 15-27, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #89 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4-star deluxe Sandton Brussels Centre boosts 70 comfortable and contemporary air conditioned guest rooms, an intimate lounge, two meeting rooms and underground private parking. Needless to mention, wireless internet and business facilities are at your disposal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Hotel Brussels Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.