We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Excellent Location for a City Break in Brussels” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie to your Saves list
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 Boulevard Anspachlaan, Brussels 1000, Belgium   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
SAVE UP TO 40 %
Ranked #29 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Buxton
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“An Excellent Location for a City Break in Brussels”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We arrived from the airport and the proximity of the metro station to the hotel made transfer by public transport very easy. Check in was quick and straightforward. Staff were welcoming and explained all we needed to know. Our room was on the second floor overlooking the street and we weren't troubled by noise at all.

The king size double bed easily folded away during the day and we had a reasonable sized studio. Not what you would call luxurious, but equipped with chair, sofa, a stool type seat and a table. There was a fridge, microwave, electric hob and a good selection of cutlery and plates, etc.

The proximity of the supermarkets made preparation of a meal in the room and easy and enjoyable experience. Especially when you consider the price of eating out at some of the nearby restaurants.

Within 5 minutes of leaving the hotel you could be in the Grand Place, in any of a number of shopping areas, bars, restaurants, etc. The Christmas markets were on while we were there and are all very close to the hotel.

The bed in our room was extremely comfortable and we had no problem enjoying a good nights sleep.

Overall it proved to be an ideal location for a short city break in the interesting and pleasant city of Brussels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    316
    54
    13
    12
See reviews for
156
278
45
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

The staff member who greeted us upon arrival was extremely rude. We booked the largest room at Adagio, it said it slept four. We asked for a rollaway bed for our 5th person, my young daughter when we made the reservation. Only after we arrived did the clerk tell us that he "could not and would not allow" an extra person in the room. He said this with a raised voice and a surly tone. When I told him we specifically made this request upon booking and would have cancelled if it was not possible, he told me it was my fault for not checking with them again (after they ignored the request on the original booking). Since the reservation was no longer able to be cancelled as we were standing in their lobby in a strange city after a long day of travel, he told us we would have to pay for an additional room. This almost DOUBLED the cost of our stay. We were very unhappy with the lack of communication upon making the reservation and especially the reception clerk's ugly tone. When we agreed to pay for the second room, he told us that he was too busy to take our credit card payment and we would have to come back when he wasn't so busy. We went to our rooms and settled in, then when we went back down to the lobby to leave for dinner, the clerk saw us cross the lobby and said loudly "Excuse me, you still need to pay for your room." I began to wonder if this rude reception was a hidden camera joke.

Other service issues arose during our stay. When we called down for an extra pillow, we were told they probably did not have any. In the whole hotel, no extra pillow?? They did finally bring one up. And, although daily housekeeping was included in the rate, our room was not cleaned when we returned from the day of sightseeing. We had settled into the room around 5:30 pm and the housekeeper came then. By then it was too late as we did not want to leave the room again so that she could clean it.

First impressions are lasting ones. We would never stay here or recommend it to friends because of this.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

We - three friends - booked an apartment for four people on the 6th floor for a two night stay over a weekend in June 2013. We paid approx. EUR 55/night/person and have been satisfied with the overall deal. Late check-in on Friday (around 11pm) went smooth and all of us received a key card for the apartment. The apartment was equipped with a mini size kitchen which we did not use but had everything to allow for decent cooking. This hotel is in 5min walkdistance from the main sights and the old city center (town hall next to Grande Place). The staff at the reception was young and was happy to give hints where to go for dinner / drinks / party.
Overall, I can to recommend this hotel for a short leisure trip to Brussels.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

Despite excellent reviews I was not impressed by this aparthotel. Location is excellent – just 5 minute walk from the Grand Place. However, the entrance and corridors look cold and unpleasant, the room is pretty small, the bed needs to be opened/closed every day, furniture is just too simple, windows open to shopping mall. I am not sure I will ever again stay there – not bad, but not impressive either.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The hotel is very well located, just next door is the entrance to the metro de Brouckère station, and on the other side there's a small shopping center. There's a lot of restaurants close to the hotel and at least 3 grocery stores! The train station (Gare centrale) is about 7-10 mins walking and the Grand Place max 5 mins walking! We enjoyed a lot our stay there! The receptionnist was nice, the room small but it had basically everything we needed : a mini stove, fridge, dishwasher, plates, bowls, cups, glasses, pans, a coffee maker, etc., and a hair dryer. All I would add is actually a toaster! But bring your own shampoo and conditionner because it's not provided! There's only liquid soap/shower gel.

I was surprised by the fact that it is located downtown, but we didn't hear any noise during the night! You can make your laundry yourself on the second floor (about 4,50 Euros for washing and about 2,50 for the dryer) The only "negative" point is that the room was a bit too hot during the night, even if we had the heat turned off!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
burnaby
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

Nov 2013 parm b

Hi I stayed one night at this place at 11 pm went to sleep pulled down the bed covers the bed had hair no one had changed the sheets. I complained to reception they sent someone to come check who brought fresh sheets. She said there was no,housekeeping so I had to strip the bed and use the sheets. The mattress protector cover looked like it had not been washed in a while too. Had the worst sleep. The staff apologized and didnt charge for breakfast. The breakfast was not worth the money too pricey for bread and cereal. The eggs were runny looked gross. I asked for hot crepes the guy wouldn't make any said the ones sitting out are fresh ... But they were cold the front reception girl was rude. They were not very good about recommending things to do.
all staff seemed stuck up. I was travelling with my 2 young kids and 3 other adults. Location was fine but not friendly staff not clean room. There was no soap in the toilet only washroom but it had a tap that's gross you had to go into the next bathroom to,wash hands with soap. Makes no sense. Also they had a big bottle of handsaop very drying on hands and not like a hotel where you had individual bottles which is better for hygiene reasons. I would not recommend this place. Was told hotel amigo was a favorite by the locals all,the big stars stay there good location as well. The Tex mex restaurant was fantastic which is right across from the not so friendly hotel even though the staff said it was garbage it was really good. Stay somewhere else not worth it here.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie

Address: 20 Boulevard Anspachlaan, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Location: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 194 Hotels in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Brussels city center close to major leisure and cultural facilities. Fully - equipped kitchen with DVD/CD player, flat TV screen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie Hotel Brussels

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adagio Brussels Centre Monnaie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.