We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Brussels restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Maree

La Maree
Rue de Flandre 99, Brussels, Belgium (Formerly La Maree)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #84 of 2,506 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Liverpool
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Excellent Brussels restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wonderful restaurant in fish market district, hence the good fish menu.
Very good service in restaurant full of locals.
Good value for money. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    78
    65
    16
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fresh fish in Brussels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I visited this small and unpretentious restaurant with my wife and a friend who lives in Brussels. This was the best meal I had in the city, the quality was extremely high, the service was absolutely excellent and theatmosphere was superb. It was so good that I am planning to visit there again ion the very near future.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Nice location. Great for outdoor eating (probably indoor dining too). Courteous, prompt, attentive and helpful waiting staff. Good sized portion (I ate mussels here each time we went) and very tasty. My partner had a wonderful fresh catch-of-the-day meal - delicious. Definitely a good choice of restaurant if you want seafood. Eating in Brussels isn't cheap but this place is certainly not over-priced.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A nice fish restaurant in town center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Excellent fresh fish and sea fruit; simple "sole meunière" or "moules frites" are prepared simply delicious. Weather permitting staff will propose you the street terrace that is enjoyable. All staff very welcoming and efficient without going ott; service is relatively fast (for Brussels standards!). Altogether a nice experience for town centre.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overrated food and poor service .”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

Found this restaurant on tripadvisor. Maybe that tripadvisor and all the michelin recommendations put up our expectations. Entering the restaurant feels like entering an old flat. We were seated at second etage where the waiters only come bye from time to time. The food is not terrible, its Ok but to go to a restaurant as a customer you want some kind of service, the visit should be an experience. Here I just feel like Im a dollar bill. Serve the food, dont ask if we like it, if the food is ok, if we would like more to drink and so on, basics of customer care. Maybe its Ok if you have no expectations, dont go here for a romantic dinner.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maree also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to La Maree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.