We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst experience in Brussel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Mokafe

Mokafe
Galerie du Roi 9, Brussels 1000, Belgium
32 02 511.78.70
Improve this listing
Ranked #500 of 2,309 restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
South Africa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worst experience in Brussel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for somewhere to have a light dinner. Sat down at on of the outside tables. There was just 1 waiter, we waited a long time and were about to leave when he eventally arrived. Wish we had. My husbands meal was disgusting, a pasta dish with curry flavor and bacon, recommended by the waiter. My daugher had pasta with a tomato based sauce which appeared to have been watered down. I had an omlette served with an old brown salad. My husband took 1 bite and couldn't go further. The waiter wasn't to be found. Eventually we went inside to pay, told the man behind the counter about the food, he totally ignored us and grabbed our payment. Stay away. Tourist trap with food you wouldn't serve to your dog.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    43
    76
    18
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If it weren't for the roaming cat, we might have stayed...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This place came highly recommended so I was excited to try it for dinner. Friday evening was full as expected, but unfortunately there appeared to be one poor waiter serving all the tables. He acknowledged us at the door and asked us to seat ourselves. We chose the only indoor table available, which was fine. Fifteen minutes into our wait, my husband noticed a black and white cat wandering between the tables. Now, I understand that what isn't acceptable in the U.S., is sometimes acceptable in other places so I was fine...until the cat jumped up on the booth seats and began walking along the back (behind the patrons heads). I'm allergic to cats and at this point I'm wondering is it worth it to wait to order and risk more random cats appearing? We decided it wasn't and gracefully made our exit, unnoticed. So forgo Mokafe on a Friday evening if you aren't prepared to wait and/or if you're allergic to cats.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Nice oldfashioned cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This is an oldfashioned and genuine place right in the middle of a fashionable indoor passageway in downtown Brussels with a good variety of meals and dishes both of the cafe/lightmeal and more traditional food character. Staff is friendly, inviting and serveceminded. It´s a really good spot for to relax in with something tasty, people watching of both locals and tourists is great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we saw the price of breakfast at our hotel we came here instead (6.80 Euros !) for fresh orange juice, bread, croissant, jams and tea/or coffee. You can also have eggs - this is extra of course but still cheaper than the hotels in the area. We've come here on previous visits to Brussels so we know that the food is good. They have a varied menu throughout the day, with several Belgian specialities. The cakes also look delicious. It's situated in the lovely Galerie du Roi so at any time of the day you can sit outside and watch the world go by while sipping your coffee.
(Only negative point : the toilets are still in need of renovating (the door leading to the WC looks like a shed door !).

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous waffles in old Belgian splendour in this beautiful atmospheric cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Take time out from the hustle and bustle of Brussels not far from Grand Place. Head into the Galleries shopping area and walk almost to the end. On the right hand side is Mokafe, suspended in time, full of the greatest variety of people of all ages soaking up the ambience and enjoying the great food and great service. We visited twice, mainly for the waffles and each time it was an enjoyable experience. If we lived in Brussels I am sure we would visit at least once a week!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mokafe also viewed

 

Been to Mokafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mokafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.