We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nearly very good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Le Chat Noir

Le Chat Noir
Jules van Praetstraat 8, Brussels 1000, Belgium
32 2 512 10 77
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,064 of 2,652 Restaurants in Brussels
Cuisines: Belgian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
177 reviews 177 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nearly very good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

We had wandered around the bourse area for a while and nothing had attracted us in. Le Chat Noir was quiet but looked OK so we went in. The people were really friendly and served us very efficiently. The starters were very good - lovely prawns in garlic butter, and creamy tomato sauce. We had chateaubriand as a main which was beautifully cooked and a lovely flavour but slightly tough. With a nice bottle of St Emilion at a reasonable price it was above average but not quite very good.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    55
    28
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very quiet, excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

It was our first night and it was the first restaurant that wasnt thai. So we went in. We had a lovely soup followed by pasta dishes. Fast and exceptional food although he forgot our fries we had a nice filling meal,I would be happy to have again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“A bit above average food, but service...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Wen't here with 2 local friends because this place has some good Belgian food. I had the stoemp (which the waiter said today it was with spinach, but it turned out to be chicoree) which was very salty, but otherwise was average. The bacon was of poor quality (lots of fatty parts) and also has not been handled with care (lots of gristle parts). Also, my dish had arrived 12minutes after my 2 friends received their meal. (something that is horrible in a restaurant I think)
Overall we paid 52EUR for 3 persons with 1 drink each, which is a very reasonable price for the center, I believe (but then again, I am not local.)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, West Sussex, England
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Disappointing!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Went here and i wish we didn't. The only good thing i could say about this restaurant was the location, it was centrally located. The staff were lacking customer service. And the food? well, starters were good. But that's it. The mussels they served us weren't properly cleaned. They had bits of sand on them and every bite, you had a crunch of a tiny grain of sand. The steak i ordered was medium rare, it came as medium to well done. i returned it as soon as i got the attention of the waiter who didn't have any plans of asking us how our food was. The second steak i had was char grilled on the outside and still cold and frozen on the inside. it was that terrible and didn't bother eating it. For it's price it should have been good enough. The waiter shouldn't have made me pay as he saw that i barely touched my food. I went home hungry and disappointed. This restaurant wasn't for me at all!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“fantastic food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A must eating place at Brussels. Try the fish or the steak. i love the fish here. Sole & Salmon. Nice and quiet place. u will love the washroom that's in the basement. The service is not too professional. But you wont mind anything coz the food is so so great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chat Noir also viewed

Brussels, Belgium
Brussels, Belgium
 

Been to Le Chat Noir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Chat Noir, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.