We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hello Hostel

Save Saved
You added Hello Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hello Hostel
Rue de l'Armistice 1 | Koekelberg, Brussels 1081, Belgium   |  
Hotel amenities
Aix-en-Provence, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at Hello Hostel for a few days with one friend of mine. We booked a 6-person, all female room and had a very pleasant stay. It wasn't each day that we were there, but the people that we met were very pleasant. One negative was that the bathrooms were in the halls, but that wasn't much of a problem for us since we didn't stay for too long. The facility seemed clean; I had no problems with it. The areas downstairs are nice and there were people hanging out every night, so it was easy to meet different people. It's in a good location; only a minute from the metro! I would definitely stay here if I came back to Brussels for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

97 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    33
    37
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
9
32
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Machu Piccho, Cusco, Peru
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We were two girls looking for a hostel, and didn't have any reservation. They had a four bed room for 25 euros and a two bed room for 26 euros. We took the private one.
The rooms are very good and clean, the showers and toilets as well. They even have hair dryers available.
The only down side is the thickness of the walls and the doors. You can easily hear what your room neighbors are doing especially when the bed springs make noise...
We also had the cleaning lady coming into our room with her key in the morning... We didn't really understand why.
But in any case it is a good hostel.
The have a bar, a terass, and the breakfast is included. The the most amazing breakfast but it still is good.
The location is not too close to the center but if you have a car it is very convenient. They have parking spaces all around the hostel.

Room Tip: Try to get a private room, and either at the begging or the end or the corridor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights in an all-female room. I was surprised to learn upon arrival that the female hostel is in another building a little further down. I did not like this isolation as you still had to return to the main hostel for breakfast, to go to the bar, or use the computers with internet on them. The room itself was simple and you shared a bathroom which was clean. However, the shower water was quite cold and you can only really take short showers in there. The location isn't bad, it is literally right beside a metro station. Only a few stops and you're at the city centre but I walked all the way to the city centre from there. Takes about 30-45 minutes so if you're up for the walk it's not bad at all. However, it passes through not the greatest area so I wouldn't recommend doing it by yourself late at night. Breakfast was very basic and check in/out was quick but not the friendliest service. To sum it up, if you're here for a few days and constantly on the town, it's a decent place to stay.

Room Tip: I wouldn't stay in the all female room again since it's removed from the main part of the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Good service, we could stay the day and use the showers after we Checked out, they only needed our room for other guests. We were three girls and had a appartment in the attick with bathroom and kitchen. Ok breakfast was included with bread, cereals, coffe, juice and milk. Not senteral, but close to the metro.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

This hostel is pretty much average. It isn't close to the city center, but it is close to a metro station. We stayed there twice, the first time we had a very humid room and the beds were not very comfortable, but it wasn't so bad. The second time (2 weeks later) they gave us the same room but it wasn't humid anymore. There is a bar and a terrace, which are nice areas to hang out. They offer a free breakfast in the morning, but it really isn't that great... However, they have a kitchen in which you can cook your own meals, so it is practical if you're on a budget. The showers are a joke, the water pressure is so weak that it takes forever to rinse your hair. Plus, some of them don't even have hangers to put your clothes or towel on. The staff was helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Located pretty far front the city centre. Our room was for 3, and we slept pretty comfortably. There were 3 single IKEA beds with decent mattresses and pillows. The ceilings were really low in the WC and bathroom because we were on the last floor. We couldn't connect to wifi from our room because the router was at ground level. Also, they didn't turn on the heat even when it was below 10 outside so it was rather cold in our room. If you stay in Brussels, I'd suggest looking for another hostel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I think this place has everything to be a great hostel but in the end it isn´t. It isn´t that well located, breakfast is poor, the place gets noisy because of its bar, bathrooms aren´t really clean and there is not a good atmosphere to meet people or talk. Completely average.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hello Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hello Hostel

Address: Rue de l'Armistice 1 | Koekelberg, Brussels 1081, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 87 Specialty lodging in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Hello Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hello Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.