We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little charm in a Big City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Esperance

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Esperance to your Saves list
Esperance
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue du Finistere 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Rocklin, California, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A little charm in a Big City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hotel Esperance is a quaint, art-deco, boutique hotel in Brussels. Its about a 15 min cab drive from Brussels Midi and the nearest metro station is a 5 minute walk. We booked a triple room and were thus warned that it was on the top floor and there was no lift. So we were not surprised at the trek up to our room. When we arrived we were warmly greeted and the staff person helped me with my luggage, good for me but not for him and the other two travelers with me. LOL.
The room was clean and bigger than I expected. The sofa bed was already pulled out, ready for use. The bathroom light was missing but by the next day it was fixed. I think we were mostly surprised at the daily room refresh with clean towels and made up beds. I would definitely go back to this hotel again and recommend it to others. It is located near an outdoor shopping area and about a 15 min walk to the Grand Place.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    96
    13
    5
    0
See reviews for
24
81
13
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Cute little place that is walking distance from shops and sights. Two minutes to a main shopping strip and about fifteen minutes from the Grand Palace. In between main stations so if you're up for the walk with luggage is a bit of a struggle. Not really near any night life or nice restaurants so for solo traveling females you might feel safer in a taxi rather than walking.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We were glad that we took a quick and inexpensive cab from the train station and didn't try to find this on our own. Once we were here everything was easy to access by foot. The staff was very helpful and friendly. The hotel was very charming with a lounge below and retro style decor in the rooms. We will definitely stay here again!!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Hotel was perfect for stay it's in a fantastic location right at end of shopping district and close to all choices of restaurants.. Hotel staff are helpfully. Out room was immaculate. Hotel is only 10 minute walk from train station, train is only 20 minutes to airport. Hotel is value for money and I would stay here again and would recommend to others.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

The hotel was really perfect for our short stay. Reception was very helpful, check in easy, location great. Room a bit small. but big enough for us Bathroom was big, however, and had a great shower. No elevator, and we were on the 3rd floor, but reception carried our bag up for us, no problem. It is also a Art Deco gem, lobby was a work of art, and the room, very nicely decorated and updated. Really a great experience, and would stay there again.

Room Tip: No elevator, so the climb is a bit much if you are on the higher floors. Just get a room on the 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nowra, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

I loved my stay at Esperance. I had the apartment at the top of the building so it was a bit of a climb up a narrow staircase but worth the effort. A microwave, electric kettle and tea/coffee making facilities were available as well as a small fridge. The hotel's bar is lovely, original art deco, and breakfast is also served down here in the morning. I was only there one night and would have liked to stay longer since my room was so lovely. It was close to everything and when I left I walked to the railway station. I arrived early and they let me leave my bags there while I went for an explore.

Room Tip: If you aren't fit choose a room on the lower floors since the stairs are narrow and steep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

We stayed in this hotel 4 nights in May. At first, I was pleasantly surprised by its excellent location, 10 minutes walk away from North Station and 15 minutes from Grand Place. At check-in, the receptionist warned us that the hotel does not have an elevator and he asked us to choose the floor we wanted to stay. I choose room number 2 at the first floor and I received, along with the room access card a key for the minibar that I couldn't use because there was no lock and the minibar was empty (luckily however, it worked and I could thus keep cool some beers). The room is of normal dimensions, with no wardrobe and with only 4 coat hangers and the bathroom is poorly lighted. Unfortunately, the last day, I noticed a large stain on the bed cloth we slept in, which changed a little bit my opinion about this hotel. There was a 32'' LCD TV with 20 channels, most of them national. Breakfast is very poor.
In spite of all he above drawbacks, we may come back sometime because of its very good position.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem A, Gérant at Esperance, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Google Translation
Monsieur
Nous prenons note de vos remarques c’est la consternation de notre côté, sachez que je suis profondément touché par le cliché montrant une tache sur les draps une telle lacune qui a échappée à la femme de chambre ,est une première jamais un tel manquement n’a été signalé dans notre établissement.
Si vous aviez signalé la tache lors de votre séjour qu’aussitôt le remplacent aurait été fait vous n’avez soumis aucune plainte enregistrée .
Le contrôle des chambres se fait tous les jours…on ne comprend pas ! Bizarre
Les critères qui font le classement en bonne position de notre hôtel ,est la propreté la literie ,le service personnalisé…et le bâtiment classé monument historique
J’espère que votre séjour à Bruxelles fut satisfaisant .
Malgré tout je constate votre désir de revenir lors de votre prochain séjour. Daignez me contacter personnellement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Esperance? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Esperance

Address: Rue du Finistere 1-3 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 195 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Esperance 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Esperance reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Esperance Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Esperance, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.